We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, good location, friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Costanza Bellavista

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Costanza Bellavista
Save
You added Villa Costanza Bellavista to your Saves list
Via Otto Geleng 40, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Yackandandah
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, good location, friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Villa Costanza is really an apartment rental rather than a hotel, which means that you get some additional facilities and a little bit of extra space. First, the Villa Costanza apartment is located well, with a five minute walk to the one end of the main (pedentrianised) road.

the apartment itslef has an amazing view - particularly towards Etna and south down the coast. the apartment we had was fairly small and the furnishing are not luxurious, but they are perfectly fine for what you need. And considering that most accomodation in Taormina is fairly expensive, I think the Villa Coastanza is good value.

the hosts were very nice, and if you have a car with you, then you should take note that there is off-street parking available!

We stayed in Taormina for the last few days before Christmas and it was like a picture-postcard - you really couldn't imagine a prettier place. Yes it is touristy, which means the prices are high but if you limit yourself to buying only a few trinkets it's fine - otherwise it is a must-see destination.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a week in Villa Costanza in July 2010 and wished we had booked it for longer. Unlike most of the other apartments we had found in Taormina, Villa Costanza offer a decent size swimming pool and free cark park, which was very handy, being parking impossible to find in Taormina. This made our life much easier. The pool was very well kept and surrounded by a luscious flowers and plants. Our apartment wasclean and had anything we could possibly need. It had a large balcony overlooking the sea and Mount Etna, which was marvellous at night.
The centre of town if about 5-7 minutes walk and we glad not to be right in the centre as it seemed very crowded and noisy at night. After spending a night out, we were glad to walk back uphill to enjoy the peace and quiet of our apartment.
We would definitely recommend Villa Costanza and we have already made a provisional booking for next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My family and I stayed at Villa Costanza Bellavista during the week of June 26 to July 3rd and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The marvellous week we spent at Villa Costanza was unquestionably the highlight of our 3 week stay in Sicily and Southern Italy!

The villas at Costanza Bellavista have a lot of great things going for them and they provide incredible value:

1) Located just a few minutes by walk to the center of Taormina where you can find alll the fine restaurants, gelaterias and pastry stores.
2) From the villa’s balcony and terrace you have a truly breathtaking view of the Ionian Sea and the Etna volcano. The views are actually even better than what you can see from the pictures on the web site!
3) The owner (Antonio Cappello) and his family live right next to the rental villas. Antonio is a true gentleman in every sense of the word. He is very welcoming and helpful but he is also unintrusive and really respects your privacy so that you really feel at home in your rented villa.
4) The villa is surrounded by lush flower gardens and fruit trees which are well groomed and well cared for. The gardens provide a real oasis of peace and freshness all around the villas with all their luxuriant colors and fragrant odours (bougainvillea, jasmine, oleander, geraniums, olive trees, orange trees, lime trees, …).
5) There is a good sized pool which is very clean, located on the terrace and also surrounded by flower gardens and fruit trees. The pool and sundeck area is great for taking a refreshing dip or simply to lounge around, suntan and soak in the beautiful views.
6) The villa is located just a few minutes walk from a foot path which can take you straight up to lofty Castelmola in about 30 minutes if you are physically fit and enjoy some good exercise. I made this walk part of my daily routine before breakfast!
7) The apartments are very comfortable and very well equipped for self-catering. In the kitchen you will find everything you need to make yourself a meal (whether simple or more elaborate). This was very convenient for us as we alternated between eating out at restaurants and making our own nice Italian meals which we could enjoy from the comfort of our private balcony with its delightful views.
8) The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning units work well. This is especially important if you visit Sicily in the warmer months as we did. In the heat of the Sicilian summer some of the evenings can be very warm and the air conditioning will help to ensure that you get a proper night’s rest.
9) Parking is included with the villa. This is a real bonus if you plan to come by car, as parking is quite expensive in Taormina. Since a car is definitely not needed within Taormina itself, it is great to be able to just park your car at the villa and do your visiting of Taormina on foot. However, a car comes in very handy for sightseeing outside of Taormina.


From the comfort of our rented villa at Costanza Bellavista we had a truly marvellous week in Taormina! My two teenage daughters (aged 15 and 18) were absolutely delighted with the shopping along Corso Umberto in the multitude of jewelry, clothing and shoe shops. They also really enjoyed going down to town in the morning to pick up some fresh pastries for our morning breakfasts.

When we first arrived in Taormina by car, we did have some trouble finding the villa. Both the integrated GPS in our car as well as our portable Garmin GPS got completely confused in the hilly regions of Taormina and failed to give proper directions. After a quick phone call to Antonio, he was nice enough to offer to come and meet us with his car and escort us straight to the villa. What a nice welcome into Taormina for us.

We stayed in the Panoramica apartment which was spacious enough for our extended family of five (myself, my wife, my two teenage daughters and my mother-in-law). For our evening meals, we alternated between eating out at the restaurant and eating-in. There are two food markets located within easy walking distance of the villa where you can pick up everything you will need (fruits, vegetables, cheese, meats, bread, coffee, good Sicilian wine).
The main supermarket (Taumarket) is located at 19 Appolo Arcageta (near the corner of Corso Umberto). There is also another smaller market which is located closer to the villa and which is just as well stocked. It is located on the corner of Vico Pollibio (as you go down the stairs of this small alleyway you will come face-to-face with the market). We found the people at the smaller market so helpful and friendly that we went only to that one after comparing the two.

