We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in quaint Taormina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo Giardino

Save Saved
You added Il Piccolo Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Piccolo Giardino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #39 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Marsascala, Malta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in quaint Taormina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very private hotel in the centre of the beautiful and pictoresque town of Taormina...it was a real comfort to return to the warm and clean room after being out for serene walks around the dreamy roads of the town...breakfast was delicious...with freshly made omelette, lots of jams and yummy nutella!! Looking forward to being there again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    107
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
127
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is definately one of the best I've ever stayed in. The staff incredible helpful and friendly, the rooms are lovely and spacious and the hotel is located in a fantastic position, a minute from the main street in Taormina. The rooftop terrace was quiet and had stunning views over Taormina and Giardini Naxos. We visited in November and it was over 20 degrees, and we came back with a lovely tan.

We stayed in a triple room and I can honestly say that it facilitated our needs. I have a teenager who is often cramped onto a small, folding bed, however, she had a proper bed and the room was very spacious.

The breakfast was also one of the best I've ever had; with plenty of choice, a highlight was the freshly squeezed orange juice!

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday, and I cannot fault this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in a triple room October/ November 2012. The staff were very helpful and friendly, location was really convenient, right on Corsa Umberto (so could be a little noisy at night). It was great to be given a triple room rather than a double room with a folding bed squeezed into the corner!!
Breakfast is taken outside in the gardens (so was interesting when raining!!!) and was delicious with oranges available for you to prepare your own freshly-squeezed juice and omlettes made to order in addition to a comprehensive buffet.
The views from the roof-terrace were amazing and this was a wonderdful spot to relax. The small infinity pool was great for cooling down!!
The only problem we had was that my husband was in the communal toilets during a power-cut in the middle of a storm and there was no emergency lighting!!!!
We would definately recommend this hotel which was also very reasonably priced for Taormina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is great. The rooftop terrace with pool is really gorgeous and the location of the hotel is perfect - just a few steps from the main street Corso Umberto. Staff is friendly and the breakfasts are really good. The only small downside would be the beds....little bit too hard for my taste....other than that - great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a lovely pretty hotel right on Corsa Umberto and near all the shops and restaurants. It is very well run, very friendly staff and made for a lovely relaxing holiday. The rooms are a little on the small side but lovely all the same! The pool is again small but fabulous, with lovely pools and cabanas to lie in. The breakfast was great and they served until 10.30 which was brilliant if you didn't want to be up so early. The only disappointing thing was that the restaurant, Kepos, was not open while we were there and there was no bar as there was a lovely seating area outside which we would have loved to have enjoyed with a few drinks. All in all though it made for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel as we were travelling between Palermo and Syracusa and we were sorry that we hadn't planned to stay longer. The rooms are simple with nice bathrooms and the breakfast was great. The two things I was impressed by was the top floor terrace complete with pool and smart daybeds for sunbathing and the restaurant. The three course meal was excellent value for money and it was a really nice meal. They also had some good local wines - I particularly liked the Etna bianco from nearby Mt Etna. Taormina itself was also a real delight - once we got over the dramas of finding our way in to the town, then to the hotel, then to the overnight car park and then out! It was worth it though and I'd like to go back and relax there for a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: You can have a room facing the back which will be cool or a room facing the front which will get ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our brief stay in Taormina was made the more pleasant by staying at this intimate and friendly hotel located right in the heart of the main area of the town.
Great comfortable rooms, a fabulous rooftop terrace pool and sunbathing area, and only steps to the shopping and restaurant area make this a real find in this bustling tourist town.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to this part of Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Piccolo Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo Giardino

Address: Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo Giardino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Il Piccolo Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Giardino Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.