We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Schuler

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taormina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residence Schuler
Save
You added Residence Schuler to your Saves list
Via Otto Geleng 34, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are willing to brave the twisting mountain road to get to Residence Schuler, you will be rewarded with a wonderful view. Our apartment had a large terrace where we gathered in the evening to recount the adventures of the day, have a glass of wine (or two or three) and enjoy gazing at the sea below and Mt. Etna beyond. We were above the noise of the town but could easily walk there before the ships let their passengers out to march through the main shopping street. Claudio, who was born in Taormina, knew the best restaurants, shops and places of interest and was gracious about answering any questions we had. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in one of the most beautiful cities in Taormina. The rooms are spacious and clean and the views of the Sicilian Coast and Mt. Etna are matchless. You are a bit removed from the noise and craziness that is Taormina; but close enough that a very short walk puts you in the heart of the town. Claudio Schuler is a generous and thoughtful host. His prices are more than reasonable - you get quite a deal for the Euros that you spend; and he knows the town and the surrounding cities well and was able to provide some terrific information.
Don't miss Taormina and don't miss Residence Schuller. In fact, don't miss Sicily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful place. Great location. A group of nine friends took up 3 apts at Residence Schuler the first week of June. I was in the largest of the apartments with 4 women friends. The place was lovely and spacious, well appointed including the all-important washing machine and sparkling clean. The wonderful terraces where we gazed at the glorious views of the beaches below and the smoking Etna above also served as our evening gathering place for drinking fine Sicilian wine. Our host Claudio who lives on the premises was charming and helpful. He maintains a beautiful multi level garden that adds to the ambience. The location is minutes from a super market and from the town center via a set of steps that are fine going down but can be challenging on the return from a multi-course excellent meal. A trip to Castemola by taxi was well worth it....hard to imagine that the views could get more amazing, but from that spot you feel like you are in the clouds, though there were no clouds to speak of during our entire stay. Taormina is an extraordinarily beautiful place. The Greek theater is not to be missed. Residence Schuler, excellent place to stay, good value for the price. Saluti Caudio

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Four of us stayed five lovely days in a two bed apartment in Residence Schuler. Our host, Claudio, arranged a taxi pick up from the airport to his door, an hour journey for a good price of €80, we reccommend this excellent service. There was a lovely bottle of wine as a welcome gift on the table, which we drank on the balcony, watching Mt Etna puff out white smoke all evening, and cruise ships arriving in the bay. The apartment was very clean, and a very generous size, with two bathrooms, two double bedrooms, a comfortable lounge and very well equipped kitchen, and even a washing machine. The rental charge was exactly as advertised, with no hidden extras, we really appreciated this. Claudio is a lovely gentleman, who lives in the building, and was available if needed with advice. We were ten minutes walk down steps from the town, and the main attractions. If you enjoy exercise, the 40 minutes climb up many steps to Castell Mola, a tiny village on top of the cliff over the town, is well worth it, and yor really earn your pizza at the top. If you want a beach holiday Taromina may not satisfy, as the walk to and from the cable car to reach the tiny beach is a bit of a trek on a hot day. Our best day ever was spent on a tour of Mt Etna area with Eddy, of Lengendary Sicily, Eddy was the perfect guide, because of his deep knowledge and love of the area, its history and geology.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

If location is the most important aspect of accommodation, which is mainly true in my own experience, then Residence Schuler has it all. Taormina is extremely steep and also spreadout so getting around can be a strenuous experience. I was also told that the taxis take every opportunity to charge up to the hilt for any journey. Residence Schuler is brilliantly located only a few minutes walk from the main pedestrian road, with all the tourist shops and restaurants, plus the only decent sized supermarket is one of the nearest places to the Residence.
My husband and I stayed in Apartment B which can take three people but which was a lot more spacious than Apartment A for two people. I believe it was a good choice. The amount of space was brilliant. The accommodation is spotless and incredibly roomy with just about everything one could want for a self catering holiday. The only thing missing that I would have liked was a microwave, but I survived without it. The views are fantastic and we were able to sit out on our terrace, which was more like a garden, and enjoy complete privacy. Schuler Claudio, the owner, was very helpful and let us leave our car within the property, giving us a key for the gate. This was a tremendous help, given the fact that parking is at a premium in Taormina. The Residence may not be the cheapest accommodation I have stayed at but I believe it offers very good value. Taormina is an expensive place and the chance to self-cater in such a cracking apartment meant we could save money by eating in, while watching the fabulous views which would attract premium prices in the restaurants. I can thoroughly recommend Residence Schuler and we hope to return there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My daughters and I stayed in the two bedroom apartment and had a friend staying with her family in another. The apartment was well stocked with everything that one would need. Very clean and the view is spectacular. Close to the main street but away from the noise. Our host was extremely accommodating and was available to answer any questions. Grocery store is near by as are the shops and restaurants. A great stay. Thank you Schuler.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a week during the end of April 2012 in apt. D. Great place! Centrally located but away from noise. Clean and spacious rooms with great outdoor areas. Very friendly host. Recommended!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Schuler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Schuler

Address: Via Otto Geleng 34, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Schuler is an apartment house with garden and open view to the sea and Mount Etna, located on a small hill in a residential area in Taormina, only 4 minutes walking distance from central Corso Umberto (pedestrian area of Taormina) and 3 minutes only from the supermarket and the nearest restaurants. Five spacious apartments for two up to seven persons, fully furnished, with independent entrance, central heating, air conditioning, bathrooms with bathtub or shower, kitchen, large living room, terrace with flowers or garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Residence Schuler Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Schuler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.