We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things come in small packages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel el Jebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel el Jebel to your Saves list
Hotel el Jebel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
New York City, New York
1 review
“Good things come in small packages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I went to a conference in Taormina but decided not to stay at the sprawling San Domenico Palace. Instead, I discovered this little gem of a boutique hotel - a few steps off of the main drag, Corso Umberto I.
There's a fabulous glass elevator with a view of the city and the water, and the roof top terrace is a great place to get some sun during the day or have a drink in the evening. While I didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner, the breakfast was great and the serving staff very attentive.
I stayed in the Casablanca Suite - spacious, with advanced lighting switches and a large bathroom - the windows opened to a lovely view over the square towards the water.
I would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    42
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
245
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A modern, stylish luxury hotel with great bedrooms and large bathrooms in the heart of Taormina. Unobtrusive, professional service from friendly staff. Roof-top terrace for sunbathing and evening drinks. Smart bar with a starred restaurant - the food is modern Sicilian but a bit pricey. Nice wine list. We ate there once. There is a good choice of traditional restaurants in Taormina. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived late evening. On arrival shown to a jnr suite that we had booked. I did not like it, the air con was noisy and there was no separate shower .... the view was not that good. They offered us to upgrade for a price. Showed us another suite(for which we paid a supplement). But wow what a difference. Nice sized room with small separate sitting area. Good size bathrm with separate toilet and shower. The view was lovely. The bed was hard like we like it. Hotel location was PERFECT. Parked at the public carpark and they sent someone to take our bags and show us the way. The breakfast was ok nothing special... kind of the Italian norm.... oh but it did include eggs made anyway you want, which is a nice additional touch

Room Tip: I think our room nbr was 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. We had read some of the reviews about the parking issues but we had no problem. We called the hotel once we parked in the parkade and they sent someone out immediately to help us with our luggage. They walked us to the room and showed us how to use the room card system features (music in bathroom, main room tv etc) I was really wowed...what a view of the sea and Mt. Etna. The breakfast (included) was great! Eggs to order and lots of other fresh yummy food. We also had dinner here one night, unfortunately it was raining so we couldn't eat on the rooftop terrace-the food was wonderful and the service was as well. We finished our evening in the library bar next to the restaurant. My only regret is that we didn't spend more time here! We loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived in Taormina and were met in the Piazza Del Duomo by the hotel porter who carried our bags some two hundred meters or so, then up a flight of stairs to the Hotel lobby. What a beautiful hotel in a lovely location. We were greeted by Antonio with big smile and a warm welcome. Our room details were confirmed and the hotels facilities explained. Our room was on the Second floor overlooking the Cathedral. Beautiful room, beautiful view. On a B & B basis the hotel provides a Continental style breakfast with an optional cooked menu at no extra cost. Evening meal can be had on the roof top restaurant at an additional cost but well worth it for the quality of food and the view.
The hotel doesn’t have a pool, gym or spa etc but there are arrangements with other properties if you want to make use of these things. The hotel has access to several beach facilities we thought the best of these was down adjacent to the Isola Bella the Mendolla beach club, Yes you have to pay for the sunbeds and take your own towels or haggle with a vendor near the beach to buy some.
Taormina is a beautiful town with a lovely night life where walking up and down the Corso Umberto, people watching appears to be a local tradition.
If you are looking for a sophisticated hotel, with a fabulous location, fantastic food and attentive, unobtrusive, polite and helpful staff. In our opinion you should try the El Jebel We don’t think you’ll be disappointed.
This hotel does what it says in their brochure “It makes you feel calm and relaxed” just what we needed having travelled the length of Italy.
A BIG BIG thank you to Antonio and his staff in making the final destination of our Italian trip so enjoyable, we WILL be back!! :-))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the El Jebel in Taormina for one week and can recommend the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautifully fitted out and is located right in the heart of Taormina so is ideal for the shops and sight seeing. No pool, a set of steps up to the front door and no gym might not be your cup of tea, but that apart it really is a super place to stay. Sicily itself needs to be explored and the staff at the hotel will arrange everything for those day trips out to Mount Etna etc. Dining on the roof top terrace with Etna as a backdrop made diner and very memorable occasion. The food is right at the top end quality and price wise but nonetheless most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with my BFF in early August, and we both enjoyed the hotel tremendously!
Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main street of Taormina, El Jebel offers a tranquil escape from the massive amount of tourists. Its location can't be any better, we were able to go back to the hotel to drop things off or take a rest in the middle of the day.
We tried the rooftop restaurant for dinner and the view was simply breathtaking. The food was also excellent, being a little bit of a fusion style. After checking out menus of the other restaurants in town, we decided to stick to El Jebel's rooftop restaurant every night for the rest of our time in Taormina because the price is better than any restaurant in town, and the quality as well as the atmosphere is unbeatable.
Besides excellent decor, comfy linens, free and fast WIFI, good locations, etc., what really makes El Jebel so unforgettable is its staff. Everyone is so professional and friendly, among them, Julia and a gentleman from Nepal (sorry for forgetting his name), would go out of their ways to ensure your happiness.
The only tiny complaint about the hotel is that its associated beach club doesn't quite live up to the quality of the hotel itself. Indeed, we were there probably during the busiest time of the year, the beach club was at its maximum capacity with too many people, children, and the facilities seemed a bit run down.
Other than that, El Jebel is a perfect dream that I would love to return again and again, and would highly recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel el Jebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Jebel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Taormina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#12 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel el Jebel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel el Jebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Jebel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel el Jebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.