We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, nice and very cheap, great solution for an alternative dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Da Cristina

Da Cristina
Piazza del Duomo | Via strabone 2, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
+39 094221171
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Bakery, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Tortona, Italy
Top Contributor
1,405 reviews 1,405 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
605 helpful votes 605 helpful votes
“Cozy, nice and very cheap, great solution for an alternative dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

A few meters away from the central square of the fountain in Taormina, a simple and convenient take away pizzeria, perhaps the best way to cut the cost of a expencive dinner at the most of restaurants in town.
All in all the pizzas were good, fast service and wide choice. It was nice to eat the pizzas sitting on the stone benches at the front church during a lovely evening, watching the people walk and the beautiful fountain in the center of the main square.
I will definitely come back again to try their famous arancini.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    153
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great geniune food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Perfect quick lunch spot with friends or family.

I make sure I visit every time im in Taormina, The owners are great down to earth people and the food is super!. make sure you try a slice of homemade pizza and a pistaccio arancina.

Delicious!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally or unintentionally discovered this place while wandering around. What a discovery! We had a couple slices of pizza which were amazing. A lot of tourists wouldn't leave the "main street" to find this spot. And if they did they would find excellent pizza by the slice at a price that cannot be beat. We paid much more elsewhere in Italy for less memorable pizza. We had the pepperoni and the eggplant pizza. I felt like I was eating at a truly local place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma Italy
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed tasting four different kinds of rice balls and couldn't decide which was more delicious. Excellent arancini as well as excellent service. Bravi!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Arancini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here during a very busy Sunday afternoon after a morning at the beach and to start it was a bit difficult to order considering the amount of people shouting out their orders. I only know a little bit of Italian and an even smaller amount of Sicilian but we got by and the people who worked there were very friendly, patient and helpful even with the crazy crowd of people so it was a good experience. We had 3 Arancini and it was such a satisfying meal. We ordered one Al Sugo, one Pistachio and the 3rd was a cheese I can't remember the name exactly. My favorite is the Al Sugo but I'm partial to anything with a tomato sauce in it. All three were very tasty. Perfect inexpensive midday snack.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Cristina also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Da Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.