We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
santa barbara
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Classic beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After spending 2 nights on a horrible cruise ship (Windstar Star Pride- read my review on that before you book!!) we disembarked at our first stop and went directly to Hotel Timeo. We arrived at 10am and were immediately greeted by Roberta and the hotel concierge. They explained they would do their best to get us checked into our room as soon as possible, even though check in was officially 2:00. While waiting for our room we had breakfast on the terrace. The breakfast buffet was spectacular- delicious fresh juice, many organic and gluten free options, fresh local cheese and a menu to order hot items. Don’t miss the granita! Our servers made us feel as though we were in their home and they were incredibly attentive. After finishing our breakfast we were taken to our gorgeous suite which overlooked the swimming pool and the bay. The hotel grounds are gorgeous. The location was perfection - gorgeous view of the coast, waking up to the chirping of birds in the morning and you could walk everywhere from the hotel. The service was just right - not intrusive, friendly, timely and helpful in every way. Stephano at the bar created personalized cocktails for us both with fresh ingredients. We spent a few afternoons relaxing and reading by the pool where we also had great service. This was my absolute favorite hotel in Italy and I don’t see how anyone would ever want to miss a visit to this spectacular spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taormina! Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and with TripAdvisor’s readers.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo and that the location, the atmosphere at the hotel and our team have created wonderful experiences you will never forget.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future to Sicily and in the meantime we send you our best regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    22
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
92
210
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here many years ago and were very pleased to return and stay for a couple of nights. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast on the patio overlooking the sea can't be beat. The service is outstanding , the rooms very nice with great views. There is a shuttle to the partner on the beach but we didn't take advantage of it though. The town itself is very touristy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

I thank you for your words of praise regarding Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo.

We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and I am truly pleased to hear that you have loved to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from 5 nights in this wonderful hotel, in a most beautiful place. From the moment you arrive, the staff are there to look after your every need. The rooms were superb, the housekeeping spotless. Breakfasts were wonderful, sitting on the terrace with that wonderful view. And the choice amazing.

The Restaurant Manager was magnificent. Remembering your name whenever he saw you! The food was delicious at every meal, and the knowledge of the staff regarding local wines was so helpful.

We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am so proud to read all your amazing words you found for the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo and its unique staff and I am so delighted to learn that there was nothing we could have done better.
I hope you will give us soon the opportunity to welcoming you back to Sicily!

Warmest regards

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Superb hotel, and superb location.
Highly recommend this hotel.
Service impeccable.
Amenities were fantastic, highly recommend the boat ride.
Breakfast outstanding. Best I have ever had. Gluten Free and Dairy Free options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you could not have been more pleased with your stay. I am truly glad you enjoyed the location and your words were much appreciated. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I have recently returned form our fourth visit to the Grand Hotel Timeo in Taormina. Despite the very best efforts of Mount Etna to disrupt our holiday we, once again, had a thoroughly enjoyable time in all respects. From the very moment we stepped out of the car on arrival to the very last moment, as one of the Hall Porters loaded our bags into the car on departure, we were treated in the most personable and friendly manner by every member of staff we met. Even the Beach and Pool staff at the sister hotel, the Villa Sant' Andrea, remembered our names from previous visits and chatted to us as though we were old friends during the day we spent by the sea. It is this genuinely warm welcome, premier service, meticulous attention to detail and, of course, the superb food and wine that bring us back again and again.

Our stay coincided with the Taormina Film Festival along with a number of wedding receptions in the stunning hotel grounds. Inevitably this meant that the hotel was, at times, very busy as a result. That said, I was very impressed by the fact that at no time did we feel "squeezed out" by these events, nor did we experience any reduction in service quality. The Timeo is a very well-oiled machine and knows exactly how to manage these events without any disruption to its residents.

Having made the booking in early January we requested the same Deluxe Junior Suite as we enjoyed last year with a marvellous view of the sea, Etna, the roof-tops of Taormina and the hotel pool and grounds. On arrival we were told that this room had unfortunately not been assigned to us as there had been a request for adjoining rooms by an earlier guest. That said, we were allocated an equivalent room in the same part of the hotel which turned out to be even better than the room we had requested. The Reception staff assured us that this would be the case, and they were absolutely right! The standard of housekeeping is top notch and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. The hotel building and grounds are immaculate. The breakfast buffet on the terrace is second to none, and the quality of the food, wine and service in the a la carte restaurant in the evening is first class. Daniele, the Maitre D', sets exactly the right tone in the restaurant, leading a highly efficient, yet friendly service team. And of course, the setting is possibly one of the most romantic and breath-taking that you are ever likely to find anywhere in the world. We opted for half-board this year, enabling us to eat either lunch or dinner in any of the restaurants or bars in either of the two hotels. This is an excellent arrangement and one we will most certainly repeat next year. The shuttle service between the two hotels runs on the hour and half-hour throughout the day up until midnight, making this dining flexibility entirely doable. And this review would not be complete without special mention of Pancrazio and the Pool Staff at the Timeo, namely Antonio and Alberto. They are the most attentive and friendly team of people we have ever encountered in any hotel we have stayed in.

In summary, this continues to rank as the best hotel we have experienced anywhere in the world, and we will most certainly be returning next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing comment on Tripadvisor!

We are so delighted to learn how much you enjoyed to be pampered by our unique staff and that your stay at the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo was an unforgettable experience.
I am so pleased to see that so many of our exceptional team members made your stay truly memorable and provided 5 star service throughout.

My staff and I are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your Sicilian home many times.

Best wishes,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed last week from june in grand hotel timeo , simply nr 1 experience ! Beautiful setting , garden, view ...
Staff very friendly , service spotless .... Great room in villa flora lot of eye for small details ...
Super breakfast , overlooking mount Etna
Really one of the best experience ever

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Dankbaar,

We are delighted you left our hotel with the excellent impressions you describe. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we certainly hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Timeo in the near future.

Best wishes,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a grand hotel in any sense of the word grand , gorgeous location excellent staff beautiful views a real special experience .

The staff without exception are charming and always ready to help with s smile .
A vacation here in close proximity of the town and attractions is perfect .

A must if you visit Sicily , the only true five star hotel in this area

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JonathonS,

Thank you! We are really pleased to receive such pleasant feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with the whole team!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo many times.

Warm regards,

Stefano Gegnacorsi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#8 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of Taormina, in beautiful gardens, the hotel enjoys unrivalled views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, it is surrounded by stylish boutiques, cafes and cultural attractions, and has been welcoming guests, including famous artists and writers, since 1873. Its renowned Literary Terrace is an elegant place to relax and enjoy the vistas. Most guest rooms, decorated with Sicilian baroque flourishes, enjoy sea views from their expansive balconies or terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.