We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Da Rita Di Bille' Sas

Osteria Da Rita Di Bille' Sas
Via Calapitrulli, 3, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
0942/680888
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 221 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Small Place with ony a few tables inside. Really good Bruschetta! Big Portions of Pasta. The Carbonara was just great, but couldnt even finish the half of it. Tasty housewine and no coperta!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    76
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Without doubt best value in town. Nothing fancy, just well cooked and tasty food with lovely friendly service. It may not be haute cuisine but we ended up having lunch here followed by two evening meals. Sadly they don't do desserts here but if you time it right Roberta's pasticceria is almost next door! I agree with the comment about the price of coffee but this is slightly offset by the lack of cover charge. Having got rather tired of the repetitive menus of local restaurants Rita's was a breath of air. And I would suggest that two cannolini, one enormous and tasty salad and a litre of wine for 36 euros is excellent value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hearty, Southern Italian, home-cooked food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Having eaten in many of Taormina's posher establishments and leaving feeling underwhelmed, for the most part, Osteria Da Rita was a god send. The food is proper "come cucina la nonna" (how Grandmother cooks) Southern Italian food, mounds of pasta covered in deep red sauce with lovely fresh ingredients. The bruschette were astounding, granted not the most complex dish, but they managed to work so many different flavours into it, including some chili to give it a bit of a kick. Hands down the best bruschetta i've ever had. The meatballs were awesome, as was the tagliatelle al ragù - again both dishes covered in a lovely home-cooked, thick tomato sauce.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, outside in a quiet mini piazza. Antonio, his sister and the rest of the guys working there were very welcoming and friendly.

We had booked a table at La Baronessa, one of Taormina's most salubrious eateries, for our last night. I've eaten there before and the 5-course tasting menu is very impressive, however after having discovered Da Rita, we cancelled our booking in favour of eating with Antonio et al one last time. SImply put, it's much better value for money; and to my peasant Italian palate the food was more enjoyable.

To sum up - if what you want is tasty, simple home-cooked grub, with a relaxed atmosphere this is the place.

Grazie assaie Antonio e tutt, è stat nu piacere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent street food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What you see is what you get.

Reasonably priced pizzas and sandwiches, bit expensive on the non alcoholic drinks.

Have eaten here a few times and probably will a few times more, but wouldn't feel 'gutted' if it had shut down next time we visit!

It is what it is - a place for a quick bite to eat at lunchtime, but not somewhere to spend a relaxing evening meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but most expensive coffee all holiday?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

An enjoyable evening as food and atmosphere good but felt €4 for cup of coffee overpriced. Bill had been altered from€2.50 to €4 per cup which we queried- told that was the price. Now guys your coffee was ok but not €4 ok! Not sure what that was all about as can say that was probably our only negative experience all week.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Da Rita Di Bille' Sas also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Osteria Da Rita Di Bille' Sas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Da Rita Di Bille' Sas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.