We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Save Saved
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Suites
Ranked #3 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were lucky to stay at this gorgeous property as part of a medical conference in Sicily. There are not enough superlatives to do it justice! The location is excellent at the foot of the Greek Theatre with marvelous views from Mt Etna over the sweeping bay below and the town climbing up the hillside. The rooms are so luxurious- we were in 320 which is as large as any one bedroom flat ( but without a kitchen of course!) with a walk in dressing room and wrap around balcony. Bathroom amenities made leaving it difficult! Also a decent hairdryer is provided unlike most other hotels with wall mounted or travel varieties.the chambermaids are very fastidious and the concierge and reception staff very helpful. Breakfast was a treat and here too the staff is very friendly. The pool and gym are both excellent.another advantage over many other 5 star properties is free wifi access throughout the property ( though the use of mobile phones is discouraged in public areas) All in all, if you can afford it, or are lucky enough to stay as part of a conference,this old world charm hotel with all the mod cons is an absolute must.

Room Tip: I think al rooms are lovely, having talked to other guests, but room 320 was outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    21
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
84
193
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

You can't fault orient express hotels in general this is our fifth one to try and it doesn't disappoint - the view is breathtaking over the bay and it's a piece of heaven to relax and be spoilt rotten - elegant yet relaxed you won't want to leave as it was my birthday the staff made a special effort special thanks to pancreatzio who runs the pool bar for making it extra special - if you want to spoil yourself or that special someone then GO !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed @ GHT first week in September - Our Junior Suite was large, with a lovely view of the sea. GM - Luca Finardi has an amazing team from housekeeping, front desk, to restaurant - they seem to be genuinely happy to be working there and it shows in there service delivery and interaction with clients. They are exceptional brand ambassadors for the OE brand - kudos to the Timeo Team!

If you are contemplating a visit to Taormina don't even consider any other place to stay - select GHT. After dinner, order a cocktail on the terrace and just chill.

Property is absolutely gorgeous - ask for a room over looking the sea.

Highly recommend

Room Tip: upper floor with a terrace or balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Waking up with the view of Mount Etna is priceless. The hotel is classic and it is impeccable. The breakfast is excellent, service fantastic. We are pleased!!!! We came with the kids but I would highly recommend for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room overlooking pool and water. Room was very decent size, well appointed and amazing views. Hotel setting is gorgeous. Service overall is excellent, especially housekeeping. Hung up any clothes left around. The only issue at all was I didn't think restaurant service was top notch. During amazing buffet breakfast, took a long time to get coffee. Although there was a lot of staff, seemed they were assigned to specific tables. We were a table of 9' waiter took 1 order put it in and then came back. Messed up who got what at dinner....

Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from 5 days in this wonderful hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. My luggage did not arrive with me but only four hours before I was leaving for my homeward flight. The staff were wonderful, chasing the airline daily and helping in any way that they could. Although it was out of season being the end of October and beginning of November, everything still functioned as if the hotel was busy and full. There was absolutely no drop in service. The breakfast was excellent in every way with the extensive buffet and hot ordering service providing everything that could have been desired even by me with numerous allergies.

The location of the hotel is superlative with stunning gardens, ease of access to Taormina just a three minute walk away, and the most incredible views of Etna and the coastline.

For comfort, luxury and superb service this hotel cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A grand hotel in the traditional sense. Stunning terrace with lovely view of the bay below and Mount Etna. Beautifully appointed public areas. Would be a top notch venue for a party or wedding. Very comfortable bedrooms with robes, slippers, lots of toiletries, gorgeous bedding and pillows, all spotlessly clean. I always travel with my own pillow, but definitely did not need it on this occasion. Very professional and attentive staff. Pool area good, just about large enough, luckily for us it was not so busy during our stay, but I imagine it could be very crowded when full. Ideally not a hotel for the unfit or very elderly as there are many levels and some stairs involved in getting about. We did not dine at the hotel as there is a large choice of restaurants within walking distance. However, the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#8 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of Taormina, in beautiful gardens, the hotel enjoys unrivalled views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, it is surrounded by stylish boutiques, cafes and cultural attractions, and has been welcoming guests, including famous artists and writers, since 1873. Its renowned Literary Terrace is an elegant place to relax and enjoy the vistas. Most guest rooms, decorated with Sicilian baroque flourishes, enjoy sea views from their expansive balconies or terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.