We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The locals rave about this restaurant so it must be good !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Da Giovanni

Ristorante Da Giovanni
Via Nazionale Isolabella, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
094223531
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 200 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chowder
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“The locals rave about this restaurant so it must be good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

All your latest reviews agree : unpretentious, amazing value for money, family run ( and the Chef, Giovanni, comes to the table with your hot dishes straight from his blazing ovens) , family friendly - there are tables where families have their bambinoes in high chairs - and excellent views. The sea food pasta is to die for !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    60
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chambly, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great location , superior service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very good restaurant , simple. But with huge big portion , and with very good tast for crab penne m Scaloppina al lemone , mixt grill .... Etc

Strongly recommanded ...


And the view ........ Wowwwwwwwwww!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice sea front location but the food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Depending on which hotel you are staying it is more than likely you will to take the cable car down to this restaurant. It has a nice position with a view of Isla Bella. We had reserved a table but when we turned up there was some confusion which eventually got sorted out. It is more of a rustic restaurant and it feels like you are amongst the locals. The service felt a little that way to! We didn't rate the food as good as a numb of othe restaurant we had used during our stay and rate this one at the bottom of list (along with our second visit to Cinque Archi).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely family restuarant and good food, the best meal we had all week. Served by a delightful young waitress. The sea food starter was fabulous. Good house wine. Very reasonably priced. Give this restaurant a try, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant on the sea front overlooking Isola Bella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We walked down to this restaurant from our hotel pool are at the Grand Miramare, a 15minute walk downhill on good paths and steps. We had researched this restaurant on Trip Advisor and it was well worth our 2 lunch time visits. Fantastic view overlooking the bay and Isola Bella. The manageress was very welcoming and service was very good. On our first visit we had meat and cheese anti pasti and grilled vegetables to share, very nice. Just right for lunch. We enjoyed it so much we made a second visit, this time opting for the seafood pasta and mussels both of which were once again excellent. Feeling very satisfied, we then caught the funicular back up to Taormina to continue our afternoon round the pool. This Restaurant also looked like an excellent choice for an evening meal. Well recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Giovanni also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Ristorante Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Da Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.