We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panoramic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Panoramic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Panoramic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale, 196/B | Loc Isola Bella, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #10 of 88 hotels in Taormina
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfecto...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We've come to the end of our weeks holiday
From the moment we arrived the staff were very warm and welcoming...this continued throughout the holiday, nothing was too much trouble.
The view from our room was magical, looked straight onto Isobella Island, the room was very clean and comfortable with good air conditioning ...which is a must! A room on the 3rd floor might have been better as the only problem was noise from the road and room above.
Great pool, with a fantastic view across the bay.
Hopefully we will be back.☺

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    529
    116
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
172
369
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, a few practicalities. The Panoramic Hotel is separated from the beach in Taormina by a road and a railway line. In August, Taormina is heaving with people, so the whole vibe is crowded and noisy. The best way up into town from the beach area is via the cable car, for which there are 30 minute queues at going out time (c. 7pm) in the evening.

But, as long as this sounds OK to you, the Panoramic is GREAT. The rooms are modern and airy with lovely (noisy!) balconies. Every room has a spectacular view over the Isola Bella. The air conditioning works well and the double glazing keeps out the noise when the balcony door is closed.

The roof top pool is a real haven, very relaxing. We were travelling with four teenage sons, who enjoyed the uncrowded pool as much as the couples and families with small children who were our fellow guests. Food-wise, we enjoyed a couple of really nice lunches by the pool, and the buffet style breakfast worked well too.

The very best thing about the Panoramic is the staff, who were without exception friendly and helpful. The guys on the front desk gave us some great restaurant recommendations, and encouraged us to take the transfer to a lido just out of town, which gave us an alternative, better value beach option to the packed beach infront of the hotel. We were made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better. (We were on the second floor of three.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having had a dark, small room at our previous stop, we were pleased to find this the opposite - our room was very clean, plenty big enough for two people, and had a lovely balcony overlooking the stunning bay.

The breakfast was great, the staff were friendly and the pool was welcoming on those hot afternoons!

A little pricey perhaps, but you're paying for the location (on the waterfront, close to the cablecar to the main town) and it's well worth it as a treat!

Room Tip: I think all rooms have balconies overlooking the water, so it's hard to imagine there is a bad c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Panoramic Hotel was a beautiful, small hotel which lived up to its website! The staff were very genuine, friendly and helpful and arranged for a taxi (the driver told us all about the island) to collect us from the airport. Positioned conveniently near to the cable car at Mazzaro beach, it was perfectly placed for a great holiday in Taormina. The family room on the first floor was perfect with two rooms and two bathrooms and a lockable partition door for privacy. The balconies overlooked the lovely Isola Bella which was stunning. The only possible negative was that the road was a little noisy although this could not be heard with the doors shut and did not distract at all from the holiday experience. The pool was not too deep and was the only pool I have been able to get in without moaning that it was cold. We also often had the pool to ourselves as the hotel was not too big which was lovely. Basically, nothing at all to moan about!

Room Tip: If you have a family then the family room is perfect, otherwise choose a room on a higher floor away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Lancs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel. The views from the rooms are amazing. Pool and bar quiet and staff exceptionally friendly. Plenty of sun loungers and pool area is spotless. Breakfast was excellent. Good choice of coffee and cold dishes and staff on hand to help you. I think the hotel only has 23 bedrooms but it really doesn't feel small. There is loads of space. Less than five minute walk from cable car to Taormina. That runs unto 1 a.m so no problem having dinner etc. in town. We went in August and both Taormina and Taormina Mare were exceptionally busy. So the calm of the hotel was a wonderful relief. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views but the higher the floor the better. The road is busy and noisy if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I must stress there is not enough space to compliment the staff of this hotel,, the service and atmosphere from the moment you check in makes you feel welcome ..Thank you All !!

The hotel is located in a perfect location , the balcony views of Isola Bella are as the post card images , 6am walk down to breakfast room and meet the most generous happiest staff member of all Gabriela !! Top Man my coffee was ready as soon as I walked in ,, then the second one was ready to take to my room to drink on the balcony viewing the amazing miles of clear sea...then as we strolled down for breakfast table was set and coffee was on stand by ,, or the Bucks Fizz chill in on ice - if you fancy it..

