We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and staff make it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Diodoro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Diodoro to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Diodoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
suffolk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Views and staff make it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not much to add to previous reviews in terms of accommodation, restaurant quality, price and service , and yes ask for a cappucino waiters are very willing to help. We were a couple of senior citizens and had no problems walking up to the main areas. Traffic can be chaotic outside the hotel so we walked through the public gardens so were able to cut out most of the traffic. The swimming pool is well sited overlooking the bay but quite a trek down steep steps and of course up again. Towels free and a snack bar await you, as well as loungers and parasols.

Room Tip: aim for upper floors those floors on sea side below floor 0 can be noisy if an event or reception is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    205
    93
    39
    28
See reviews for
78
274
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel with fantastic views... Though room views improve the more expensive they are. Breakfast a cut above standard Italian fare, though the fruit juices are more like coloured water

5 minutes walk to everything is fantastic and gardens next door are simply amazing

A word of warning if driving. Being a hill town streets are narrow and shared with many pedestrians..you need confidence and a great GPS!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Not bad. We booked through a tour, so did not pay rack rate. As such I would say it was good value for money. The rooms, while a touch tired, are still clean, and many have a terrace facing the bay which makes the hotel worth it in my view. (We had lunch at the Grand Hotel
Timeo just up the hill, double the price, albeit for lovely grounds and facilities, but for pretty much the same view.) Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was substantive, including some local Sicilian treats like the mandarin honey. An easy walk to anything in Taormina. All in all, not a bad experience. Not super luxurious, but not bad...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. The vistas are stunning, however, the hotel needs a bit of a facelift. It is still caught in the style of a 1960s elegant Italian hotel, but in 2013, it is a bit faded. The staff at the reception were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were quiet and clean. However, there were two elevators, but for some reason, one seemed slower than molasses in winter.
The breakfast was good, but I would except fresh fruit, instead of canned pears and pineapple. I was with an group of North Americans, however, none of the serving staff came to offer if we wanted cappuccino or expresso; only American filter coffee was served. Having lived in Italian for 4 years, I didn't hesitate to ask for a morning cappuccino. The serving staff said, "Why of course" and served it with a smile. But we should have been asked.
One thing to mention, is that this hotel, is at the bottom of a steep hill. One must walk up the steep drive or up the equivalent of a flight of stairs to access the road. Not a great place for senior citizens or those with knee/hip problems.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from 10 days in Sicily of which seven nights were spent at this hotel. We chose it because it provided proper restaurant 'dinner' and not buffet scramble. It did not disappoint. Overall the location is stunning, views of Mt Etna and coastline. Villa yes it looks like a converted one. I guess its sort of Victorian period, Sicilian Style. High Ceilings in room, big furniture and yes the pillows were thin but asked at reception and very very quickly given extras. Very clean, helpful staff particularly in Restaurant. If I had to score it 8.75 out of ten......noone's perfect and some bacon or sausage at breakfast would have been nice, but I'm just being picky. Would I recommend it YES. Would I go back, definately

Room Tip: We had a rear patio.......more like a piazza on the first floor, didn't need a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For 145 euros per night I expected better accomodations.

Certain basics were missing from the room that most travelers would expect (especially Americans) - such as fluffy pillows (instead of 1/2 inch thick pieces of foam), a comfortable bed (instead of a rock hard slab), drinking glasses to use in the room (instead of needing to drink water from the bathrom sink in your cupped hand), a shelf of any kind in the shower, shower doors that stay closed (instead of ones that slowly drift open during the showering process), a hook of any kind in the bathroom to use, washcloths of any kind (none were provided or available), more than one bath towel to use (I was provided with 2 but then when the maid determined that there was only one person in the room, she reduced me to one), more than just sheer curtains at the window (so it is not necesary to close the metal outside shutters to ensure privacy in your room) etc.

Breakfast was included in the price and was pretty good. The staff who did speak English were helpful (and the staff who did not speak English were not as helpful). In general, the hotel was neat and clean.

Overall, the hotel is okay. If you want luxury (and are willing to pay for it for around $400 per night), go to the San Dominico Palace.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view have not recently been renovated. So, you are either going to get a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Overall we were satisfied with the location, the service and the food. Good location next to a public park. Great view of the etna and the sea from the terrace. Hope we will return to Taormina and this hotel for another holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Taormina
#29 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Diodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.