The villa provided a very good base for a few daily excursions which we found the time to squeeze in. Among those was driving up to the top of mount Etna (Rifugio Sapienza) and from there taking the cable car to the summit where we could walk to the top of Etna and see the still smoldering craters. A must see if you come to the Taormina area!

If you plan to drive to Taormina, please be aware that driving in this area (as many other areas in Southern Italy) can be challenging at times. The roads can be narrow and there can be sharp turns and inclines at times. I was able to manage just fine even with a larger car (a Citroen minivan), but it did require some concentration and some assistance from my passengers. If you are looking for a completely stress free holiday, then you may want to opt for a chauffered transfer from the airport. As you really don’t need a car in Taormina itself this will simplify your life, and you can do your sightseeing using the many organized bus tours which leave from Taormina itself. There are several tourist shops in town who will gladly book a bus excursion for you and your family (Etna, Aeolian islands, Alcantara, Palermo, …).

After our arrival, my youngest daughter developed a severe earache and we started searching for a clinic to have her examined. Yet again, the Cappello family came to our rescue! When we inquired to Antonio’s mother about where to find a clinic, we had the pleasant surprise to learn that her husband is a doctor at the hospital in Taormina and that he could personally examine our daughter. A few minutes later, Dr. Cappello arrived home and greeted us in his home where he examined my daughter and promptly prescribed the required medication. Two days later, our daughter was in top shape!


As far as going to the beach is considered, you can easily reach Mazzaro beach without needing a car. From the villa, we walked down to the funicular (cable car) located at Porta Messina (about a 10-15 minute walk down Corso Umberto). From there, the cable car had us down at the beach in a jiffy with beautiful views of Taormina on the way down. At the beach we rented some chairs and umbrellas and good a decent group rate for our group of five (40 Euros for the day, including access to changing rooms and showers). At the beach, we were solicited by a young man to go on a boat tour of the Taormina area (Isola Bella, Grotta Azzura, Letojanni, Mazzaro Bay). We decided to go on the tour and really did not regret it. It was absolutely fabulous and I would highly recommend it. There is a company of 4-5 associates at Mazzaro Bay who each operate a boat and provide tours to the Blue Grotto (Grotta Azzura) or more complete tours like the one we did. Ask for Carmelo at the Mazzaro Bay beach and you will be sure to get the same great tour that we had. He speaks excellent English and provided great explanations and commentaries along the tour.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Villa Costanza Bellavista is situated on a hill just a little bit out of Taormina (about a ten minute walk). It's a small group of apartments, three on the top floor, one for hire on the middle floor (the other on this floor belongs to the apartment owner) and one on the ground floor. I've holidayed there several times now and really enjoyed it. The views from the balconies are every bit as good as on the website and the apartments are basic but comfortable with everything you're likely to need for a self catered stay including a shared washing machine. It's on the same end of town as the only supermarket which helps with the self catering arrangements - you can pick up what you need as you head out. The walk out from town is also very pleasant along a residential street lined with bougainville although it's worth being aware that you have to go up a short but very steep hill just past the supermarket (you can take the steps but they are also steep) and a steepish flight of steps down to the apartment block itself. And if you are arriving in Taormina by car I'd advise parking up and walking the route before you drive it, it can be a bit difficult to find. But there is parking on-site and it's all included in the cost which is a boon in this area.

In terms of the apartments themselves, they are very pleasant. They are spotlessly clean and if you stay more than a week they are serviced on a Saturday morning. The balconies are also well equipped for both relaxing and eating and have awnings if you want to avoid the real heat of the sicilian sun. They aren't overlooked by anyone outside of the apartment block, but on the top floor the three balconies are sort of linked, although you can just get on with your own thing. The apartments also have a swimming pool which is small but always clean (except the day after a big storm!!). There is a sort of a terrace for sunbathing beside the swimming pool with lovely views and permanent sunshine. The terrace at the back is small but very well kept and lovely and quiet and green with a few tables. This can be particularly pleasant in the heat of the day since it's shady and cool. It's also very handy having the owner on site, his english is pretty good and he's willing to answer questions and make recommendations which is nice. But he's not intrusive and mostly it's just a wave and a 'good morning'.

Finally the beds are nice and comfortable and there's plenty of storage space in the bedrooms for bags and clothes. The apartments also have proper aircon which is very important in the heat of a sicilian summer and means you can get a good night's sleep even on the hottest nights.

I've very much enjoyed staying here. If you're a luxury hotel type it might not be for you. But if you enjoy relaxing in pleasant surroundings and having your own space this is the place to stay.

Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Costanza Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Costanza Bellavista

Address: Via Otto Geleng 40, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Costanza Bellavista These holiday apartments located in the historic Sicilian town of Taormina have on-site parking, a swimming pool and terrace with a spectacular view of Mt. Etna, an active volcano, and the Ionian Sea. Residence Bellavista has six modern fully furnished residences each with living room/dining area, bath, kitchen, bedrooms, air conditioning, satellite TV,wifi, marble floors, and a terrace in a garden setting. Also, there is a swimming pool open from May 15th to October 31th, parking area, and laundry for use by the residents of the holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Costanza Bellavista Hotel Taormina
Villa Costanza Bellavista Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Costanza Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.