We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were lucky to stay at this gorgeous property as part of a medical conference in Sicily. There are not enough superlatives to do it justice! The location is excellent at the foot of the Greek Theatre with marvelous views from Mt Etna over the sweeping bay below and the town climbing up the hillside. The rooms are so luxurious- we were in 320 which is as large as any one bedroom flat ( but without a kitchen of course!) with a walk in dressing room and wrap around balcony. Bathroom amenities made leaving it difficult! Also a decent hairdryer is provided unlike most other hotels with wall mounted or travel varieties.the chambermaids are very fastidious and the concierge and reception staff very helpful. Breakfast was a treat and here too the staff is very friendly. The pool and gym are both excellent.another advantage over many other 5 star properties is free wifi access throughout the property ( though the use of mobile phones is discouraged in public areas) All in all, if you can afford it, or are lucky enough to stay as part of a conference,this old world charm hotel with all the mod cons is an absolute must.

Room Tip: I think al rooms are lovely, having talked to other guests, but room 320 was outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingaussie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't fault orient express hotels in general this is our fifth one to try and it doesn't disappoint - the view is breathtaking over the bay and it's a piece of heaven to relax and be spoilt rotten - elegant yet relaxed you won't want to leave as it was my birthday the staff made a special effort special thanks to pancreatzio who runs the pool bar for making it extra special - if you want to spoil yourself or that special someone then GO !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashling h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed @ GHT first week in September - Our Junior Suite was large, with a lovely view of the sea. GM - Luca Finardi has an amazing team from housekeeping, front desk, to restaurant - they seem to be genuinely happy to be working there and it shows in there service delivery and interaction with clients. They are exceptional brand ambassadors for the OE brand - kudos to the Timeo Team!

If you are contemplating a visit to Taormina don't even consider any other place to stay - select GHT. After dinner, order a cocktail on the terrace and just chill.

Property is absolutely gorgeous - ask for a room over looking the sea.

Highly recommend

Room Tip: upper floor with a terrace or balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonandNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Waking up with the view of Mount Etna is priceless. The hotel is classic and it is impeccable. The breakfast is excellent, service fantastic. We are pleased!!!! We came with the kids but I would highly recommend for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_and_pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room overlooking pool and water. Room was very decent size, well appointed and amazing views. Hotel setting is gorgeous. Service overall is excellent, especially housekeeping. Hung up any clothes left around. The only issue at all was I didn't think restaurant service was top notch. During amazing buffet breakfast, took a long time to get coffee. Although there was a lot of staff, seemed they were assigned to specific tables. We were a table of 9' waiter took 1 order put it in and then came back. Messed up who got what at dinner....

Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from 5 days in this wonderful hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. My luggage did not arrive with me but only four hours before I was leaving for my homeward flight. The staff were wonderful, chasing the airline daily and helping in any way that they could. Although it was out of season being the end of October and beginning of November, everything still functioned as if the hotel was busy and full. There was absolutely no drop in service. The breakfast was excellent in every way with the extensive buffet and hot ordering service providing everything that could have been desired even by me with numerous allergies.

The location of the hotel is superlative with stunning gardens, ease of access to Taormina just a three minute walk away, and the most incredible views of Etna and the coastline.

For comfort, luxury and superb service this hotel cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmshenley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A grand hotel in the traditional sense. Stunning terrace with lovely view of the bay below and Mount Etna. Beautifully appointed public areas. Would be a top notch venue for a party or wedding. Very comfortable bedrooms with robes, slippers, lots of toiletries, gorgeous bedding and pillows, all spotlessly clean. I always travel with my own pillow, but definitely did not need it on this occasion. Very professional and attentive staff. Pool area good, just about large enough, luckily for us it was not so busy during our stay, but I imagine it could be very crowded when full. Ideally not a hotel for the unfit or very elderly as there are many levels and some stairs involved in getting about. We did not dine at the hotel as there is a large choice of restaurants within walking distance. However, the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendyfitzmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taormina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
San Domenico Palace Hotel
#14 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel el Jebel
Hotel el Jebel
#10 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#12 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high in the rocky hills on the East coast of the island, with Mount Etna as a backdrop, Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo has always been one of the favourite destinations of both Hollywood’s and Europe’s most prominent stars; from Sofia Loren to Audrey Hepburn, from Marcello Mastroianni to Liz Taylor. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, the hotel was first built in 1873 and is surrounded by a six-acre park and magnificent gardens where the panoramic pool is located. Widely considered to be the most luxurious hotel in Taormina, it boasts 70 splendid rooms and suites, each decorated in a fresh Sicilian style that blends modern innovation with local artisan traditions. This historical hotel is well known for its “Literary Terrace” which has always been a preferred meeting spot for illustrious guests thanks to its breathtaking panorama. Dining facilities include the Restaurant with an enchanting view of Mount Etna combined with typical Sicilian and Mediterranean cuisine. The Pool Restaurant offers brick-oven pizza, a salad buffet and freshly caught fish, it is the perfect place for a light lunch or a snack. The wellness centre offers signature treatments made from local flowers and fruit essences. A fitness centre and a panoramic swimming-pool are also available Guests can benefit of the complimentary shuttle to the private beach at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea, in Taormina Mare, boasting new exclusive cabanas, as well as the daily mini-cruise by private boat to explore the beauties of the coast (available during summer). The Smile Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available at sister property Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea to entertain the younger guests with lots of fun and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing