We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tie for best in Taormina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Giardino

Al Giardino
Via Bagnoli Croci, 84, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
+39 0942 23453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Windermere, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tie for best in Taormina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

we arrived at this restaurant during a deluge and were told they were full BUT they took pity on us and put together a small table for 4. the food was wonderful as was the house wine and the hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    123
    30
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, English Spoken Well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent several days in Taormina, Sicily, Italy in September. This restaurant was within walking distance from our hotel so we ate there several times. We enjoyed excellent food and there was even impromptu street-musician entertainment that was excellent. If you tire of Southern Italian cooking (yes, it could happen on a lengthy trip!) you can order a steak here that is flavorful, tender and served with roasted potatoes and a veggie....not the usual Ala carte. It wasn't a thick steak and don't know what cut it was but it was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, delicious food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A lovely meal for our last evening in Taormina at this charming family run restaurant. We had a beautiful caponata, a local pasta with pistachio pesto and red prawns(delicious), veal in Marsala and grilled large prawns rounded off with the best cannoli we've had ever! Thank you so much.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh homemade Sicilian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We returned twice to this restaurant as the food was so delicious- I had their speciality dishes if cheese balls and then their mussels in the most divine sauce - I highly recommend this place and price for Taormina is very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This meal was a big dissapointment. Nothing on the house. The Food was very hars, probably made in very old oil. The vegetables was taken from a can. We would be better off eating at the supermarked. Stay away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Giardino also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Al Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.