We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Domenico Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

VERY quiet spot in a crowded noisy town. Was upgraded without asking. Staff is very helpful and parking lot is a godsend. Breakfast buffet was best I've had in 16 days in Italy. Room was very spacious, restaurants are VERY VERY expensive

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    107
    40
    10
    8
See reviews for
80
278
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

No money appears to have been invested in this place for ages. No doubt this could be a great hotel again but it's not appropriate to charge the rates they do for a property in this kind of condition. We moved hotels. Service fine.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Palace 10 years ago and had a wonderful souvenir so we were quite excited to stay there again.
The Palace is the real grande dame of wonderful Taormina. The Palace and the Timeo both seem to have conquered one side of the city and hold fort.
The arrival to the Palace is still very beautiful, great courtyard. Reception is fine, nothing special. The main attraction of the hotel is the beautiful inside courtyard, stunning. They serve drinks in the evening there.
We were only there for one night so decided not to spend a huge amount. We had what is described as a classic room. This was 250 euro a night without breakfast.
The room was the farthest away you can imagine from reception I think it was number 234 or something like tha). You walked for ever through very strange corridors, thing The Shinning and you will get the idea.
Nothing is really dirty but nothing seems to be 100% clean either. The overall feeling is something old, which has not have a lot of love for a while and would just need a coat of paint here and there, new bathroom, new refreshed curtains, etc.
Our room was very large, furniture was dated, unoriginal artwork, and bathroom was again dated.
Breakfast is served on the main balcony with view of the sea, breathtaking. Breakfast is again a grand affair in a massive reception room. The selection on offer is nice but nothing exciting, no interesting local produces, it all looks very corporate.
Taormina has changed a lot since we were there, new hotels, may be not5 stars, but more interesting and fun to stay at. Competition is definitely there
Overall, I would not go back, its extra expensive for what it is and they really need somebody to fall in love with it again, spend some money on it and give it back the splendour it deserve

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great views mean you are really looking at the rooms, although they are very comfortable. Just remember they were previously inhabited by monks so quite small and not very well sound insulated.

General facilities in the hotel are first class and service is excellent

Room Tip: Just go for the view, don't worry about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely, relaxing long weekend at San domenico palace hotel. The view from our room was just beautiful. The location is very convenient and the hotel and grounds are beautiful. The only negatives were the air conditioning in the hotel wasn't great, a can of coke by the pool was €6 and people did reserve sun loungers by the pool with their towels and then disappeared. Overall, we had a lovely time and would go again. The breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: We had a view overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My third time at the San Domenico, which suggests I like it. Having stayed previously at the Timeo, I have no hesitation in recommending the understated elegance of the former palace.
Yes, the corridors are long, but this only seems to add to the general air of tranquility. far from "...no sea views.." as one reviewer commented, the San Domenico enjoys breathtakingly beautiful views of Etna and the Bay below. Dine on the terrace, breakfast in the shade, or swim in the pool, and you will enjoy the views of this beautiful resort. (Incidentally,our room overlooked the Bay directly, so am not sure how you could miss a sea view !)
For me, however, what makes this my favourite hotel anywhere in Europe, are the staff and the levels of service. Whether you are seeking a romantic get away, or want to be pampered, the staff here seem to intuitively know, and deliver accordingly.
Yes, it lacks the bells, whistles and bling of the more gaudy resorts masquerading as 5 star, but, if it is a timeless quality you are looking for and a truly memorable stay, this is the place. The restaurant is fully deserving of it's two Michelin stars, and it's setting is amongst the most beautiful of any I have had the pleasure of visiting anywhere in the world..........and, yes, it does have the most beautiful of sea views.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and ensure you book at least one night on the terrace Restaurant. Then simply, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved the feeling of staying in a former monastery. Truly exquisite. The breakfast was divine and the two star Michelin restaurant on the veranda was as memorable as it gets! Love the courtyard and we loved our upgraded room in the newer wing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taormina
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#16 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Domenico Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.