We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay with stunning terrace view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Turchetti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Turchetti
Save
You added Casa Turchetti to your Saves list
Salita dei Gracchi 18 / 20, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 84 Taormina B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Luxury stay with stunning terrace view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

For our first visit to Sicily, we wanted a special place to stay in the heart of Taormina, with a view. Casa Turchetti delivered, big time. Their terrace is incredible - whether in the evening for a glass of wine or for breakfast, truly stunning.

Breakfast on the terrace includes quite a spread of food offerings, with a focus on local Sicilian items.

Location is perfect, up a flight of stairs on a small side alley, very close to the action of Taormina, but quiet at night. Not a budget stop, but worth every Euro for an experience never to be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
79
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Casa Turchetti is a beautifully maintained house, renovated with great taste and attention to the history. The house has all the comforts and the hosts - signora Francesca and family - are simply perfect. The hosts are there for you all the time, and make you feel very special. Signora Francesca never misses an opportunity to go out of her way to make everything work perfectly. Strongly recccomended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot on business and have stayed in five star hotels in Asia, Europe and the States so I know what I'm talking about. In every other hotel I am anxious to get out and explore the city but when my wife and I checked in at Casa Turchetti I lost interest in touring around....I just wanted to stay on the terrace, eat, read and admire the view and enjoy the hospitality.

Everything everyone said in the last reviews is accurate, so no need to repeat all that here. Suffice to say that it's like staying at home (except your home is now elegant and beautiful) and being waited on hand and foot by your parents (except your parents aren't asking you to pick up after yourself.)

Do yourself a favor and book a couple of nights at Casa Turchetti.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Sadly we were only able to stay for three nights as the hotel had only just opened for the season. We were the only guests. Staying at Casa Turchetti was like being invited to stay in a family home. Pino & Francesca welcomed us warmly and were rightly proud to show off their beautiful hotel and engage us in the details of its loving restoration. Our room, like a lot of the other rooms, was named after a musical instrument- Flauto. Like all the other rooms, it was gorgeous and overlooked the quiet stairway a few paces from Taormina's mainstreet.. The bed sumptuous, the bathroom decked in marble and plenty of space for clothes in the lovely antique furniture. Attention to detail was faultless.

Pino and Francesca could not have been more welcoming. They insisted on seeing to our every need. They recommended places to go and eat (it is bed and breakfast only) and Pino suggested a short-driving tour up into the foothills of Mount Etna. Francesca spoke more French than English and was happy to teach us a little Italian and some Sicilian.

Breakfast. What can we say? Even though we were the only people staying, Francesca had baked two of her famous cakes for us and the rest of the buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghourts, cold meats, Sicilian cheeses, olive bread, wholemeal bread, biscuits was a wonder to behold. Francesca brought endless capaccino and fresh orange juice to our lace-tableclothed table on the roof terrace with a beautiful view over Taormina's roof tops towards Mount Etna.

We were very, very sad to leave Casa Turchetti and Francesca seemed equally so (Pino having been called away to Palermo). It's the only hotel I have stayed in, where I have felt it totally appropriate to give the proprietor a kiss goodbye on leaving.

If you're thinking of going to Sicily, go to Casa Turchetti; you won't be disappointed. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

On arriving at Casa Turchetti the difference between other estabishments is apparent right away - from the hand restored music school to the welcoming personal touch that Francesco & Pino make in every way, all of it goes to an experience of genuine hospitality rarely experienced when travelling.

The rooftop terrace is magic, with views to Etna, Giardinidi-Naxos and the Teatro Greco, experienced both at breakfast and at pre-dinner drinks. To experience a Taormina away from the crowds you couldn't do better than Casa Turchetti, although the main street is only a few minutes away. We've been missing the excellent breakfast and the home cooked cakes ever since we left! The spacioius beds and quiet position also go a long way towards a good nights sleep. Loved the Sicilan mangoes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Superbly and painstakingly restored property in an ideal location inspired by the drive and enthusiasm of the owners, Francesca and Pino. The result is stunning - wonderful standards of comfort and cleanliness matched by amazing hospitality and al fresco breakfasts on the rooftop terrace to linger long in the memory....and what views of Mount Etna!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at Casa Turchetti for 8 nights in April. This establishment is owned and operated by Pino & Francesca and their loving touch is evident in EVERY aspect and attention to detail that this little gem is.
Situated in the heart of centro Taormina in the old city, justa few steps from the main street, yet hidden from the confusion of everyday traffic, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.
A converted convent, as well as the allied headquarters during World War II, this B&B was lovingly restored by the owners Pino & Francesca, Who are the most gracious hosts you could EVER find.
We were treated more like family than clients, and they were the most solicitous proprietors of ANY hotel or B&B we've been to.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Turchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Turchetti

Address: Salita dei Gracchi 18 / 20, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Turchetti owes its name to the “Maestro Turchetti” who was a great musician that first held his lesson in the house and later turned it in a very important School for Musicians in Taormina .Not far from the gourgeous panoramic “Belvedere “ square , and just upon it , the house is situated in the heart of Taormina , almost in the middle between Porta Messina and Porta Catania. In all rooms well restored it’s possible to feel the characteristic atmosphere of the late 1800’s houses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Turchetti Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Turchetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.