We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Corso Umberto, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Kansas City, MO
1 review
“Great location and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were only in Taormina for 1 night and having the hotel right on the main street made it really convenient. The staff was really helpful and even allowed us to hang out at the hotel on the second night until 10:30 since we were boarding an 11:30 train. The room was nice and spacious. With the main street below, it was a bit noisy at night.

The only complaint is the terrible WIFI connection. You couldn't be in your room and get reception. You had to go sit out in the hallway.

Overall, a nice place with pleasant staff in a beautiful city. For the price (lower than most everything in town), it was a great deal and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    68
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
119
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My girlfirend and I, together with another couple, travelled to Sicily for a short holiday. After a bit of research we decided to stay in Taormina and in the Victoria Hotel. I can state categorically that both of those were very good decisions.

The town is literally one of the most beautiful, rustic and authentically Italian towns you can imagine. Of course there are the usual tourist shops etc but a walk around the town presents a myriad of things to do and see. The views of the coast alone are spectacular.

The Victoria Hotel really helped to make or stay enjoyable. It is family run hotel but professionaly turned out. I would consider myself to have high (not expensive) standards and tastes. The hotel was immaculately clean and our room was clearly recently refurbished. The hotel presents itself as 2 stars but I would say that is mainly due to the fact that you're not getting the frilly ameneties of a 5 star e.g. spa, pool, michelin star restaurant etc. and certainly nothing to do with the standard that this hotel offers.

All in all the hotel is budget accommadation but of a very high calibre within that category. The guys who run it couldn't do enough for us, from restaurant recommendations, to booking taxis, to helping to organise excursions. We were even able to use the computer to check in online and print boarding passes.

Breakfast is included and it is typically continental - cereal, juice, breads, cheese, cold meats, eggs etc. The espresso in the morning is very good indeed. We went around Easter time and they had mini chocolate eggs on the breakfast tabel in the morning - small touches that I think mean a lot.

There is limited car parking but we emailed the hotel well in advance and they were happy to reserve a space for us.

If I was to return to Taormina (which I would love to do) I would definitely stay in Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: We asked specifically for a double room as some are twin - the hotel was happy to cater for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Right in the middle of the main walking promenade, Corso Umberto, is this charming small hotel. After comparing pros and cons of this and other Taormina hotels, my daughter and I chose Victoria initially because in this expensive town, the price was right. We will choose it again our next visit because of the experience. Staff always smiling and helpful, they really understand the value of service, and how it can improve a guest's outlook on everything (e.g., our cell did not work in Italy, and they cheerfully allowed us use the office PC to search TripAdvisor for restaurants). Room was good size, very clean and modern. No view of the sea, but you do see Corso Umberto which is a beautiful pedestrian-friendly street custom-made for tourists. The promenade alternates among beautiful churches and other historical buildings, shops and restaurants with an occasional piazza offering breathtaking views of the sea and Giordani-Naxos. Taormina is one of the most beautiful towns I have ever visited, and there is plenty to do for such a small town: Isola Bella, Corso Umberto, Greek Teatro, plenty of great restaurants and other memorable sites. Add that it is centrally located, offering many day excursions to places like Mt. Etna, we will definitely visit again and will stay at Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Small rooms, nice breakfast, good location, WiFi only in public areas (not in rooms). There are a few parking places if you reserve early and are brave enough to negotiate the narrow streets, many of which are steep grades. The hotel did not have information about what to do (make sure you have your guidebook) or about accessiblity of Etna on a given day. The staff was courteous. It was as expected from information on the website.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medias, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A good location, but that's all about. verrry small single room, dated, not very clean. It is a overpriced hotel, cheap and it not deserved the high rang. So, look somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in Aug 11

The hotel is centrally located and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

As others have said this is an expensive part of town and all accomodation is overpriced but for the location the price is acceptable.

You are right in the centre on the main walking strip. Our room faced this strip and it became quite noisy during the night. People just walk up and down this strip till 3-4 in the morning.

The rooms are dated but clean with a little tv tucked up in the corner ( I was suprised it was in color it was so old), but breakfast was great with fresh cofee, cold meats, cheese, pastries and cereals.

For the location, price and friendly staff it is a good hotel. Just don't expect too much.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay in the Victoria hotel. Rooms were very clean. Air Con worked well. Breakfast was pleasant with choice of fresh coffee made every morning. Staff were very friendly. I can't find fault with this hotel. We had a room to the rear and it was very peaceful. Location is great too as the front door of hotel opens onto Corso Umberto which is the main street in Taormina. From the hotel the Funivia (Cable Car) is about a 10 minute stroll. The cable car brings you to the two beaches nearest the hotel and the cable car journey takes aprox 5 mins.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Via Corso Umberto, 81, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.