We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

EL JEBEL is the best hotel We've ever stayed at. The location of this hotel is great. It is not on the beach but then we just enjoyed our way to the sea because the way passes though amazing streets of Taormina. There are a lot of good reustorants around. Our room was luxurious and comfortable at the same time. And there were a lot of small things which made our stay in the hotel really pleasant :a chambermaid bringing sweets every everning and unmaking beds, a set for a bathroom which surprisingly included many of things, best cleaning and other... We like so much that there were not a lot of other guests and everyone from the staff was very attentive to us. Guys at the front desk Antonio and Danilo were so friendly and ready to help with any request we had. The same friendly attitide we met during the breakfast thanks to Eveline.Breakfast with shampane was great...Nice atmosphere and smiling stuff put us in a good mood every day. We had very special time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    42
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
245
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very small hotel, it has just about 8 rooms if I'm not mistaken, located in the center of Taormina. The rooms are very different, but very nice - spacious, clean, with all modern amentities and nice view. If you travel by car, the best way is to leave it at Porta Catania parking, and the hotel provides you a discount parking voucher, which is very helpful. The portier will help with luggage, and the nicest lady at reception will give you all the necesary information and recommendations about Taormina. We didn't have a dinner at the hotel, as it seemed too "haute quisine" for us, but don't miss the rooftop terrace! Even if you don't have a dinner there, just go for an evening drink. It is never crowded as the hotel is really small, so there is a chance you'll be there alone. Ask for a bottle of champagne from the bar, lit the candles, and you will have the most romantic evening with gorgeous views over Taormina and Etna!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent one night in El Jebel in Taormina in October. We had a really nice time. The staff was very friendly, and they gave us a good recommendation for restaurants.
The room was very nice, clean and elegant with the modern decor all in white color.
The bathroom was beautiful. The bathtub and the shower amazing too.
Also, the view from the restaurant/terrace was beautiful with the Etna, the city and the sea.
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I went to a conference in Taormina but decided not to stay at the sprawling San Domenico Palace. Instead, I discovered this little gem of a boutique hotel - a few steps off of the main drag, Corso Umberto I.
There's a fabulous glass elevator with a view of the city and the water, and the roof top terrace is a great place to get some sun during the day or have a drink in the evening. While I didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast was great and the serving staff very attentive.
I stayed in the Casablanca Suite - spacious, with advanced lighting switches and a large bathroom - the windows opened to a lovely view over the square towards the water.
I would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A modern, stylish luxury hotel with great bedrooms and large bathrooms in the heart of Taormina. Unobtrusive, professional service from friendly staff. Roof-top terrace for sunbathing and evening drinks. Smart bar with a starred restaurant - the food is modern Sicilian but a bit pricey. Nice wine list. We ate there once. There is a good choice of traditional restaurants in Taormina. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived late evening. On arrival shown to a jnr suite that we had booked. I did not like it, the air con was noisy and there was no separate shower .... the view was not that good. They offered us to upgrade for a price. Showed us another suite(for which we paid a supplement). But wow what a difference. Nice sized room with small separate sitting area. Good size bathrm with separate toilet and shower. The view was lovely. The bed was hard like we like it. Hotel location was PERFECT. Parked at the public carpark and they sent someone to take our bags and show us the way. The breakfast was ok nothing special... kind of the Italian norm.... oh but it did include eggs made anyway you want, which is a nice additional touch

Room Tip: I think our room nbr was 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. We had read some of the reviews about the parking issues but we had no problem. We called the hotel once we parked in the parkade and they sent someone out immediately to help us with our luggage. They walked us to the room and showed us how to use the room card system features (music in bathroom, main room tv etc) I was really wowed...what a view of the sea and Mt. Etna. The breakfast (included) was great! Eggs to order and lots of other fresh yummy food. We also had dinner here one night, unfortunately it was raining so we couldn't eat on the rooftop terrace-the food was wonderful and the service was as well. We finished our evening in the library bar next to the restaurant. My only regret is that we didn't spend more time here! We loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#7 Family Hotel in Taormina
#12 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.