We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, views, staff, breakfast, all 100%” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Domenico Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Domenico Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Domenico Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, views, staff, breakfast, all 100%”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here in November, lovely place - very unlike a standard hotel. The place itself is like a museum or gallery - and the staff were very professional and attentive. The location is excellent in Taormina, with lovely views over the bay. I wouldn't like to drive in Taormina, and the roads, lanes and parking seemed tricky to navigate.
This hotel isn't a standard hotel, and some of the things you might expect now of a hotel of this type were not there. For example, the bathroom was not the usual pristine white and could do with being updated. The water and water pressure were again not as you would expect. The windows were 'vintage'. However when you see where the hotel is built and that the building is hundreds of years old, the good points outweigh everything else, and it's probably a good thing that there are still some hotels in the world some aspects are a bit different.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    116
    49
    11
    10
See reviews for
90
307
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the San Domenico Palace in November 2012 and we thought it was magnificent. The room was large and utterly comfortable, breakfast was included, and they gave us a free upgrade to one with a balcony over the ocean, even though we were paying with United Airlines miles instead of cash. The hotel was once an Abbey and has been combined with other houses of the period to make a lovely, rambling place filled with beautiful art, centered around a courtyard. It was reminiscent of the Danieli in Venice--a real treasure--and I would go back in a heartbeat. Next time I'm staying more than one night!

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean view room with a balcony--the view is spectacular and well worth it since the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pied a terre in Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This exquisite hotel has not changed in all the years I have known and loved it. Wander in its gardens and go back in time, a time when Taormina was the destination for winter visitors, poets, writers and the aristocracy. I remember another time, more recently, when the 'grande maestro' Chico Schimone touched the keys of the piano in the bar lounge and produced magical moments. But the beauty of the San Domenico endures and captivates the modern traveller as it has done for so many years. For me it is quintiessentially Taormina and I think about it with nostalgia and affection.

Room Tip: This is an ex monastery although comfortable and well appointed, the rooms remains the rooms of anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The San Domenico hotel is a unique, and a fantastic place to stay while you are visiting Sicily,
Taormina is a small village and the hotel is right on the center of the village.
This is an old monastery, transformed into a real palace hotel, Containing memorabilia from the past, wonderful gardens, fine dining, stunning views of the bay seen from the room window .
In short a perfect recipe for a romantic and special holiday.
Pleasant service, delicious breakfast, stunning views from the restaurant, and all around you a Amazing colors of bougainvillea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

14th century monastery converted to beautiful hotel. Luxurious old world hotel. Our Grand View suite was spacious and comfortable with a wonderful terrace overlooking the Ionian Sea. Exceptional service. Wonderful location just a short walk to the main street and piazza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This gorgeous hotel is very well located in this small touristic town. Just one block away from the main street where everything happens. Plus, it’s surrounded by restaurants.
They have a free private garage, and there is wi-fi in the room, but it will cost you $9.00 euros a day.
We had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor that was very nice, of good size, and with a fantastic view of the ocean. It was nicely decorated and the bathroom had luxurious amenities, fluffy thick towels that were changed twice a day. It also had a big window that unfortunately couldn’t be opened. According to them: bug could come in. Only negative point: the paint on the window panes was peeling, due to the water from the shower that rotted the wood, therefore in need of some maintenance. But this was a minor issue.
Breakfast was good but quite ordinary. The breakfast room was beautiful with a terrace that overlooked the beach.
On the first day we had some problem with the TV. We called the front desk and immediately someone came. We have never seen such fast, efficient and polite service anywhere else.
They had a Michelin one star restaurant on the premises which we highly recommend. Especially the pumpkin and clams risotto I had for primo piatto.
The gardens of this ancient convent are gorgeous, from where you can see Mount Etna standing majestically right in front of you.
The staff is so kind and helpful. We really loved this town and the hotel, and will surely return if we happen to come back to Taormina someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in small monks room . The staff were hesitant to put me there and insisted I see room first. It was fantastic. Nice balcony view. A lot of character. Very comfortable for one. Excellent service and food. Amazing breakfast .

Room Tip: Try a monk's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Domenico Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Domenico Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza San Domenico 5, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Taormina
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#16 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — San Domenico Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURY 5-STAR HOTEL ON THE EAST COAST OF SICILY The San Domenico Palace Hotel sits in a truly magnificent setting that has attracted people from ancient times. A luxury 5-star hotel in an ancient Dominican monastery, it has views over Mount Etna and Taormina Bay on the east coast of Sicily not far from Messina. Countless famous writers, artists and composers, came here to savour this unique spot at the very tip of Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your San Domenico Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Domenico Taormina
Palazzo San Domenico Hotel Taormina
San Domenico Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Domenico Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.