We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes to your Saves list
Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Umberto 154, Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stunning View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

It's a lovely boutique hotel. In order to reach to the hotel, the Taxi will take you through narrow roads until you are at the door steps of a building that does not give you the impression of what is waiting for you. The view from the terrace is Stunning! the rooms are excellent, with same view. The location is great. You are in the middle of the old Taormina. It was our first destination in our trip to Italy that stretched to COMO and was fabulous.
Don't miss the famous Sicilian Gelato and the famous Sicilian Cannoli.
The Hotel restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms on the sea side are great, they do offer rooms with private Jacuzzi on the terrace, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    38
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
19
104
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have eaten breakfast here. Have had lunch here. Dinner here. Cocktails here. A coffee here. Attended jazz concerts here. The only thing I've never done is sleep here. Much to my regret because it is as close to a perfect place as one is likely to get. Just walking around induces slack-jaw, it's so visually astonishing. And the service and friendliness is incomparable. Every detail is perfectly addressed. If I didn't have friends here THIS is the only place I'd even consider staying. Treat yourself. Come for just a look. You'll come back over and over and over again. Just like me.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was newly renovated and is quite beautiful. the rooms are magnificent - best shower of our trip. The view from the balcony is out of this world. You are right in the centre of town. Infinity pool was fabulous! Breakfast was lovely overlooking the water. Here are the negatives: The rooms don't have any form of soundproofing. It is very loud and they have live music playing late at night that we heard in our room! Don't expect a beach! They have shuttle service to any of the public beaches but they are all ROCKS, you have to pay for your chair, you are subject to all the people getting in your face offering their services. Not where we wanted to be, so after spending 2 hours we left and never returned. Finally, while trying to be very boutique like, we found the staff to be very uppity. The reception desk is manned by "models" that seemed very beautiful but very unfriendly. the owner was there every night holding court, but on one occasion when we approached him he walked away, like he was too good to talk to us. Not sure if I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just spent 4 days at this hotel. We had fantastic service, a fantastic room and great breakfast. My partner has to eat gluten free and they went to loads of trouble to ensure she had fresh bread and other items of the highest quality. In fact the bread was the best she has ever had! Staff collected us from the main road when we arrived and parked the car. after that everything we needed was organised for us. We were driven to the beach and all advice for a successful stay was available. a fantastic relaxing stay with an amazing view.

Room Tip: Pretty much all rooms face the sea and we were upgraded. We got a four nights for three deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I got married in Taormina in September 2012. We stayed for the week of our wedding at the Hotel Metropole. We had a fabulous stay. The location is perfect, being in the very centre of Taormina, with the main entrance on the Corso Umberto itself, near the main piazza. The panoramic views are stunning and made for excellent wedding pictures on the balcony of our room pre-ceremony.
The room we stayed in was spacious and modern. The cleaning service was excellent. One thing we particularly enjoyed was the breakfast- there was a wide variety of pastries/yoghurts/fruits, etc on a buffet and, along with that came a freshly-cooked hot breakfast and fresh coffee. All of this on the terrace with the wonderful view- it was really idyllic.
To stay at the hotel is not cheap but, having looked at a number of good hotels, I don't think it is over the odds really.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We spent some days this september in taormina. First the weather was perfect, sunny every day. The service in the restaurant was just to say friendly, fast and we didn't even wanted to leave the hotel. Its a beautiful location, the few from the terrasse of the restaurant: you cant get it better!! A big compliment to the kitchen, for the creative, made with love amazing food! I travel a lot, i know what is good food, and this place will see me again and again...
Hopefully i will have time soon to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Coming by car to this lovely hotel can be challenging. The main entrance is on a street forbidden to cars. The small garage is on a different curvy road. Once we found the place we were greeted with drinks on the beautiful scenic terrace. The women at the front desk were most helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were modern and comfortable. The swimming pool overlooks a gorgeous setting. Dinner, drinks,and spa treatments were a bit costly but other options are right outside the door for the more price conscious. We took some great tours which the hotel arranged for us. Overall once we got settled this was a wonderful hotel.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes

Address: Corso Umberto 154, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Taormina
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Taormina Maison d`Hotes Hotel Taormina
Metropole Taormina Maison D'Hotes Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Taormina Maison d'Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.