We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright decor, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante al Duomo

Ristorante al Duomo
Taormina, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
+39-0942625656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 216 Restaurants in Taormina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bright decor, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We reserved for this restaurant during the day intending to sit outside overlooking the Square. Unfortunately due to heavy rain and winds the restaurant was only operating inside on the night. That didn't detract from the food which was very nice. The waiters were vere polite and quietly efficient. If you chose some of the fish options they will offer various ideas as to how it can be cooked. Simple tasty food and we would eat here again if we were going back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    89
    34
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Meal, good service, pleasant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

You have to look for the entrance! we intialy made the mistake of assuming that it was one of the two restaurants on the square, its above them, the entrance is up an alley way on the right, when looking at the two bars.

If you book in advance they will give you a table outside, we booked at lunch time for 8pm that evening.

We shared a started of Anchovies in orange, despite some misgivings they where amazing, we followed with pasta and then a main course we both had fish. The food was excellent as was the service, some have said it was expensive we didn't think so, the food is of good quality, the waiters patient and helpfull.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best meal in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on our last might in Taormina and it didn't let us down.

We booked a day in advance to get a table on the terrace. Although we were seated at a table to the back of the terrace we still had a good view of the cathedral and our chairs were placed to get a good view of it.

We had 3 courses all of which were reasonably sized to not be too full by the end of it.

Pasta was al dente, and sauces yummy.

I had fish of the day which they offered to cook in different ways- I chose baked in breadcrumbs- yum. My husband had steak which was simply cooked but v tasty.

We had local wine by the glass which was affordable and a good match tothe food.

I'd recommend a meal here which was good quality with attentive service. It cost us 100 euro for 2 people 3 courses and 3 glasses of wine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A table on the terrace in front of Duomo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice restaurant, nice atmosphere and very good service.
This is the oldest restaurant in Taormina and they serve traditional sicilian plates rivisited. Not a big choice of dishes, but those offered are really good. Everything is fresh and hand made cooked, good selection of wines, I would suggest to try the local ones as they are delicious.
One reccomendation, ask your hotel to book one of the three tables on the terrace with view on the Duomo and you will feel to be back to the past...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to book this restaurant about a week in advance to ensure we got a good table on the terrace. When we arrived we were disappointed to find that our table was in the middle of the terrace so we did not have a view and it was very stuffy - disappointing given how early we had reserved.
The food was lovely and reasonably priced considering the quality - I particularly enjoyed the pistachio semifredo.
Service was good at first but by the end of the meal we were almost ignored and found it very hard to get the bill!

Worth a visit but make sure you specify a table with a view when you book!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante al Duomo also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Ristorante al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.