We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Have Fallen In Love!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Domenico Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Domenico Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
West Hollywood
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I Have Fallen In Love!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The San Domenico Palace Hotel in Sicily is so special. Understated yet elegant. Perfect for a respite from a long journey. I can't say anything about this place other than it is a very special destination.

I recognize that it isn't for everyone, but I am most comfortable in true 5-Star properties, and this one never let me down.

In my opinion, this place is so perfect for a stay in Taormina, Sicily. I really couldn't image being anything but happy here. The staff is so terrific and helpful. The food is fantastic. The location is supreme.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get a suite overlooking the Ionian Sea, order dinner on your private Suite terrace, and let the magi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    125
    50
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
335
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sea views from the room. Nice view from the restaurant on the balcony. It is filled with pots filled with flowers. The room was upgraded and had a living area also. The food was fine, we had breakfast, which was a buffet, at the hotel. It was a buffet with a good selection. The bar food was ok. Had dinner in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Sicily and Taormina specifically is a great place to go. Excellent weather, beautiful scenery, a great history and superb food.
I stayed in the San Domenico palace hotel which was an old monastery on the top of a hill. Most rooms have a beautiful view over the bay below. Breakfast is buffet style and offers a large choice of the English breakfast as well as the typical Italian (Tuscan) meat and local cheeses. Fruit (some fresh like orange, pineapple and melon - but also from cans) is abundantly offered as well as a large choice of danish pastries.
The rooms are what you would expect from a top hotel but have no unused electricity plugs so that you need to unplug something to charge your computer or mobile device. Internet is not free and that is not up to the current standards. If you pay for 24 hours and your computer goes into a sleep mode, it might not be possible to reuse the remaining time. At least that's what happened to me. The door key was another piece of technology was more in line with the ancient setting of the building. My key had to be reprogrammed 3 times during my stay (which was done without any check of my identity).
Very much appreciated was the live music every night in the open air cloister.
The location, the 3 restaurants and peaceful environment make it nevertheless an excellent place for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We could not fault the hotel. It is not cheap but I have no objection to paying when they deliver to the highest standard.

We were extremely surprised to discover that the hotel was 80% full because we hardly encountered any other guests except at breakfast. The peace an quite extended to the pool where there were plenty of beds to be had, and no need to rush.

The room was large, and the views from the balcony exactly as you would expect over looking the bay.

For a peaceful break from the pressures and stress of working you cannot beat this San Domenico Palace.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony overlooking the bay are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 day stay in one of the Deluxe Twin Front Sea view rooms with a balcony in the newer part of the hotel. The view from our room was spectacular, the room was serviced twice daily and the breakfast was wonderful. We chose to eat in restaurants in Taormina rather than in the hotel as we like to sample the local food. As tea and coffee were really quite expensive in the hoteI I would have liked facilities in the room. The balcony chairs were rather uncomfortable as were the chairs in the room. If we return to the area, we would certainly consider staying here again, but only in one of the deluxe rooms with a sea view.

Room Tip: Deluxe with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that gets it right. The service is very friendly and professional - reception, the waiters and housekeeping all do a really good job and the quality stands out. It's a lovely building, the gardens and views of the sea and Mt Etna are spectacular and the decor is very tasteful. Principe Cerami was a highlight. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is not cheap, but worth ever penny. The hotel has the Best possible location, every room has a view of the sea. The entire hotel is stylishly decorated, and holds all the amenities you need. Mae sure to ENJOY an afterdinner drink in the courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taormina
#10 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#16 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Domenico Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.