We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful, professional staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Diodoro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Diodoro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Diodoro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 88 hotels in Taormina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“helpful, professional staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our inbound flight to Gatwick was suddenly changed without warning whilst we were staying at the hotel. The staff at Hotel Villa Diodoro did everything possible to secure a transfer to Palermo Airport for us at a reasonable cost. We Thank all the staff at The Hotel Villa Diodoro for their friendly and professional manner, their help and support.

Room Tip: Do Not choose Citalia if you require help and support when a problem occurs. They leave you to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    171
    73
    36
    23
See reviews for
63
222
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As per the previous writer we had completed a tour of Sicily the week before. Unfortunately our experience was the opposite.Our tour also ending at Taormina and we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Villa Diodore, as part of the tour. I believe it is the luck of the draw with the success of a room with view being offered to guests as part of a package tour.Our bedroom was in a dark corner of the building with no outlook. From our bedroom balcony, we looked right into the bedroom of the unit next door of Villa Diodore

The room also had a bathroom whereby the shower leaked water throughout the bathroom.Reported to reception and we we provided additional towels for the floor, but no repair occurred during our stay.

In the restaurant both ourselves and the other tour guests at our table, found the service (both nights) at a low standard. The waiters showed a lack of interest in particular to various guests needs. One elderly gentleman requested a soya coffee and was brought boiling hot milk instead. My wife was brought the wrong meal and the waiter showed a lack of interest in his mistake.Another guest was not provided a entree.The focus appeared both nights only on the tour guide table. As one our our American travelers advised and we agree with her comment " The focus is to ensure that the tour Guide is looked after at all costs."

Buffet breakfast was average at best - compared to other hotels we have stayed at over the past 30 years.

With respect to the property overall cleanness, they where excellent.

I personally from my experience can not support a high rating on this hotel based on the poor bedroom provided to us and the standard of restaurant service.

Suggestion to other future traveler's obtain clear understanding of the bedroom being provided for the price being charged.

After staying a further week at another hotel at Taormina after this tour, the deficiencies of Hotel Villa Diodore where highlighted further to us.

Room Tip: Always check with hotel with room being offered at the price being paid. Secondly establish if the Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! The view was unbelievable of Mt Etna right from our room! We loved Taormina and this hotel was fantastic. Thie hotel has a 25 meter pool as well for those that want to swim laps. We were on a tour of Sicily and this was the last (of 3) that we stayed at. This made our trip to Sicily memorable.

Room Tip: It's hard to get a bad room at this hotel. I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Diodoro is in a great location, fabulous views from our balcony to the north, the view from the dining room across the bay is wonderful, day or night. A ten minute walk up the road puts your right in the pedestrian centre of Taormina, a lovely old town with many bars restaurants designer shops and the inevitable souvenir shops. Make sure you visit the Greek/Roman amphitheatre, again just a ten minure walk away. Breakfasts were very good, lots of options, dinner was good, if a little unadventurous. Live music every evening in the main bar. Bar prices not cheap but on a par with the smarter bars in Taormina, which is, by Sicilian standards, very up-market. The staff were brilliant, old school values and lots of knowledge. I would echo the praise for Angela in the dining room, what a lovel person. Air con was a bit primitive, just adequate. Driving to the hotel is a challenge, very narrow one way streets and our satnav wasn't aware of either the pedestrian areas or the fact that the Diodoro is on a one way street. The hotel has parking, some of which is down the road but there was always somewhere to park. The hotel is not on the beach but 10 minutes drive (or on their own shuttle minibus, small charge) is a pleasant beach with bar, restaurant, sun loungers and towels provided foc, you get a voucher from reception. Lots to see and do and pretty much guaranteed warm sunshine! Great!

Room Tip: The north east facing rooms have a shaded balcony in the afternoon, the south west facing rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver bc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Easy walk into Taormina and to the Greco-Roman Amphitheatre, which is well worth a visit on its own. Plenty of shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars and all sorts of alleyways to explore. All built up the sides of the steep hills with tiny roads and a one way system that is challenging, making the finding of the Hotel a bit difficult initially. it seems that signs in Sicily start out fine but then vanish, never to be seen again! Take the Hop-on,hop-off bus initially to orient yourselves as the start point is less than 200 metres from the Hotel plus it is a spectacular trip.
Staying in Taormina is to be recommended as the large number of cruise passengers and bus trippers mean that mid-day the place is heaving and parking non-existent. Morning is the best time to see the Amphitheatre too, without huge crowds. Time then to return to the Hotel pool which is on the edge of a cliff affording terrific views of the coastline - had good snacks and drinks too.
Diadoro is an older hotel but has fantastic views of both Mt Etna and also the coastline .It serves excellent breakfasts. Dinners are not cheap but there are many restaurants of every type within a short walk. The rooms are large and well equipped - all are clean of course.
Wi-Fi is charged for here, which I find incredible in this day and age especially with many free internet cafes around. In future, one of our criteria will be whether the property has free internet access or not.

Room Tip: Mount Etna view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed for 14 nights in room 410 booked through a tour operator. We upgraded to a superior room with sea view balcony. Our room had a beautiful view over the gardens to the sea but was not on the Mt Etna side of the hotel. Although at first a little disappointed not to have that view, we were still pleased with our balcony as we got the early morning sun and by afternoon the balcony was a welcome retreat from the heat as the sun moved over to the other side of the hotel. There are plenty of opportunities to enjoy the view from the pool terrace, bar and restaurant. Bedroom was a good size with bath, shower and bidet, spotlessly clean and towels changed daily, though sometimes short of bathmat. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a must for a longer stay.
We stayed on a half board basis, breakfast was buffet style and offered plenty of choice as described in other reviews. Although staying for 14 nights, we found plenty of variety and choice during in our stay from the dinner menu both table d'hote(included) and a la carte. Meals were excellent and always served hot. The service in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard and staff always friendly and welcoming. Special mention and thanks to Angela and Tony, who work so hard to ensure guests have a good dining experience. (Grazie Angela e Tony)
Also being very patient with our Italian!
Could not fault the staff throughout the hotel, reception were also very helpful, they will arrange excursions, packed breakfasts etc.
Would certainly recommend this hotel, though in view of the location and number of steps down to the pool, some guests with mobility issues may find it difficult. However this is the case with most of the hotels in this location and in fact the resort of Taormina is hilly with plenty of steps although it has a gondola lift down to the coast.
A charming hotel in Taormina, which was an excellent base for a first holiday in Sicily.

Room Tip: Mention if you want a sea view of Mt Etna as there are two sides to the hotel with sea views. Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a fantasitc holiday at the Villa Diodoro. Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful saff. Stayed on B&B basis. Breakfast was great, all the choices you could want and super friendly service from Angela who never seemed to have a day off! Lovely pool area with fabulous views of the bay and Etna.
Taormina is a lovely little town that comes alive at night. Lots of restaurants and bars and a greek amphitheatre, all a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. It's an expensive place to stay but well worth it! Nearly booked hotel in Giardini Naxos. So glad we didn't, it's very scruffy compared with Taormina!
Nothing much to critisice about the hotel. Maybe tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be nice.On check out day we had an evening flight but no courtesy room was available for freshening up, only the pool facilities which were down lots of steps and no hair drying facility! Never encountered this problem before even on a cheap package holiday to Greece!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view preferably on a high floor. Corner suite even better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Diodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Diodoro

Address: Bagnoli Croci 75, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#25 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Diodoro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Diodoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diodoro Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Diodoro Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Diodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.