We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Save Saved
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Taormina
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The service is great. All the staff are happy and friendly and no request is too difficult. The rooms are clean and bright, the only complaint is the water can go cold when having a shower. Also our room had too much furinture. The location is good for shopping and eating in the winter, as closer to the beach most resturants and shops are closed. We had a hire car for the week to travel the local region and there is a multistory car park about 200 meters away, very convenient. A very small hotel with big service in a very beautiful town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    35
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
206
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We visited beautiful Taormina and for one week our second home was this fantastic hotel. At arrival the staff pick up us from the parking lot, then after some prosecco wine as welcome drink, we were taken to the most beautiful room we ever stayied in our all life! We booked a deluxe junior suite, no words to describe the views from Sicilian sea and mount Etna and the beauty of the room. The staff is amazing, we can not thank them enough, Tony, danielo and carmelo from reception, evel and dario from breakfast, Nice People and always professional. We felt at home and we had the best holiday ever!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

EL JEBEL is the best hotel We've ever stayed at. The location of this hotel is great. It is not on the beach but then we just enjoyed our way to the sea because the way passes though amazing streets of Taormina. There are a lot of good reustorants around. Our room was luxurious and comfortable at the same time. And there were a lot of small things which made our stay in the hotel really pleasant :a chambermaid bringing sweets every everning and unmaking beds, a set for a bathroom which surprisingly included many of things, best cleaning and other... We like so much that there were not a lot of other guests and everyone from the staff was very attentive to us. Guys at the front desk Antonio and Danilo were so friendly and ready to help with any request we had. The same friendly attitide we met during the breakfast thanks to Eveline.Breakfast with shampane was great...Nice atmosphere and smiling stuff put us in a good mood every day. We had very special time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very small hotel, it has just about 8 rooms if I'm not mistaken, located in the center of Taormina. The rooms are very different, but very nice - spacious, clean, with all modern amentities and nice view. If you travel by car, the best way is to leave it at Porta Catania parking, and the hotel provides you a discount parking voucher, which is very helpful. The portier will help with luggage, and the nicest lady at reception will give you all the necesary information and recommendations about Taormina. We didn't have a dinner at the hotel, as it seemed too "haute quisine" for us, but don't miss the rooftop terrace! Even if you don't have a dinner there, just go for an evening drink. It is never crowded as the hotel is really small, so there is a chance you'll be there alone. Ask for a bottle of champagne from the bar, lit the candles, and you will have the most romantic evening with gorgeous views over Taormina and Etna!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent one night in El Jebel in Taormina in October. We had a really nice time. The staff was very friendly, and they gave us a good recommendation for restaurants.
The room was very nice, clean and elegant with the modern decor all in white color.
The bathroom was beautiful. The bathtub and the shower amazing too.
Also, the view from the restaurant/terrace was beautiful with the Etna, the city and the sea.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I went to a conference in Taormina but decided not to stay at the sprawling San Domenico Palace. Instead, I discovered this little gem of a boutique hotel - a few steps off of the main drag, Corso Umberto I.
There's a fabulous glass elevator with a view of the city and the water, and the roof top terrace is a great place to get some sun during the day or have a drink in the evening. While I didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast was great and the serving staff very attentive.
I stayed in the Casablanca Suite - spacious, with advanced lighting switches and a large bathroom - the windows opened to a lovely view over the square towards the water.
I would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A modern, stylish luxury hotel with great bedrooms and large bathrooms in the heart of Taormina. Unobtrusive, professional service from friendly staff. Roof-top terrace for sunbathing and evening drinks. Smart bar with a starred restaurant - the food is modern Sicilian but a bit pricey. Nice wine list. We ate there once. There is a good choice of traditional restaurants in Taormina. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily
Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taormina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#6 Family Hotel in Taormina
#12 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.