We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel; close to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Diodoro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Diodoro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Diodoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 87 hotels in Taormina
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel; close to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was clean, well-maintained, and comfortable. The room lighting was very bright, there were several English language TV stations, and a safe in the closet. From our patio (Rm. #322), which faced west, we had a great view of the bay below and snow-covered Mt. Etna. Blackout, electric window covers block out the sun if you want to sleep in. There were many choices at the buffet breakfast.

Next to the hotel is a public park with beautiful views. The town, including the Greek amphitheater, is within walking distance. Expect hilly walks and narrow pedestrian walkways. If you have a map, there are shortcuts from the hotel to the major pedestrian walkway where you can find shops, restaurants, ATMs, etc. If you don't want to walk to the center of town, there are eateries along the narrow pedestrian walkways, e.g., exit the hotel, proceed to street level, turn left, walk straight up a slight incline rather than following the road to the right. On this pathway, you will see a market on the right and various restaurants. The one with a display case of fish on ice in the front is quite good. (Sorry, I didn't get a card with the restaurant name.) The menu is posted on two walls just outside of the restaurant. You can't get lost.

The negatives: Limited electric outlets, no clothesline in the bathroom, no coffee-maker, and no free WiFi. Because the dresser drawers were the closet, surfaces to place items are limited. Walls are thin: We could hear a noisy neighbor.

If this review is helpful, please check "Yes."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    157
    65
    35
    19
See reviews for
58
205
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived to our hotel, and it had wrap around balconies on two sides. Views of the coastline and Mt Etna, right next to an amazing park. LOVED this hotel. Clean, close to the center. We were here in winter, but the pool is gorgeous. I can only imagine. I don't think it would be very easy to drive here, but I think maybe I have to get used to Italian towns. I want to come back here....so beautiful, you can't take your eyes off the view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful property in a beautiful city. Loved the location, breathtaking views of the coast and Mt.Etna from our balcony.Very clean room. staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged all our tours. We had very early departure, 4 am to be exact, our boxed breakfast was waiting for us at the front desk. Loved it.

Room Tip: Room with the balcony facing the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I loved this hotel!!! The location is perfect if you don't have a car which we didn't. 10 minutes to the town centre and the beautiful panoramic views that were breathtaking. The hotel staff were freindly and the rooms were spacious and clean. I would definately return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I Loved this hotel...gorgeous decor, super clean, and the most beautiful views, of Giardini Nexos. Perched high above the cliffs of Taormina and in walking distance to the main Piazza.. Staff friendly, tough I did have some problems, connecting to WiFi... But then I connected. I will return to this Romatic hotel soon! :)

Room Tip: book it! It wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The only thing that we might consider negative about the Hotel Diodoro was the heck of a time we had trying to find it by car. The streets in Taormina are virtually unnavigable – even with my GPS. But with the assistance of some helpful Sicilians, we finally got there. Once we actually located Hotel Diodoro, we loved it. The hotel is perched high above the Ionian Sea a short way down the side of the cliff. We had to walk down from the street through a beautiful garden to get to the hotel’s entrance. We were able to park our car on the hotel’s grounds near the street and had no trouble navigating Taormina on foot after that.

We had booked an ocean-view room and are certainly glad we did. The view from our third-floor room was fantastic and well-worth the extra few dollars. Our room faced the Ionian Sea; we had a balcony with two chairs and a great view toward the sea past the hotel’s patio and more beautiful gardens. Snow-capped Mt. Etna was easily visible to the right.

The only time we went to the restaurant in the hotel was for breakfast, and breakfast was great. Not to suggest that the hotel’s restaurant menu wasn’t anything less that excellent, but there are too many fabulous, well-known restaurants a short walk away in Taormina not to go out for dinner. After all, hotels, by their very nature, are not restaurants, nor should we expect them to be. They can’t hope to compete with the vast variety of menus beyond their front doors.

Hotel Diodoro was a great hotel – clean, spacious rooms, and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean-view are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our inbound flight to Gatwick was suddenly changed without warning whilst we were staying at the hotel. The staff at Hotel Villa Diodoro did everything possible to secure a transfer to Palermo Airport for us at a reasonable cost. We Thank all the staff at The Hotel Villa Diodoro for their friendly and professional manner, their help and support.

Room Tip: Do Not choose Citalia if you require help and support when a problem occurs. They leave you to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily
Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#25 Family Hotel in Taormina
#32 Romantic Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Diodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.