We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo Giardino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Il Piccolo Giardino to your Saves list
Il Piccolo Giardino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
San Pawl il-Bahar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“March 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Good location. Room basic but clean, attractive and comfortable - it would have been great to have tea and coffee in the room, as we had 3 early starts. Didn't put towels on the floor but they still changed them - not necessary. Excellent value for money. Good location - close to a wide choice of restaurants + 10 minutes walk to bus station. Breakfast - no cooked breakfast but what there was - lovely. Dinner - very good food. Taormina is not a good location for people with mobility issues as it is very hilly. Great hotel and great holiday, thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    117
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
140
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Me and my friend stayed only for a night. The location is really really good, right in the middle of old center, so it is very easy to gain access to the city's restaurants and bars. At this time there were not a lot of restaurants open and we had dinner at our hotel, which was a very good idea. The food was excellent. We had a beautiful dinner and breakfast was also very nice, out, in the little garden.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the roof-top terrace. My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The staff was rude and unhelpful. The girl at the front desk would rather play with her phone than help answer a guest's questions.The rooms are cramped and the comments regarding mold are correct.

The hotel is situated off the main walk street, so it is very easy to gain access to the city's restaurants and bars. Taormina is overrun with tourist, so it is difficult to find an authentic Sicilian meal. The front desk staff only suggested the same two restaurants every night, so my wife and I were stuck on our own (thank goodness for TripAdvisor!)

I will not be staying here my next trip to Sicily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean (you will have to pay for the upgrade).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelilpiccolog... T, Direttore at Il Piccolo Giardino, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear customer
thank you for your review very helpful to us,
I am surprised that my receptionist was with MOBILE as for regulation and especially for education, we do not play when we work, but we use a cordless phone to communicate with colleagues and staff this is what you may have seen but definitely not when we speak with the guests, or when we answer to a question.
Regarding the restaurants at the end of October many restaurants are closed.
You request a tipycal sicilian restaurant, not too turistic, and we advise those we think are the best. Unfortunately there are only few at the end of October.
Regarding the size of the room in all the web site are published the meters.
We have also rooms bigger like De Luxe and Junior Suite, but you did't book them, and you did't ask at the check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in September for a week and loved it. The biggest downside was that although the hotel is not far from the bus station (ten minutes at most walking downhill without luggage) it feels like it when you are dragging a heavy suitcase up a steep narrow street, and then up steps to the hotel itself. Once safely there though the location is great - just off the main street but remarkably quiet, and the view from the rooftop pool is amazing. Breakfast was very good too. I've never stayed in a hotel before that offered freshly squeezed orange juice, and the scrambled egg made to order was just right. We had paid for half board, but because so few people had chosen that option we were farmed out to a restaurant round the corner in the evenings. The food there was very good, but if we had known we would have to eat away from the hotel we would have tried out different places. Our waiters in the hotel and restaurant were all delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Again I read all reviews before contributing. If you want 5 star then stay in a 5 star facility. The hotel very comfortable. I agree that the mould on the shower walls was not entirely a good look. The shower was good tho. Breakfast was also fine. Yes you had to ask for a hot breakfast but you really don't need it everyday. Cereal, toast and juice with excellent coffee is all I would have normally. Bed very comfortable. Room temp is controlled by reception so you need to let them know if your room is not to your liking. Pool area on roof top was just fine and is an excellent "plunge pool" . Deck chairs and lounges were also fine. Very good value for money. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Very central. Right in centre of Taormina. Walked nearly everywhere. ask for front room you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There is no parking close to the hotel to unload your luggage and the staff are not available to help. The rooms are extremely small with no space for your luggage or Toiletries in the bathroom. The shower is very mouldy. The staff do not go out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was below grade and the cars parked outside of our window. Very noisy and if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a well-run hotel with nice amenities. The upper floors on the garden side have sea views. The pool in the Tripadvisor photo looks large but its really a shallow plunge pool- more like a bathtub on a deck. The roof deck around the pool offers great views of the town and way beyond- very pretty. If swimming in a bathtub is a little crowded, the hotel has a shuttle van with rights to a private beach on the shore for a comparable price to public beaches. The town of Taormina offers many restaurants, but only about 2 days of stuff to do (other than eating and watching throngs of Cruisers shamble along ). The Piccolo Giardino is near to the bus station, so you can hop on and explore other towns close by.
The room was quiet and very clean. Bathroom, typical Italian- not a clean shower by American standards: drains water very slowly. The rest of the bathroom, OK, but in need of some renovation (vanity that holds sink is de-laminating). The staff is super nice here. Breakfast was great- fresh omelets available, which is rare in Italy. The hotel has made great use of modern glass railings and awnings to optimize views from the property. Very relaxing stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Get a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Piccolo Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo Giardino

Address: Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo Giardino 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Piccolo Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Giardino Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.