We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FANTASY COME TRUE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Save Saved
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Suites
Ranked #3 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A FANTASY COME TRUE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I have been to this hotel on several occasions and each visit is a step back in time; This is a beautiful place which warms the heart and soul. Its location, perched on the side of a mountain with the Greco Roman ruins directly above and lit up at night and the snow capped Mt Etna with a backdrop of a black star studded Italian sky with golden moon beams creating dancing lights in the ripples of the Ionian sea is incomparable.

As for the hotel the rooms and suites, they are superb and leave you wanting for nothing. The warmth and charm of the staff under Stephen Ceschia is beyond your greatest wish. The view and solitude that one has on the terrace of this special place is priceless.

The food is of the highest quality and the preparation and plating rivals any French restaurant in the world and they are great. The fish dishes are fresh for obvious reasons and the side dishes are mostly from the country side of Sicily. In all the restaurant has a wall of glass and the bar and wine cellar lack nothing. The only complaint I have is the restaurant lacks personality. It's just there. So, having dessert on the terrace under a beautiful Italian sky is the key to ending a perfect evening. No, I am not being paid for this. This hotel and amenities are just very special. Don't miss this. It is pricey but not outrageous. For those of us who are not rich just save a bit extra to enjoy this dream come true place. The memory will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your kind feedback and are happy that you so much enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be happy to share your words with the whole team and especially with the colleagues from our Front Desk and Concierge team.

We are just about to open up our gates again for a new and exciting season 2014 and would be happy to welcoming you again in the close future.

In the meantime I send you my best regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    21
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
185
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was really happy to learn that Hotel Timeo was voted #1 Hotel in Italy by Travel + Leisure. Well-deserved!!

We got married in Hotel Timeo and it was hands down the best experience in my life.

I stayed at Timeo for a week in September 2012.
So let me walk you through all that it has to offer:

Location: Timeo is situated in the absolute best location in Taormina. Sited at the very top of the city directly underneath the ruins of the Greek Theater, it has the most incredible views of the sea, Mount Etna and the entire city. The view doesn't get any better than this. Especially at dusk over drinks on the terrace, that view is magical!!

The property: Timeo is a multi-level property with the entrance near the Greek Theater. Set in exquisitely restored Italian Villa, the hotel exudes sophistication yet restraint in its decor. Everything seems to be in the right place. It's distinctly chic yet understated which makes it even more luxurious. Once you step onto the terrace on a hot summer day, you immediately fall in love with the view and the place. My fiancee and I felt an immediate connection and made a decision to celebrate our special day at Timeo. Everything was just perfect.

The staff: Luca Finardi runs Timeo (and Villa Sant Andrea) seamlessly. It almost feels like a family. It is very obvious that people love to work there and they love what they do. The stay at Timeo feels effortless. You don't have to sign a single bill when you are there. It's like being a guest at a someone's incredible home where all your needs are tended to. Luca's team, especially Mariangela Spinella, the banquet manager, are truly best-in-class. The level of service is unlike anything I have experienced before. The extraordinary precision of Mariangela's event management process is astounding with single glass was ever out of place or empty. Everything is perfectly orchestrated and handled with utmost professionalism and calm with the sole goal of creating an unforgettable experience.

The rooms: We stayed at the Garden Room close to the pool, right underneath the main terrace. During my stay we visited several rooms including the terraced studio in the tower, which is frequented by the likes of Stefano Gabbana and the numerous movie stars who stay at Timeo during the Taormina FIlm Festival. The presidential suite is out of this world. The views are even better than those from the main terrace, so if you do splurge, it is definitely an exceptional experience. The decor of the rooms is understated yet luxurious. The service is quiet and efficient. We had a little garden area with spectacular view of Mount Etna. The Garden room had a walk-in-closet which was perfect with all the things we had to bring for the wedding.

The food: As someone who stayed at Timeo for a week and vetted a menu for the wedding, I got to try almost everything. My personal favorite is a simple pasta pomodoro made with fresh Sicilian tomatoes. The wedding menu was authentic Sicilian. From starters to Pasta alla Norma to Branzino baked in salt to sublime desserts, the food was pretty much perfect. I have experienced food in other Orient Express Hotels in Italy and South Africa but non of it came close. There is something about Timeo's chef, Sicilian cuisine and ingredients that makes it so much more special (wedding aside).

The concierge: Stephen knows everything and everybody in the area. He will pick the most interesting and rare experiences. Taormina can be very touristy, so you really need someone who can curate an authentic experience both in town and in smaller towns in the area.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for your lovely words.

All of us are very proud and delighted to learn that you had such a memorable stay and especially happy that you decided to come back to the Timeo for your wedding! We all have this special day in great memory and felt honored that you chose us for this important event in your life!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to your Sicilian home many times.

Warm regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We just had 1 and a half days to tour Sicily. We chose this hotel on the eastern side of Sicily since the places/attractions we wanted to see the most (Mt. Etna and "The Godfather" shoot locations) were in eastern Sicily. We were also planning to visit Palermo in Sicily's western side. But the moment we got to the hotel, we realised how beautiful it was that we had to cancel our plan to visit Palermo the next day to enjoy the most of this hotel.

What I liked the most about this hotel is the view from the restaurant terrace. On a clear day, you can see Mt. Etna from afar and the Ionian Sea. Taormina can also be seen from the hotel's terrace. The hotel also has an expansive and well-kept garden. During summer, the hotel offers free boat tours around Mazzarro Bay and nearby areas so that was a plus for us since we didn't know that beforehand. The swimming pool area was also nice and I enjoyed spending time there. The food at the restaurant was also good. The hotel is also near a lot of shops and restaurants so it is centrally located.

The room was very nicely decorated and had all the amenities of a five-star hotel. We had a good night's sleep all throughout our stay. The hotel staff were also very nice and accommodating. The moment we arrived, we were given a tour of the hotel and shown the features of our room. All our needs were addressed by the hotel staff. They made sure that we enjoy the most of Sicily.

Our hotel package also included tickets to an opera at the adjacent Teatro Greco and watching it was a truly memorable and worthwhile experience.

I can only have good words for this hotel. I hope to come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking Taormina and the Ionian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are more than happy to learn that you enjoyed your time in Sicily! We are already looking forward to another great season ahead and are positive that there will be more wonderful events at the Greek Theater, as soon as the schedule for 2014 will be published.

We hope to welcome you back soon and send you already our best wishes for a Merry Christmas,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Grand Hotel Timeo is splendid place to stay and in our opinion far superior in every way to its sister hotel in Taormina.

We stayed for 4 nights but had to change rooms after 2 nights as our first room ( a suite ) has been previously booked for our last to nights. We moved to a superior room which was quite small although well appointed. The views from both rooms over the bay are very special, these views are also enjoyed from the bar and the dining room.

The service at the bar was first rate as was the food and service in the restaurant. We didn't stay in the annex but we walked up to the building, it looked fine but I am told it is worth spending the extra for a room in the main hotel.

Now we come to the few downsides. The hotel is very difficult in fact nearly impossible to get to by a rented car as the access to the car park is beyond difficult to access or find. We like touring the countryside, we rented a car for our 4 day stay, we didn't use it once. Local taxis struggle to locate the car park what chance would we have - so if you visit this hotel don't pre-book a hire car.

The swimming pool is great and the service impeccable but in early October it mostly loses the Sun by 4pm which is a pain. All that having been said if you want to visit Taormina this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building close to the lift that comes in by the bar and reception areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review, which I highly appreciate and I am happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay with us at the Timeo.

In order to improve we do need the most precious comments and observations from the client’s point of view as they really live and experience our hotel from arrival to departure.

