We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty from above, great snorkeling around it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isola Bella

Isola Bella
Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Attractions in Taormina
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taormina is a region that is rich in natural beauty and scenic beaches, especially Isola Bella that means "the beautiful island."
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very pretty from above, great snorkeling around it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

In late August, it was quite crowded on the beach but the little snorkeling trip around the island I did with my 9 yo daughter was fantastic - huge boulders, with sun playing in clear, blue waters, little coves, lots of fish, starfish, crabs, etc, just perfect. If you get cold fast, take a shorty wetsuit, it's not tropics!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    369
    147
    46
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Isola Bella-better to see it from afar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

There is nothing much to see once you are on the island but they charge for entry, I think Euro 4.oo per person. Viewed from across the shallow water is just a picture, also viewed from above. So disappointing when you are on it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful and peaceful on the off season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Isola Bella is amazingly beautiful. There were a LOT of jelly fish there when we visited. I can't really add much to previous reviews except i thought it would be worth mentioning we were here on the 5th December, and lucked a stunning sunny day so went for a walk down to see the lovely cove and we were the only ones on the beach! We sat for an hour or so and only two other couples came in that time frame. It was sunny, lovely and sheltered, and so beautiful and peaceful.
Just wanted to say not to be put off by the hawkers if you're there at this time of year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transylvania,Romania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful place by Taormina beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you decided to come down this wonderful beach and have spotted this small island don' miss a visit!Take some shoes or flip/flops through the water,look careful for the sea hedgehog as you step on the wonderful rocks beaneath the water.Have money on you(4euro/each) and enjoy the trip on this wonderful island,house of a family before being bought by the state.The "villa" will give you an idea about who lived there.After the visit,take a boat tour to see it from outside and even to go inside its cave.Just marvelous!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater nsw
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Going into the museum/house is definitely worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You can walk over onto isola Bella by wading through the water up to your knees.

It's 4 euros to go into the museum (2euros if you're 26 or under) and definitely worth it to see the structure of the house but also for the views looking out to the ocean and then back up behind with Taormina

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola Bella also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola Bella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.