We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for Taormina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Domenico Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Domenico Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sussex, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The perfect hotel for Taormina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our 5-night stay at the San Domenico Palace was delightful. The location, gardens, public areas and sense of history all mean this is a destination hotels one will always remember. The included breakfast on the magnificent terrace was top-notch, and the Michelin-starred restaurant very good too. A minor grumble we had about workmen starting too early in a nearby room was noted and very handsomely compensated for. The conciergerie side was fine if at a lower level than Four Seasons in Budapest or the Danieli in Venice - but they don't have the gardens! The place to stay in Taormina.

Room Tip: Has to be a room overlooking the gardens and the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice comment on our Hotel and Garden. Your comments are very important for us and will help to better serve our future guests.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    138
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
103
362
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This beautiful hotel, formerly a monastery, is filled with antiques and paintings, and surrounds a courtyard abounding in greenery. The long, quiet hallways and carpeting over dark wood floors remind you of the original intent of this location. The rooms were lovely with modern baths, and the location was convenient to everything that this wonderful town has to offer. Breakfast was filled with excellent choices, and the service was good. And of course, Taormina is a jewel of a town in every way-modern shops and restaurants, and wonderful gardens and ruins (especially the Greek Theatre). Service at the Front Desk was efficient, if not overly warm. My only complaint was that the second of the two nights that we ate at the hotel's restaurant the meal was rather ordinary, though expensive. An ordinary meal in any part of Italy is almost unheard of, so we would recommend eating at any of the local restaurants outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having taking the time to write on Trip Advisor your impressions on our Hotel and especially because You had described it like a Museum.
I am sorry if your meals were not as good as our reputation we do hope to serve you better in the future.
Thank you again.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful! We were frustrated because we had made a reservation in the small dining room months ago but the lost it and could not seat us. The regular dining room was fine but not what we had hoped for. The bed was unbelievably hard and linings scratchy which I do not understand in this caliber hotel. The Air conditioning could not meet needs in the bed room. The breakfast on the terrace was beautiful.. We were frustrated when we wasted the woman at the front desk for a dinner recommendation and her response was there are many good places to eat in town. Just walk around and look at menus. The men were by contrast quite helpful. For the price of the stay this hotel should have been seamless and it just was not.

Room Tip: You definitely want ocean front if you are spending this kind of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in June to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The day we arrived was the final day of the Taormina film festival and so the reception area was manic with film people, all a bit hooray if you asked me! We wondered what we had let ourselves in for but by the next day they had all gone, bar for a few stragglers.
The view from our room was exceptional, for the occasion we couldn't have wished for anything better. The room itself was was typical of one being in such an old historical building, not lavish but functional, well kept and clean.
The buffet breakfast on the terrace was something to look forward to each day, it is like being on a filmset, the food was good too.
On our anniversary and to our surprise the hotel management delivered a bottle of Prosecco to our room at lunchtime, a very nice thought indeed. We felt the hotel staff could not do enough for you whether in the bar, the pool or the restaurant and the reception desk were always helpful.
The location of the hotel was about as good as it gets, more than enough restaurants to choose from and all very capable. The shops on the main street were excellent and the whole place had a great buzz about it.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone, indeed we may return there next year for a few days.

Room Tip: South facing, sea view with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a week of small, modest accommodations in the little hill towns of Sicily, our stay at the San Domenico was a welcome respite of luxury and comfort. It was with some regret that we booked there, because we had loved the Grand Hotel Timeo when we were last in Taormina, but there was no room available during our stay in October due to a conference. The San Domenico was an excellent alternative. We had a lovely ocean-facing room with a terrace, which they call an "executive room, sea view." It was large and attractively furnished (not modern, but suitably period Sicilian) and the bath very nice. Breakfast on the hotel’s outdoor terrace (only partially shaded, be aware if the sun is hot) was quite special, with zillions of choices at the buffet. The hotel is located one street below the main street in town, Corso Umberto, with all the shops, churches, library, etc., very close, and the Greek Theater is about a ten or fifteen minute easy walk. The only negative about the location is that, unlike the Grand Hotel Timeo, you cannot see Mt. Aetna from the rooms, only the open ocean. This is the reason I took one star away from "Location." The extraordinary thing about Taormina's position is the combination of the ocean, Mt. Aetna, and in the evening, the twinkling lights along the coast. We had this view when we stayed at Timeo a dozen years ago, and that is what makes it both more desirable and much more expensive than the San Domenico. The San Domenico is very pretty, with a beautiful garden inner courtyard/cloister, and away from the hustle and bustle of Corso Umberto, the main street.

Other than breakfast, I cannot speak about the restaurant. We tried to have lunch there, but the only spot was an indoor room that was boiling hot and facing mostly just trees. It would have been lovely to be on the terrace, but they would only serve us drinks and snacks there, and we wanted a real lunch. Since our stay was so short, we wanted to maximize our time in front of one of the world's great views, so we had lunch at Granducca, on Corso Umberto, and dinner on the Timeo's spectacular terrace. Both are highly recommended.

A warning to those driving by car to Taormina; finding this hotel, as well as the Grand Hotel Timeo, requires nerves of steel, rapt attention to the occasional sign, and a good dose of luck. We actually stumbled on it when we were just about to turn around, go down the hill, and try again--no easy feat on those narrow, winding roads. Once you do find the San Domenico, they whisk your car away, and you breathe a sigh of relief to be off the roads and in their very serene compound.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the San Domencio Palace, we were honoured to have you as our guests.
Due to a different position we inform you that , our guest can see Mount Etna and the sea from our Mediterranean garden.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the San Domenico PAlace and we will share your nice comment with the entire team.
Best regards
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were well received at the san Domenico. The location is stunning and the gardens a delight.
the staff were unfailingly helpful and organised our various outings very well indeed.
Our room was immaculate and well supplied. The sea view perfect.
Breakfast was very good indeed. we did not eat dinner in the restaurant(s) as we were seduced by the abundance of local establishments all of which provided excellent dining.
I would certainly recommend the San Domenico to anyone planning a stay in Taormina.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for having taken the time to write about your last stay at the San Domenico Palace Hotel.
We were very happy to learn that you spent some pleasant moments with us and that you had appreciated your sea view. We have remitted your nice comments to the entire team of the San Domenico.
Thank you again and best regards.
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the San Domenico Palace for a weekend break. The property is a 15th century monastery with breathtaking views. We had a seaview room which was very spacious and clean. Spend some time exploring the property - both inside and the amazing gardens. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacrestia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Domenico Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
fisrt of all, thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel. Your description regarding the cleaness of the room and the stunning view that guests can experience from our terraces and Mediterranean garden.
Sincerely
Luisa Cacopardo
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taormina
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#16 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Domenico Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.