We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarage hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel Taormina

Save Saved
You added Continental Hotel Taormina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Taormina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dionisio I nr. 2/A, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is quite avarage but it somehow the best one can get in such an expensive location at a convenient price.
My room was furnished with very old stuff; the bathroom was tiny, unconfortable with a little shower that fitted me just because I'm a S-size! The most annoying thing was the shower tent which glued to my body every time I took a shower!
Despite all that I had a balcony with a view on the Etna volcano...but it was from the wide common terrace that the view was absolutely stunning!
The staff was friendly and helpful.
They had an exceptional shuttle service to 2 beaches: € 8-10 journey-back + longchair and umbrella on the beach!
The location is charming: by a few stairs you are in Corso Umberto, the very heart of Taormina. Anyway a taxi or private car is required to reach the hotel if travelling with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    114
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
119
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently visited Taormina which is an amazing place on top of a hill overlooking the sea and Etna. As such, it is supposed to be probably the poshest place in Sicily. Hotel Continental was the most economic option, yet it was exactly what we were looking for. It is true that it is a basic hotel, with mediocre rooms and no real decoration or character. Yet it has an amazing terrace where you can also have breakfast and a very very helpful personnel. osomeone who wants to experience a posh lifestyle, the Exelsior palace in Taormina would definitely be better, yet for us who wouls rather stay in a basic hotel in Taormina vs a better one in Catania or Messina, it was an ideal option, To note that parking in Taormina is forbidden everywhere for non-residents and you have to allow for an extra ~10Euros for overnight parking in a big parking lot. The hotel has no parking, yet they give you a stamped token that you stayed in the hotel whihc entitels you to 40% dicount on the parking

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The attentive and cheerful receptionists made good for the occasional shortcoming, minor of room service. (Nothing that couldn't be resolved at once.) Breakfast service and choice are commendable.

Steep slopes where the hotel is built means that rooms' location and privacy may vary considerably (check this out while booking or ask for room change if this matters and you aren't satisfied). It looks like having grown into a medium sized hotel over the years while maintaining a family style of operation - not quite easy obviously.

While staying there for 5 days and walking all of Taormina and nearby places, it became obvious to us that you'd have to pay a lot more for any place of similar value and charm, the splendid view of Mount Etna from the main terrace and (on cooler days) the lounge being a joy if not surprise each time. So I surely hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night. The first thing that struck me was that it seemed I walked back into the 1960s with the decor. I don't think this is intentional, it just needs to be updated. It did appear worn throughout. There is AC in the rooms and Wi-Fi only in the lobby area and part of the bar/terrace. The hotel is at one end of the main walking thoroughfare through the old city. There are quite a bit of steps to navigate to get to this area, so the handicapped should look elsewhere. The terrace has good views of the bay and of Mt. Etna on a clear day. Breakfast is coffee, juices, yoghurt, cereals, canned fruits, and bread stuffs. Basic and of mass production quality. If you got a good deal, it would be reasonable to stay, but I'd probably look for other properties if I returned.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed here one night on our way to Siracusa. Really liked Taormina overall, a bit on the jet-set side, but a pleasant stay none the less. The hotel was a nice property. Since the hotel is built on the mountain side, you enter at the top and then take the elevator or steps down to your rooms. I had a nice room with a terrace view of Mt. Etna, which had the audacity to erupt two days after we left. Sheeeeesh! Nice hotel with a gorgeous terrace off the bar on the main level. We were able to get some great shots of Mt. Etna with the sun setting behind it and the steam coming off the mountain. Since we stayed here as part of a tour, I am not sure what the room prices are like. However the rooms were fine, clean and reasonably sized for Europe. Great buffet breakfast, best we had on our tour. Bar, but no restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Continental Hotel is a good hotel in a great position in Taormina. We booked the hotel within two weeks of travel and there were no rooms left with balconies and views which was a shame but the rooms we had at the back of the hotel were still good, basic but very clean and although the shower was small as mentioned in other reviews the water pressure was good which is more important. The Reception staff were friendly and helpful especially Sebastiano and the young girl who works there (didn't get her name). The breakfasts are nice with plenty to eat. The biggest draw to this hotel though is the fanatastic roof terrace which is a large terrace overlooking Taormina to the front, Mount Etna to one side and the hilltop town of Castelmola at the back. The terrace is furnished with chairs and loungers....and the views are wonderful from every angle....day and night. You can cut through the garden of the hotel to reach the main street Corso Umberto which makes the hotel ideally situated. When we come back to Taormina we will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The rooms are very clean, the staff goes above and beyond to help in any way, the breakfast is outstanding, the views from the enormous lounge and huge fabulous outdoor rooftop terrace are very picturesque and the price is very reasonable, what more could one ask for! We stayed there 3 nites and during our stay we meet a Rick Steve's traveling group who also enjoyed the hotel. If you enjoy sipping wine on the terrace, you are able to bring your own bottle and don't worry if you do not carry a wine opener, the staff at the front desk with do it for you!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continental Hotel Taormina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Taormina

Address: Via Dionisio I nr. 2/A, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Hotel Taormina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, courtesy and willingness to satisfy our clients’ requests are the strong point of the hotel. Whoever chooses Hotel Continental chooses tradition, tranquillity and the certainty of receiving first-class individual treatment.This warm and welcoming hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just a few steps from the hotel you will find the main street Corso Umberto and the Duomo square. Those who love Taormina can easily reach their favourite shop, restaurant or pub by using the hotel’s practical garden gate exit.There is a splendid view to be enjoyed of the bay of Naxos and Etna from the solarium terrace which will leave you bewitched.Bedrooms have bath or shower, telephone, mini-fridge, electronic safe, centralised air-conditioning, TV with satellite channels, hairdryer. Most have private balconies or small terraces.Internet point in the lobby and WIFI connection free of charges in the lounge-bar and terrace.From May to September, there is a shuttle-bus (to pay on spot) service to the beach, which connects the hotel to the main bathing lidos on the seashore."Porta Catania Park" is a multi storey car park close to the hotel only 300 meters from the property.Extra charge fee requested to be paid on spot.We accept major credit cards, including the Japanese circuit JCB cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Continental Hotel Taormina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Taormina Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel Taormina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.