We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, just terrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ciampoli

Ciampoli
Salita Ciampoli, 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
+39 0942 23802
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Gourmet Restaurant Ciampoli of the Hotel El Jebel of Taormina offers you the best dishes of a rich à la carte menu, conceived and prepared by our talented chef, an unrepeatable experience that will inebriate you with the famous aromas of traditional Sicilian cuisine.The wines, selected from prestigious Sicilian, Italian and international wine cellars are combined with fresh, first-quality ingredients, the only way to transform romantic dinners, working lunches and special events into unforgettable memories.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible, just terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the worst food we've had in Taormina. We tasted four different dishes and they were equally tasteless. The consistency of the food was probably due to microwave warmup of leftovers and the pasta was not al dente, but overcooked and mushy. When we came to the place (an evening in July) the place was totally empty, this was a warning sign that we ignored to see. The service of the restaurant was good, though, and we got our money back for the main courses that we hardly ate of. Do stay away from this place, it's not only over-priced but a real tourist trap.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteCiamp... T, Responsabile reception at Ciampoli, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear visitor, many thanks for your time spent to write your first and unique review on tripadvisor. Having read your comments it is impossible not to point out how during the length of time from you specified (an evening in July) our restaurant has never been empty (high season in Taormina). Then we believe that your comments referred to a different place and was wrongly forwarded to us.

Anyway, just to clarify: you mentioned that you had four different dishes and they were equally tasteless. Would be a “bit” more helpful and of course faithful to know what dishes you had. After that, we do not use any microwave and we do not serve any pasta not al dente, but vice versa we have troubles sometime because our pasta is too “al dente” as Italian style! Finally you named us as a tourist trap, but in a sincere manner we believe your review is the real tourist trap!

We hope that in the next future you will pay more attention to your reviews, in order to address them correctly, Thank you and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    16
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apt, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and pretty poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Judging by the fact the place was nearly empty in the height of the season I think we were not the only ones to find this place pretty awful. Poorly prepared and poorly executed dishes. Over salted risotto and overcooked fish. Just basic errors so typical of many restaurants here in Taormina. However when those errors come with a near €200 price tag for two it's time to say something is wrong. How this restaurant has the reviews it does currently is a compelling mystery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb combination of cuisine and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Relaxed and entirely professional service followed by superb cuisine. Started with the tartare and the crispy prawns and moved on to the lobster ravioli and lamb cutlets. We felt as if we were in Morocco except for the view of the Ionian coastline. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stay at the El Jebel and we dined three times at the Ciampoli. The food is great, very testy and nicely presented. A special note for the wine list - very good selection of wines at good prices. The service is excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely romantic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were most impressed with Ciampoli. The roof terrace setting was probably the best in Taormina. The service was personalised from start to finish. The food was high class and presented well. We ordered the prawns and fois gras to start, both of which were fantastic. We then ordered the lobster ravioli which was divine. We would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Taormina. The waiters, Saroj and Marco, we're also great and bought a personal but professional touch to the evening which we haven't experienced yet in Taormina.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciampoli also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Ciampoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciampoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.