We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Save Saved
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Cadier en Keer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in may and we not as positive as the rest of visitors.
To start with the positive: the staff is great. I contacted the hotel the day before and the offerd me the service to contact them as soon as I had arrived in the parking to send someone over to pick our lugage en support us t the hotel. We got a very warm welcome at the frontdesk. My laptop couldn't get a connectopn to their network so the tried to help me for half an our and when this didn't help I got a mini laptop from their desk (taht's what I call service). They also provide you with a map with the landmarks you should visit. The view from the top of the hotel is amazing
The breakfast and diner (one time) is excellent. The location is great: at the beginning of the shoppingdistrict and close to restaurants and bars.
What did I miss? I think a 5 star L hotel should have more amenities. There seems to be a pool a the beach but this wasn't open (and there was no alternative). The don't have a fitnessroom.
Further on we had a room on the second floor. The waterpressure wasn't that good and is has no shower. The room is also very dark. n the pictures we saw better alternatives.

Room Tip: Book a room on the highest floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    36
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
62
224
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had problems and they were fabulous in helping. Room was a Jr Suite and it was large and the bathroom was great with two sinks and a tub over 6 feet long. Biggest TV in a room I have ever seen. At least 60". Good food and friendly staff. Good location but have them tell you where the garage is to drop the car and they will come and get you.

Room Tip: Only 11 rooms so ask for what is important to you....the view, size, etc. Big price difference for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was married in Palermo(11th may) and wanted to treat my wife to something special for the wedding night,and this was my choice,and boy what a choice.
Now the only problem with this hotel is you have a 5-10 minute walk from the multi storey car park.Where the hotel is situated you have to walk down the main street where cars cannot go so don't be put off by this.The hotel is situated of the main street but looks beautiful.From reception you get the feeling you have made a good choice,you get to go in the glass elevator lol.
The room was magnificent and stylish,we were giving a bottle of prosecco for a wedding gift which was a lovely touch.When you enter the room,you are greeted with a huge screen tv,dvd,as well as a sofa and huge bed.The bathroom was really beautifully decorated,dual sinks toilet and bath.To say the least,we had an amazing night...
Breakfast was equally as good,my wife had the omelette,2 to be precise and I had the poached eggs and bacon,and the an omelette,all with a nice glass of prosecco lol.
In the morning when we woke,we discovered a small puddle of water coming from the bath,i called reception and within 2 minutes,no im not joking,2 workers had come up to fix the problem.
I would give this hotel 10 out of 10 for everything,the views from the room were awesome,nothing can be faulted from start to finish.Taormina is beautiful and amazing,i wish we could have stayed for longer but we had to go back to palermo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I would give this hotel 10 stars if I could! I agree with other reviews that it is tough to find as they are located in the pedestrian area. Mario found us and guided us to the parking lot and from there it was sheer bliss. Well actually not because our Hertz rental car died in the parking lot. This is where El Jebel's staff totally shined. They spent hours and hours on the phone for us working to get a new rental car while we enjoyed Taormina. we got a new rental car by that evening! That is SERVICE! Antonio was incredibly gracious, professional, reassuring, kind just simply wonderful. Guiseppe walked me back and forth a couple of times as we wrangled with Hertz. We were upgraded to a junior suite and I disagree that accommodations were dated. The room was gorgeous, the only place with double sinks, beautiful linens, tons of storage and a spectacular view of the bay. My husband is 6'6" and loved the tub. I loved the rainhead shower head and finally my hair was clean because the water was perfect!

We loved breakfast as many items were made to order, cappucinos delicious. We dined at the restaurant and had a lovely meal with attentive service. We loved the hotel so much we tried to change our itinerary to stay longer, but unfortunately we could not, I was very sad to leave Hotel El Jebel. The architecture is interesting, they retained the outer appearance of old, but thoroughly modern and exquisite inside. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disapppointed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really wanted to love the El Jebel but a few things held me back. Of a 5-star hotel, much is expected, and for the most part, EJ delivered. The location is perfect, absolutely perfect. On the main pedestrian shopping street, Corso Umberto, and in Taormina, it doesn’t get any better than that. The downside, it was really hard to find and a bit of a nightmare to drive to even using the hotel’s directions which proved to be inadequate. If you are heading there, park in the public lot at the Parking Garage Porta Catania
and walk up the hill through the small piazza and gate. We ended up asking a taxi driver, the incredibly helpful Carmelo, to lead us there. The hotel is just along on the left past the Municipal building.
The rooms were fine, but my cousin’s Junior Suite had a bathtub with a hand-held wand, no shower… not what we expected in this price range. They were scrupulously clean, and kept up twice a day. The halls are dark, at least on the second floor, and the furnishings are fine, if a touch dated. There was a lovely terrace just off the elevator on the second floor, which was delightful, and the rooftop terrace was fantastic. The views from everywhere were spectacular. The restaurant and bar were very fine. The young bartender and server from Sri Lanka was a delight, so personable and helpful. The dishes were all fresh and perfectly prepared. The wines were well chosen. The price point was a little high and we noticed that the restaurant was not well used. The breakfast was very good with a smallish selection of offerings but there were included menu items, like an absolutely perfect omelet and other egg preparations, and a Sicilian meat and cheese platter.
Our flight out was quite early, and the staff managed us and all of our luggage very efficiently at 4:00 in the morning for which we were grateful. I would stay at the El Jebel again but I would have a better idea of what to expect.
I really wanted to love the El Jebel

Room Tip: Room 201 is a good choice: access to a semi-private terrace and a shower with a rainhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last summer for cousins wedding and the hotel has its own unique ring to it. The only thing that would make it better would be if there was a pool. Otherwise lovely had an amazing time. It was awfully hot so a pool would have been nice. Breakfast was delicious with so much variety of food
The staff were very helpful and were willing to help.
The hotel was in a good location as it wasn't too far to get to restaurants and the town square
Getting down to the beach was easy via the cable car.
Staying here was definitely the best holiday I've had as the whole family was there for the wedding and it was definitely the best big family holiday we have had!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

El Jebel is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. We are experienced travellers and this hotel stands out of the pack. It is a boutique hotel with outstanding decor, excellent service, and perfect cleanliness. The staff made us feel as though we were part of the family. If we were to return to Taormina, it would be to stay at El Jebel. It is a hotel not easily forgotten.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#6 Family Hotel in Taormina
#12 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.