We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo to your Saves list
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't fault orient express hotels in general this is our fifth one to try and it doesn't disappoint - the view is breathtaking over the bay and it's a piece of heaven to relax and be spoilt rotten - elegant yet relaxed you won't want to leave as it was my birthday the staff made a special effort special thanks to pancreatzio who runs the pool bar for making it extra special - if you want to spoil yourself or that special someone then GO !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    23
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
223
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed @ GHT first week in September - Our Junior Suite was large, with a lovely view of the sea. GM - Luca Finardi has an amazing team from housekeeping, front desk, to restaurant - they seem to be genuinely happy to be working there and it shows in there service delivery and interaction with clients. They are exceptional brand ambassadors for the OE brand - kudos to the Timeo Team!

If you are contemplating a visit to Taormina don't even consider any other place to stay - select GHT. After dinner, order a cocktail on the terrace and just chill.

Property is absolutely gorgeous - ask for a room over looking the sea.

Highly recommend

Room Tip: upper floor with a terrace or balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Waking up with the view of Mount Etna is priceless. The hotel is classic and it is impeccable. The breakfast is excellent, service fantastic. We are pleased!!!! We came with the kids but I would highly recommend for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a room overlooking pool and water. Room was very decent size, well appointed and amazing views. Hotel setting is gorgeous. Service overall is excellent, especially housekeeping. Hung up any clothes left around. The only issue at all was I didn't think restaurant service was top notch. During amazing buffet breakfast, took a long time to get coffee. Although there was a lot of staff, seemed they were assigned to specific tables. We were a table of 9' waiter took 1 order put it in and then came back. Messed up who got what at dinner....

Otherwise great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from 5 days in this wonderful hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. My luggage did not arrive with me but only four hours before I was leaving for my homeward flight. The staff were wonderful, chasing the airline daily and helping in any way that they could. Although it was out of season being the end of October and beginning of November, everything still functioned as if the hotel was busy and full. There was absolutely no drop in service. The breakfast was excellent in every way with the extensive buffet and hot ordering service providing everything that could have been desired even by me with numerous allergies.

The location of the hotel is superlative with stunning gardens, ease of access to Taormina just a three minute walk away, and the most incredible views of Etna and the coastline.

For comfort, luxury and superb service this hotel cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A grand hotel in the traditional sense. Stunning terrace with lovely view of the bay below and Mount Etna. Beautifully appointed public areas. Would be a top notch venue for a party or wedding. Very comfortable bedrooms with robes, slippers, lots of toiletries, gorgeous bedding and pillows, all spotlessly clean. I always travel with my own pillow, but definitely did not need it on this occasion. Very professional and attentive staff. Pool area good, just about large enough, luckily for us it was not so busy during our stay, but I imagine it could be very crowded when full. Ideally not a hotel for the unfit or very elderly as there are many levels and some stairs involved in getting about. We did not dine at the hotel as there is a large choice of restaurants within walking distance. However, the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has it all: gorgeous property, stellar service, prime location, breathtaking views of Ionian Sea and Mt. Etna. The beach at its sister hotel to which we were driven daily was comfortable and had beautiful swimming waters as well as lovely outdoor lunch facility. I will return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo

Address: Via Teatro Greco 59, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taormina
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#8 Family Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the centre of Taormina, in beautiful gardens, the hotel enjoys unrivalled views of the coastline and Mount Etna. Adjacent to the Greek Theatre, it is surrounded by stylish boutiques, cafes and cultural attractions, and has been welcoming guests, including famous artists and writers, since 1873. Its renowned Literary Terrace is an elegant place to relax and enjoy the vistas. Most guest rooms, decorated with Sicilian baroque flourishes, enjoy sea views from their expansive balconies or terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Travelocity, Priceline, Belmond, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Taormina
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Timeo
Timeo Hotel Sicily
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.