You may therefore rest assured that good note has been taken regarding the difficulties you faced in finding the hotel upon arrival. We are aware that the infrastructure of Taormina might seem quite challenging due to misleading signposting and one-way streets and will improve our driving directions in order to guarantee a smoother arrival.

Thank you again and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Taormina, hopefully in the close future.

Kind regards,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Truly a great hotel! We arrived just before the end of season ( The hotel closes from early November to March) and on arrival, were upgraded to a room with a panoramic view of the coast and the majestic Mt. Etna. The mountain had just received its first winter dusting which added to its splendor.

From handing the car keys to Francesco on our arrival all the staff presented a high degree of professionalism and genuine warmth throughout our stay. Dinner in the restaurant was superb but the icing on the cake was the sumptuous breakfast on the terrace with the stunning view mentioned above. 25c degrees in early November added to the occasion.

Room Tip: View of Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo this November.

We can’t wait to open our gates again at the end of March 2014 and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the close future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel with a fantastic outlook. The Timeo has fantastic views out to sea and towards Mount Etna along with it's own very well kept gardens which roll down the hill, lending it's self to the grandness of this hotel.

It's a true classic hotel and like another reviewer commented it does have an antique feel about it, but this is a plus not a negative, it suits the hotel and the owners should keep it as it is and not try to make it modern or contemporise it.

The restaurant is excellent with thoughtful staff whom offer excellent service which is matched by the cuisine. Yes it is expensive but you pay for what you get and although I only had two nights here I saw the same people eating in the restaurant on consecutive nights, whom clearly loved the food. the breakfast which is served n the same place is equally as good, plenty of choice on the buffet with hot food cooked to order, the eggs Benedictine were lovely.

I was fortunate to have a Suite, the dual aspect of which was great with plenty of light and a great view from the balcony. The furnishings were totally in keeping with the hotel and the raised vaulted ceiling added to the grandeur.

The hotel was very clean, tidy and very well maintained, so though an older hotel the management clearly do keep a good maintenance schedule.

One of the hotels own cars took us back to the airport, the driver was very careful on the busy Sicilian roads and he gave us an informed commentary about local landmarks.

I loved it and intend to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write us your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Timeo and will share your delightful comments with all our colleagues, whose goal it is to make each day of our guests memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Taormina and in any other hotels, trains and cruises part of the Orient-Express collection.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi

General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo, Taormina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent two nights here in a superb room with a sea view and overlooking Mt. Etna. The staff, who take their jobs seriously and who are mostly multi-lingual, could not have done more to make us feel completely comfortable and spoilt. The pool staff, in particular, are just incredible laying out your towels for you on the lounge of your choice. The restaurant staff are very attentive too and gave us a table right at the front overlooking the lights in the bay down below - so romantic! The menu was extensive and the wine list great. We opted for the locally produced wines, which did not disappoint and matched the food perfectly. Breakfast was a real spread with five different mozarella cheeses to choose from, not to mention all the different types of honeys! The room was very well appointed with a balcony overlooking the beautiful, very well-tended gardens. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus down to the sister Hotel San Andrea, located on a stretch of private beach, which overlooks Isola Bella. We swam in the Mediterranean and lay on the lounges afterwards. The hotel is right next door to the Teatro Antico di Taormina, which is very well preserved and also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and sea view overlooking Mt. Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-timeo, Direttore at Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We are delighted to receive such a lovely feedback and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to our corner of heaven in the very near future.

Best wishes,

Luca Finardi
General Manager
Grand Hotel Timeo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of Taormina, in beautiful gardens, the hotel enjoys unrivalled views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, it is surrounded by stylish boutiques, cafes and cultural attractions, and has been welcoming guests, including famous artists and writers, since 1873. Its renowned Literary Terrace is an elegant place to relax and enjoy the vistas. Most guest rooms, decorated with Sicilian baroque flourishes, enjoy sea views from their expansive balconies or terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;