We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo Giardino

Save Saved
You added Il Piccolo Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Piccolo Giardino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 88 hotels in Taormina
1 review
“Wonderful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 10 nights on my honeymoon. We stayed in the junior suite which was a little pricey but totally worth it. The large private terrace with an amazing view meant we didn't bother using the roof top pool area which seemed popular with the other guests. The room was clean and tidy, really good facilities and a very reasonable mini bar.
The location was perfect, only 5-10 minutes walk from the bus station and right off the main street. Plenty of nice restaurants nearby but the hotel restaurant was one of our favourites. Also serves a good breakfast buffet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Absolutely loved our stay here, will definitely use the hotel again if visiting Taormina in the future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    111
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
55
134
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice little hotel in the town center. Delicious buffet breakfast in the garden with ample choice of sweet and savory food. Nice infinity pool on rooftop with great views of the sea and the Greek theatre, but the pool is much smaller than on the pictures. Rooms are comfortable and quiet but small and plainly decorated with no design, the bathrooms are small and very outdated. Overall good hotel, but the rooms are not up to the standard one would expect for the price (in out case 180 Euros for double room on street level).

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel for four nights and was extremely disappointed with the hotel. Its ideally located just off the main street however this is all the hotel has going for it. The hotel consists of two buildings and unfortunately we were put in the second building which was extremely dark and dull with a very strong unpleasant smell. The staff are the most unfriendly unhelpful humans I have ever meet in a hotel. The ''roof top swimming pool'' is extremely small. The only evidence of pool use to be seen was pigeons poop on the decking area and pool side.
During our stay there was no umbrella's available to provide shade from the high temperatures on the roof top. The hotel stating the wind broke them all and new ones would be arriving the next day???
The continental breakfast offered by the hotel was standard however for such a centrally located hotel the least you would expect is fresh milk but oh no the Piccolo presented long life UHT milk!!!!.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestby, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sadly, this place didn´t live up to its rating here on Trip Advisor. We booked this hotel because of its rating here on T.A.
THE GOOD: The location is probably its strongest asset - you can walk everywhere. The view from most of the rooms is great and the rooftop pool is small but adequate.
THE BAD: THE STAFF! Grumpy - seldom smiling; nor making eye-contact with guests; poor service during dinner, having to ask for drinks during cocktail hour; irritating cigarette smoke from the staff who smoke in the serving room when breakfast is over at 10am! This is a holiday-style hotel so why only serve breakfast until 10? irritating!! Most people want to sleep in now and then when on holiday without having to eat before 10am!! Lots of small irritating things like getting two thimble-size shower gel when most guests shower at least two times a day - once in the morning and then again that same night - clearly not enough! Air-conditioning that only works when the key is in the door so your room is like an oven after returning home from a day at the beach. Pillows that are more suited for a bumpy tractor ride rather than for a bed but the worst of all was catching the receptionist in telling us a big FAT LIE but that is another long story.
Sorry, folks give this one a miss and find something else, something better!

Room Tip: Solo travellers beware! The rooms are by the side driveway with a close-up view of car tyres, stuffy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in Il Piccolo Giardino in Sicily.The hotel is very central in Taormina with front and rear access.There are steps involved coming from the main street.The rooms are clean and comfortable with air conditioning which switched itself off a lot..No facility to make tea or coffee. It does have SKY tv and a small fridge. some staff were very pleasant though,I found the catering staff not too chatty at breakfast time and closed the doors at exactly 10.00 so don't be late for breakfast,When the fruit bowl was emptied it was not replenished because of this we didn't have lunch or dinner,there...No late bar,it,finished before midnight.The reception staff are helpful.and the cleaners are very polite.We spent a week there for our daughters wedding there were 12 of us and our rooms were close by.The roof pool is small.There is a low wall on the other side of pool with a long drop behind it.there is also a blind step when approaching the pool.there was only 1 parasol and an automatic canopy which closed when there was a little breeze.The lift has 2 doors,one is glass which should have a big sticker on it because you think its open and bump into it. , I think they needs a health and safety visit..Despite all of these negative comments we had a great time in the hotel and would go back again

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Make sure to get a superior room, the view is stunning. The hotel is located just off of the Main Street and has a nice garden in its entrance and a rooftop with a beautiful view. The decor is minimalist which is a good thing in Sicily, however some more work could be put into the rooms/bathrooms. Be wary that the public parking lot is 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We loved our stay at Il Piccolo Giardino. We stayed for 8 nights as part of our honeymoon trip.
The team was always helpful and attentive and we felt like we were part of the family by the time we left.
The rooftop pool is small but adequate, with an amazing view.
Reception helped us organise a fabulous tour and they can help with getting you to and from beach clubs.
The restaurant is the best we tried in Taormina and we ended up eating there 4 times.
We got the deluxe room which was worth the extra money - we had an ocean view.
The only thing I would say is this isn't really a hotel for people with small children. Couples and groups of friends.
Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe room with balcony. It's worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Piccolo Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo Giardino

Address: Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo Giardino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Il Piccolo Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Giardino Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.