We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teatro Greco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco)

Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco)
Via Teatro Greco, 98100 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942/232220
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco) like an insider
$113*
and up
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The view of Mount Etna and the sea beyond is absolutely superb at Taormina's 10,000-seat ancient Greek amphitheater, which was erected in the third century BC and expanded by the Romans.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Teatro Greco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful stone structure , leaning its back to the hills of Taormina has a well preserved
stage with beautiful columns and stone frames.

Still used today for festivasl and art shows ,it has a beautiful view , overlooking the cape

If you get lucky and run into a show or concert while you visit ,I would degfnately recommend to attend it

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,698
    790
    258
    75
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The views of the amphitheater is well worth the admission price. My only complaint is the screen and cables that is set up for different events kind of ruined the look of it but once you got to the top and saw the view of the sea and Mt. Etna it was easy to dismiss the eyesore below.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Easy to find in Taormina, and with wonderful views of the bay. It is quite expensive at 12 euros to enter and am not sure it is worth that much as there are no performances on during July & August.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greek Teatro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well worth the walk up to top. Stunning views of the Island and Etna. If there are events going on, like the evening films, GO!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The day we meant to go, we arrived late in the day, on the way back from the beach, on foot, and when we arrived, it was jam packed full of people and we couldn't get in - there was a concert and the amphitheater was already closed for the day! Drat!
Lucky for us, we got up early the next morning, threw back our cappucini and trekked over from our hotel - crystal clear day and views, few people up that early and views for miles. A bit of smoke out of Etna was the cherry on top.
By the time we left, the groups were coming in...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco) also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Amphitheater (Teatro Greco), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.