We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

One of the top 5 hotels I've ever been to (and I've been to 200+).

For those who have been to Charleston SC, I'd compare this to Zero George.

It has a B & B feel with big hotel amenities.

I believe they only have 10-15 rooms.

Rooms were well-appointed, beautiful, and comfortable. All the bells and whistles.

Bathrooms were some of the most gorgeous I've ever seen (Devon and Devon appliances).

Only negative: the bathroom, while gorgeous, had plumbing issues.

Not necessarily a negative, but know before you go: very hard to find!!! It took us an hour to find the place. Do not use GPS.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    51
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
273
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Charming boutique hotel in the heart of Taormina. We booked directly through the hotel and got a cheaper price compared to the most common hotel booking portals.
The hotel is located on the main street. It is a pedestrian-only area so it requires some 200-meter walk, but the staff gladly came to the parking lot to get our luggage. The parking fee is 15 euros per day.
The room (we took a classic room) was comfortable and clean, sat-tv and any kind of amenities available as promised. The only thing that can be improved is the air-conditioning, as it can be a bit noisy.
Breakfast is very good, especially from an "Italian" standpoint, the "international" breakfast selection can be improved, though basic things like eggs and hams are available.
No pool on site, but the hotel has an agree with a beach club: 20 euros per person (that includes beach towels, access to pool and beach, sunbeds, parasols and most importantly the shuttle bus to/from).
Beautiful view from the terrace on the top floor!!
The staff was fantastic, always available for tips and directions.

Definitely recommend!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It was in a perfect location, quiet, luxuriously appointed, spotlessly clean, and the view from the roof top terrace spectacular. We were not in Taormina in summer so we were not interested in a pool or the beach. We to wanted to be in the nicest area and close to "the action" being restaurants, bars, shops and main attractions. All of these were right outside the hotel.

Breakfast consisted of a buffet with everything we could think of on offer. A hot breakfast cooked to your requirements is also provided.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

El Jebel offers a great location and extremely comfortable rooms. Very family orientated as well as for couples. Great views of Taormina and the coastline. Rooftop restaurant is a must if staying there. The staff were very friendly and felt right at home immediately. Very helpful staff in assisting in planning our days. Very much worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited in April, a two night stay before exploring the rest of Sicily. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bathroom a good size and well appointed. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, giving good local recommendations and driving directions. It's a bit annoying having to park away from the hotel itself but the building is lovely and quirky and this balances it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miesbach, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel this spring and we were delighted with the beautiful accomodation and very friendly staff. Maybe just one thing that could have been better - the roof top terrace is amazing, but unfortunately not used (at least not off season, maybe it is different in summer) - it would have been a real treat to be able to dine there, with a view over the city and the sea ...

Room Tip: Book a Suite on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful place in June 2014. The hotel has about 10 rooms which ensures you feel at home. The decor and furnishings are tasteful and luxurious. The hotel restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast and we ate dinner there one evening, beautiful food and such a romantic setting on the roof terrace with stunning views of Etna.Antonio and all the staff were sol helpful and friendly and nothing ever seemed too much trouble. I messed up our transfer to the hotel but they had someone with us within 30 mins. Taormina is a fantastic location and everything is close by.
We will return to Taormina and there is no where else we would stay, loved it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#4 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#11 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 89 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#28 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#13 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.