We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel with a beautiful rooftop pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Piccolo Giardino

Save Saved
You added Il Piccolo Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Piccolo Giardino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #39 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel with a beautiful rooftop pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is great. The rooftop terrace with pool is really gorgeous and the location of the hotel is perfect - just a few steps from the main street Corso Umberto. Staff is friendly and the breakfasts are really good. The only small downside would be the beds....little bit too hard for my taste....other than that - great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    112
    29
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
126
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a lovely pretty hotel right on Corsa Umberto and near all the shops and restaurants. It is very well run, very friendly staff and made for a lovely relaxing holiday. The rooms are a little on the small side but lovely all the same! The pool is again small but fabulous, with lovely pools and cabanas to lie in. The breakfast was great and they served until 10.30 which was brilliant if you didn't want to be up so early. The only disappointing thing was that the restaurant, Kepos, was not open while we were there and there was no bar as there was a lovely seating area outside which we would have loved to have enjoyed with a few drinks. All in all though it made for a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel as we were travelling between Palermo and Syracusa and we were sorry that we hadn't planned to stay longer. The rooms are simple with nice bathrooms and the breakfast was great. The two things I was impressed by was the top floor terrace complete with pool and smart daybeds for sunbathing and the restaurant. The three course meal was excellent value for money and it was a really nice meal. They also had some good local wines - I particularly liked the Etna bianco from nearby Mt Etna. Taormina itself was also a real delight - once we got over the dramas of finding our way in to the town, then to the hotel, then to the overnight car park and then out! It was worth it though and I'd like to go back and relax there for a bit longer next time.

Room Tip: You can have a room facing the back which will be cool or a room facing the front which will get ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our brief stay in Taormina was made the more pleasant by staying at this intimate and friendly hotel located right in the heart of the main area of the town.
Great comfortable rooms, a fabulous rooftop terrace pool and sunbathing area, and only steps to the shopping and restaurant area make this a real find in this bustling tourist town.
Would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to this part of Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've had a short city break at Taormina with my girlfriend, lucky for us we've chose one of the best hotels in town (actually the decision was based on the terrace pool picture :P). The hotel was right on the main street in Taormina close to everything. The rooms were very big and the balcony and the view astonishing. Unfortunetly for us the weather during our stay was kind of rainy and windy, and also the hotel had a problem with the air conditioning just those days, but, i've seen them struggling to repair it, but they had a bigger problem and didn't manage to. We received more blankets and an indoor heater immediately after they realized they can't do anything. We didn't use the pool because of the weather, but as the picture shows it the view was great.

The little garden in front of the hotel is beautifull for having the breakfast or to chill after a long day of walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay of nearly 2 weeks at Il Piccolo Giardino and have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff.
Having stayed previously in Taormina in a hotel on the road to Castelmola, we really appreciated the central location of this hotel, close to so many restaurants, shops and bars, but in a tranquil setting.
The rooftop terrace and pool, with amazing views, is a delight. Small it may be, but pretty and immaculately clean - and during our stay, there was no problem at all with space or sun beds.
We found the breakfast to be very good and the staff attentive and pleasant. The 'little garden' is a lovely place to start the day! On the one occasion we had dinner in the hotel it was an excellent meal and represented very good value - we would have eaten there again but there are so many places to try in Taormina!
We have already recommended this hotel to friends and hope to return ourselves in the near future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel is in an excellent location- just a few steps down will take you to the Corso Umberto. Very little in the way of noise to disturb you despite this. Main plus points are the great rooftop terrace which boasts comfy loungers and a small pool for cooling off in. Views from here are wonderful. Bedroom , although small was kept clean & towels changed everyday. Be careful in the shower as slow drainage was a problem. The breakfast/dining area is pretty and there is also a nice area to relax with a glass of wine.
As a previous reviewer has noted the evening meals are exceptional. For euros 22.50 you can enjoy a three course meal which surpassed any of those which we ate in the town, which, by the way were overpriced and poor- do your research before sitting down at any of them would be my tip.
In contrast the breakfasts were below par & a bit lacking in organisation. If they were of the standard of the evening meal I would be giving a higher score.
The staff were pleasant on the whole. Professional waiter at dinner & the cleaning ladies were very sympathetic when my friend was unwell.
A nice hotel overall for perhaps a stay of 2-3 nights rather than a week.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a room with a balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Piccolo Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Piccolo Giardino

Address: Salita Lucio Denti 4, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Piccolo Giardino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Il Piccolo Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Piccolo Giardino Taormina, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Piccolo Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.