We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sicilia, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legendary Sicily

Legendary Sicily
salita de luna | n°10, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942620061
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Legendary Sicily offers daily tours to the Etna Vulcano.Pick-up from your hotel.Drive up an old lava flow by 4wd jeep.Stop to enjoy the beautiful panorama of the Bove Valley.Visit cave originated by prehistoric lava flows.Trekking on old craters dating back from 1865.Visit the lava flow originated from Piano Provenzana in 2002.Pick-nic.The tour continues through off-road paths to reach the two little towns of Linguaglossa and Castiglione.Visit the Alcantara Gorges. Return to the hotel.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sicilia, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was a first for me in Sicily. June 2013. Beautiful sunny skies everyday. Wonderful and friendly people. So much history and artifacts to explore. Visited most of the cities around the island. Grape vine fields, olive farms and citrus. Enjoyed playing 4 friendly soccer games with the locals in Messina, Catania & Ribera. Just an overall great experience and a nice place to visit where uninhabited beaches (although lots of flat stoned beaches) are yours to explore.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Giardino Naxos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Taormina is different town to be visited. On the top of a hill overlooking the ocean is an unforgetable sightseen. Giardino Naxos is a nice place, mainly the hotel that we stayed, Giardino Naxos Hotel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We got a taxi to taormina from Messina where our cruise ship was docked. It is a fantastic place with wonderful views of Etna and the coast.
The ancient greek amphitheatre is very busy and has an entry fee.
We found a beautiful hotel just below the theatre and enjoyed a relaxing drink and wonderful views from the terrace.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mt. Etna Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked with Eddy of Legendary Tours for an Off-Road Etna Alcantara jeep excursion. Eddy was unable to escort us and sent another guide, Alfio, to pick us up at our hotel in Taormina. We met up with fellow guide Francesco and the people in his jeep and the six of us (plus guides) had a marvelous adventure. Mt. Etna had been active a few days before we got there, so there was much lava rock on the roads and around the towns. On the way to Mt. Etna, we stopped at various sites and learned about previous volcano eruptions, and also stopped by the destroyed ski station of Piano Provenzana which had a significant eruption in 2002. They are currently rebuilding the site, but not in the scale it once was. Anyway, our guides were terrific and they suggested we stop for lunch at this farmhouse and have a home cooked meal served family style. We absolutely loved the food, enjoyed getting to know the people we met on the tour - ate too much, as usual - and would recommend this off-road tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Taomina - A Magical Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is one place in Sicily not to be missed. It is steeped in history with the impressive Greek theatre. The public gardens designed by an English lady are amazing. What a joy to visit the small Anglican church where so many famous people have worshipped. It is just a beautiful and magical place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legendary Sicily also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Legendary Sicily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legendary Sicily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.