We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel - Got Married There And Loved It All!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Save Saved
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 88 hotels in Taormina
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel - Got Married There And Loved It All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I got married there last summer and loved every minute of our stay. We basically booked out the whole hotel for a week and all the staff, especially Antonio, were unbelievably helpful and accomodating.

The big day itself was magical, helped by the wonderful setting, beautiful hotel and amazing staff who became our friends in the end. Would recommend this hotel 110%.

We all wanted to do different activities and see different sights and the staff were more than happy to help organise any trips for us.

We checked out 6 different hotels before we decided on Hotel El Jebel and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    36
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
221
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a delightful visit to Taormina. The hotel and the staff at the hotel really made our stay special - very welcoming and service oriented. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The views are fantastic. Centrally located just off the Corso Umberto for easy access to the sights, dining and shopping. Excellent breakfast. Be sure to have a drink on the roof terrace or stay for a meal, you won't be disappointed! Can't wait to visit again! All the staff were fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ended our stay in Sicily with two nights at el Jebel. From the moment you walk through their door, you can feel the care given to every detail. Our room was decorated in a Moroccan motif. It was truly spectacular and as comfortable as it was beautiful. The staff was exceptional and we were especially thrilled with Evelyne, our server at breakfast; as she was always happy to help us with our Italian. The hotel is a true gem, and I recommend it to all who travel to this wonderful hilltop city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

At the end of a family tour of Sicily we had the pleasure of spending five nights at the El Jebel. It was the perfect end to an amazing trip. The hotel is a great blend of an historical building with all of the modern touches. The location, the rooms, the breakfast and the restaurant are all superior. The views from the rooftop terrace are amazing, don't miss having dinner or drinks up there.
However, what really makes this hotel is the staff! The entire front desk staff, lead by Antonio, are incredible. They go out of their way to welcome you and are very knowledgeable of Taormina and the surrounding areas. I have traveled a lot in Italy and they are the best I have ever encountered. But it doesn't stop there. Everyone from the housekeepers, the breakfast/restaurant staff and the bartenders are top notch. They all treat you like family. After a long day of touring this beautiful area, we looked forward to returning to our "home away from home."
I would highly recommend this hotel....it earns all five of its stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at the el Jebel, and it is as close to perfection as we have ever found. The staff was gracious, professional, and always helpful. From restaurant suggestions to ongoing lessons in the Italian language, they were always a pleasure. The rooms are large and comfortable, as are the beds. The breakfast is the best you will find. And although we never tried the restaurant (despite some gentle encouragement by the concierge), we ran into a couple leaving as we returned from dinner the last night we were there. They proclaimed the restaurant to be the best in Taormina. Based on our experience with the rest of the property, I'm sure their assessment is accurate. Highly, highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went here after our wedding in malta, kind of like a honeymoon but with 15 other family members. We were the only ones in our group staying at el jebel and while we were happy everybody came to taormina it was nice to be able to have somewhere to relax after our big days. The staff were amazing and made us feel more like family then guests. Our room was always being cleaned whenever we left, even after a siesta we would go out and come back to a clean room. Breakfast was really nice and we also had dinner in the restaurant one night, on the rooftop, a seafood degustation! It was amazing! Would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mdina, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to have our second tour of Sicily. It is the most beautiful island with Italy’s best cuisine, wonderful beaches and stunning scenery. Our first stop was El Jebel and we fell in love with this delightful hotel and all of the excellent staff. It surely justifies its current status as one of the top Small Luxury Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#6 Family Hotel in Taormina
#12 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.