We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, but room was dusty and had mosquitoes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Domenico Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Domenico Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice property, but room was dusty and had mosquitoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Pluses: Nice hotel, beautiful grounds, breakfast area and great staff. The bathroom had an actual stand up shower (and surprise, surprise, a shower curtain to keep the water in the tub inside of all over the floor), not like so many other European hotels which think that a hand-held showerhead that you end up spraying the entire bathroom with is just fine for a shower (those hotels oddly provide no shower curtain or glass to keep the water in). Also on the plus side, the a/c worked well.

Negatives: But the cleaning was very poor. And the presence of sooooo many mosquitoes and midges was disconcerting. They provide these little plug in bug killers that didn't do anything. We came home with a big collection of mosquito bites. And we NEVER had the windows open. Where are they coming from? Also poor lighting in the room. Unfortunately, the breakfast staff was very slow at replenishing items that were all gone. This was consistent throughout our stay.

Room Tip: not room 382 (or nearby), where you hear the bottle collection truck crashing bottles into it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
let us thank you for your feedback and nice comments you had write on Trip Advisor. Positive and negative comments are very important for us because they let us known something more of our hotel. The sun and warm temperature we have here in Sicily help our guests to join them holydays but help also mosquitoes’ life, therefore especially during summer months we treat the garden and terrace against “zanzare” (mosquitoes). Regarding the cleanness of the room we would like to present our excuses , normally they are very clean and not dusty.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    125
    50
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
335
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon and it could not have been a better choice. The hotel is a converted monastery so the atmosphere is very unique (in a good way!). The rooms are big and clean, staff friendly and the bar in the main courtyard is very relaxing to sit in with a cocktail whilst listening to the pianist watching the sun set. Both of the restaurants are excellent but the Principe Cerami is something else - we sat on on the terrance over looking the Mediterranean on one side and Mount Etna on the other and the food was exactly as you would expect for a 2 Michelin starred restaurant.

It is expensive but some things just are. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests,
Let us thank you for having taken the time to write regarding your honeymoon at the San Domenico Palace Hotel.
We were very happy to learn that you spent some pleasant moments in our XVI century Cloister bar and restaurants especially at the Principe Cerami’s terrace, join food and spectacular view. We have remitted your nice comments to the entire team of the San Domenico.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the San Domenico Palace Hotel
Best regards
Luisa Cacoapardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I thought long and hard about writing this review after my stay last week in that much of the praise for this hotel is spot on, bit for some there are things that would put some off. Cracked window frames, a pool backing on to a noisy road, poor technology, ridiculous room service prices and some rude staff. It could put some off. Breakfast is plentiful buffet style and if you want to fill up for the day that's great but few fresh or healthy options on offer and an abundance of tinned fruit. A sick wife meant one night dinner was cancelled and I was caught bringing back a salad for her. The hotel staff were not at all happy. Descriptions of scenery and gardens is accurate. Local shops are in a old style attractive street but full of tacky goods.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
let us thank you for having taken the time to share, with trip advisor’s community, your impressions about your last stay at the San Domenico Palace.
We have read carefully your remarks and suggestions, your comments are important for us because they let improve our services. For this reason we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back and you will enjoy again of our large buffet breakfast choice.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Obviously it isn't cheap but this is a magnificent hotel. Not sure I can add much to the other reviews except to confirm that the atmosphere is magical. The central tree-filled cloister is a place for after dinner drinks in the warm evening but even better (for me) is the second cloister, rather hidden away and completely still. The gardens are great for a slow wander with plenty of seats to sit and meditate, or sit and not meditate.

We had an excellent meal on the terrace restaurant overlooking the sea - the white fish risotto was fantastic.

Useful tip: not easy to find by car! Follow the instructions meticulously even if they seem to be leading you in the wrong direction. Or ask for help - the policeman and several local people were happy to help us reverse out of trouble, set off down an incredibly narrow alley and finally arrive triumphantly at the goal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for having taking the time to write on Trip Advisor your experience at the San Domenico Palace, your description of the Closters and Garden really match the peacefull atmophere that guests can feel.
We can add to your (directions) suggestion that to reach the Hotel guests have to follow the signs for the Police Station located just 20mt before the San Domenico.
We hope to serve you again in the next future, thank you again.
Sicerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our 5-night stay at the San Domenico Palace was delightful. The location, gardens, public areas and sense of history all mean this is a destination hotels one will always remember. The included breakfast on the magnificent terrace was top-notch, and the Michelin-starred restaurant very good too. A minor grumble we had about workmen starting too early in a nearby room was noted and very handsomely compensated for. The conciergerie side was fine if at a lower level than Four Seasons in Budapest or the Danieli in Venice - but they don't have the gardens! The place to stay in Taormina.

Room Tip: Has to be a room overlooking the gardens and the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice comment on our Hotel and Garden. Your comments are very important for us and will help to better serve our future guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This beautiful hotel, formerly a monastery, is filled with antiques and paintings, and surrounds a courtyard abounding in greenery. The long, quiet hallways and carpeting over dark wood floors remind you of the original intent of this location. The rooms were lovely with modern baths, and the location was convenient to everything that this wonderful town has to offer. Breakfast was filled with excellent choices, and the service was good. And of course, Taormina is a jewel of a town in every way-modern shops and restaurants, and wonderful gardens and ruins (especially the Greek Theatre). Service at the Front Desk was efficient, if not overly warm. My only complaint was that the second of the two nights that we ate at the hotel's restaurant the meal was rather ordinary, though expensive. An ordinary meal in any part of Italy is almost unheard of, so we would recommend eating at any of the local restaurants outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having taking the time to write on Trip Advisor your impressions on our Hotel and especially because You had described it like a Museum.
I am sorry if your meals were not as good as our reputation we do hope to serve you better in the future.
Thank you again.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful! We were frustrated because we had made a reservation in the small dining room months ago but the lost it and could not seat us. The regular dining room was fine but not what we had hoped for. The bed was unbelievably hard and linings scratchy which I do not understand in this caliber hotel. The Air conditioning could not meet needs in the bed room. The breakfast on the terrace was beautiful.. We were frustrated when we wasted the woman at the front desk for a dinner recommendation and her response was there are many good places to eat in town. Just walk around and look at menus. The men were by contrast quite helpful. For the price of the stay this hotel should have been seamless and it just was not.

Room Tip: You definitely want ocean front if you are spending this kind of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taormina
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#16 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Domenico Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.