We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Save Saved
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Suites
Ranked #3 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am in my third day of a four day stay at the Grand Hotel in Taormina .
The staff are exceptional .The views are also breath taking beautiful .
My wife and I are staying in a junior suite which has all the modern facilities which is unexpected given the age of the Hotel .The breakfast is included and is to die for ,what ever you want ,European ,Asian ,Japanese , all is on offer and nothing is to much trouble .
From Day one everyone seems to know your name and is committed to ensuring you have a great visit .
I am off to the pool deck as I do not want to miss out on my daily routine of the staff their spoiling us .
By the way they have an sister Hotel on the water called Saint Andrea which is a little smaller and located in a quiet cove on the pebbly beach .Worth a visit but for mine The Grand Timeo has more to offer .
The town itself is a bit of a tourist trap ,which is what happens to the best places in the world ,but the Timeo is an Oassis set in Heaven .

Room Tip: Room 118 which is a junior suite has a great balcony 2 French doors and a view of the bay from 300 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    21
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
184
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a few mishaps unrelated to the hotel itself and the staff went out of their way to straighten things out for us. David at the front desk was great. The restaurant suggestions and relationships Stefano had were invaluable. There are several nice hotels in town, but having 6 acres of park like setting on the cliffs along with full access to the sister hotel on the beach is a difficult combo to beat. Similar look and feel as Amalfi Coast or Dubrovnik. Expensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Taormina is a must to visit if you are in Sicily. Breathtaking views, amazing restaurants, very friendly and helpful people. The views surpass those of Cannes and Monte Carlo.

A special thank you to Luigi Russo at the Hotel Timeo who was very gracious and pleasant when my husband and I went to have a apero on the terrasse. The view is nothing less than spectacular with a view of Mount Etna, the sea and the Greek theater.

We were supposed to stay one night but extended our stay another night.

Robert and Diane (Sudbury, Ontario, Canada)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The best service ever! From housekeeping to the dining room the attention was superb. A delightful hotel in a charming location. Definitely sold me on Orient Express hotels in future - of course that kind of service always comes at a price - but well worth it. Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Timeo has always been a beautiful place. Since orient express took it over some years go, it has always improved. Everything is now polished and beautifully kept and service is exceptional. Of course prices have gone up too but the excellence never comes cheap. Brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the moment were we're met at Catania airport to the moment were we're taken back, service was outstanding.

The location is right in the centre of Taormina. Grounds are immaculate. Check-in was friendly and efficient and we were escorted to our room which was in a separate building away from the main hotel. This can be a positive (nice and quiet) but also a pain having to walk back and forth to restaurants and the pool.

The room was beautiful, well furnished and spacious. We had a lovely terrace with incredible views of Mount Etna and the sea. Small bathroom but adequate, with a shower over the bath. Air conditioning system worked very well.

All of the staff we encountered were courteous and friendly, especially the pool staff. The pool was great, regular offers of water and happy to adjust sun beds and parasols to ensure sun/shade as appropriate.

Breakfast was great, superb food cooked to order or an extensive buffet to choose from. Dinner was equally good with top service. Again, immense views from the terrace.

Immaculate gardens a pleasure to wander around. Small but adequate gym.

I would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 6 spent a few days at the lovely Hotel Timeo this week. It is located at the top of Taormina and in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen. Rather than dominating the landscape, the Timeo is nestled into the hill between the village and the teatro Greco. Once inside, the whole bay of Taormina stretches out below and Mt Etna puffs away to the right. The pool might be among the best in the world. The Orient Express sister hotel Villa Sant' Andrea is directly on Taormona Bay, accessible by a complimentary shuttle which transfers guests back and forth all day, so the hilltop location is no impediment to enjoying time at the hotel's private beach. The beach is rocky and on our day had a lot of sea jellies so it was not great for swimming. The concierge arranged a boat ride, and it was just delightful. A small tender picked us up in front of the Villa Sant'Andrea then transported us to a larger boat with snacks and drinks. The captain and guide Katia stopped in a neighboring bay so we could hop in for a quick swim in the brisk and clear Ionian Sea. She pointed out some of the natural features of the bays during the ride.
We stayed in the Villa Flora, which we found to be extremely comfortable and well-appointed. Some rooms had a small terrace withoout much of a view and one was a junior suite with sitting room below and bedroom upstairs, two full bathrooms, and of course robes, slippers, and other luxuries you expect from a first class hotel. The Villa Flora was staffed 24 hours by its own team of friendly and professional concierges who were happy to polish their (already very good) English or help us with our (very week) Italian.
The hotel staff was as impressive as the view and facilities. They were extremely professional and treated our young adult children as welcome guests. All of the staff greeted us by name.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of Taormina, in beautiful gardens, the hotel enjoys unrivalled views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, it is surrounded by stylish boutiques, cafes and cultural attractions, and has been welcoming guests, including famous artists and writers, since 1873. Its renowned Literary Terrace is an elegant place to relax and enjoy the vistas. Most guest rooms, decorated with Sicilian baroque flourishes, enjoy sea views from their expansive balconies or terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orient Express, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.