The hotel is very clean , breakfast was to a very high standard buffet with all cold meats and breads cheeses, sweets ,toast , eggs ,fruit was available all day also the hot buffet of sausages,bacon tomatoes etc...

drinks coffe , teas , and all the juices you required ..to the start the day ...

The terrace pool was superb with great views , no issues with sun beds , showers available on the decking area to keep cool,,as well as a bar for cold & hot drinks as and when required..

5 mins walk and you reach the cable cars which take you up to Taormina centre which has a wide variety of restaurants, bars & shops galore ,, 3 euros per person each way on the cable cars however buy a week pass for 30 euro's and go up and down as many times as you like !! obviously depends on how long you are staying,

Mount Etna tour with a private wine tasting at Gambino family wine plantation is a must !!

the wine tasting was not like any other they would leave you the bottle to taste at your leisure by the end we had a bottle of each wine they produced ( over 5 varieties with lots of nice cheeses and meats to really taste which wine went well with which dish )..

The beach is 5 mins walk from hotel although mainly pebbles buy suitable water shoes 5 euros from the nice man on the steps down and you will be fine ,,,however been mindful of the steep steps "going down not an issue" climbing back up after a day of Kayaking is proper hard work on the legs !! but worth it ..

Plenty of bars and restaurants on beach area providing drinks and food ..

We would like to thank the staff for the wonderful time we had in this great hotel! Their friendliness was incredible! Especially Gabriela nothing was any trouble with world cup footy on --- the TV would be turned around for me to view on the comfortable terrace furniture area with the beers flowing without the need for me to ask. ..once he knew your favourite tiple the drinks would come plentiful,, even if you had not ordered which made you feel welcome each drink came with some wonderful sicilian dish of bruschetta or olives , peanuts , crisps ,pineapple etc... ,,,I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone as the service was 5*

if i was to pick a negative there is no gym however after talking to the manager apparently planning permission is in place and is just waiting on the legal sign off -- being Italy nothing is of urgency !!

However the steps to beach and back make up for the exercise !!!

The area Taormina centre is the perfect location for families and couples as you have the bars and restaurants , shops and culture Greek Amphitheater very close by and also if you want the late nights cable cars are very handy - last 1 leaves around 1am back down ,however taxis are available from the top if you do miss the last car down !!

Must also try the Champagne bar on the main strip each drink is complimented with a plate of sushi on the house ...

We were a family of 3 -- We would all recommend this hotel to all our family & friends and will definitely stay at the Panoramic Hotel on our next trip to Sicily .

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view at present ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is awesome. It looks out on Isola Bella, and is a 5 minute walk from the cable car to Taormina. There is onsite parking in a garage at the hotel, which is very convenient. Check in was easy, and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Our room had a balcony that looked out on the beach and Isola Bella.

After checking in, we spent a great day in Taormina by walking to the cable car, and taking the scenic ride up the hillside. We had a lovely lunch in town, and toured the Greek Amphitheater, which was amazing.

The pool at the hotel is a great place to relax after touring Taormina. We spent the afternoon ordering beers and snacks, looking out at Isola Bella, and talking. The hotel was happy to make dinner reservations for us.

We were really impressed by how the hotel handled our breakfast the next morning. Because we had to catch an early ferry in Messina, they prepared two breakfasts to go, which were a lot of food (boiled egg, yoghurt, juice and more). The breakfasts were ready when we checked out. The staff could not have been more helpful.

We will definitely stay at the Panoramic Hotel on our next trip to Sicily. In fact, we'll probably use it as our base for exploring the northern coast of Sicily.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panoramic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale, 196/B | Loc Isola Bella, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taormina
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
#14 Business Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panoramic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panoramic Hotel in Taormina in Sicily certainly lives up to its promising name. The breakfast out on the balcony with the breathtaking view alone is worth the trip to Sicily.The rooftop terrace with the swimming pool at the romantic beach hotel in Taormina offers guests an even broader view of the truly dreamlike surroundings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Panoramic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panoramic Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panoramic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.