We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & Breakfast & Lawyer!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LoLHostel Siracusa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LoLHostel Siracusa to your Saves list
LoLHostel Siracusa
Via Francesco Crispi 92,94,96, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid
1 review
“Bed & Breakfast & Lawyer!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Bed & Breakfast & Lawyer!!! Great place to stay, to cook, to watch TV, to rest and really close to the important places of Siracusa. Design and confort. Massimo, the owner, is a very nice and close person that gives you lots of places and special pubs to go (no typical turistic ones). Sometimes, he offers services as a lawyer... ha ha ha.
We highly recomend LOL Hostel! I really adore this place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
30
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at the Lol Hostel with a group of 16 students for a university field trip and had a great time there. Cooking alltogether in the fantastic kitchen and the sitting in the courtyard and having dinner. Everything was perfectly clean and nice, staff was very very friendly and also the breakfast was excellent.
I was there last year and it was even better this time.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

If you are on a budget or a very short stay then even if you are travelling with someone, this hostel is ideal. Even before I arrived, the owner was very helpful and understanding as I needed to cancel my booking on the day due to exceptional circumstances. When I got there, I was even more surprisingly shocked to find that it had very modern facilities, free use of internet, very clean and beautiful and spacious. The receptionist was extremely helpful about manually locating each point of interest and best places to eat and drink, without asking for it. She spent some time doing it and wondered whether she did it for all the guests. They buy (or even bake them on the premises, not sure) but as you are going downstairs for breakfast this wonderful smell of the freshly made croissants entices you to go down for breakfast. You eat in the beautiful courtyard. Ofcourse, unlike if you have time you have to spend some time in the lounge watching the big flatscreen tv and making something to eat in the modern open kitchen. It is in a great location, 2 minutes from the train and bus station and then walking along the main street and bridge and you are on the island of Orteiga. I would love to go back and stay there again, it is better than some 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We were so lucky to find this great hostel, very well located, beautiful old building with an amazing decoration, very comfortable but most of all their staff made our trip to Siracusa an unforgetable stay. Grazie Massimo!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconner Wa Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We were wearily walking from the train station, looking for a hotel after a long train trip from Naples...and there, glowing on the dark street, was LOL! The staff was very freindly and helpful...great kitchen, beautiful rooms...free wifi..and perfect location if you are traveling by train. We stayed on and on....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This is Zoia telling you that, from my point of view, it's a must to occupy a room in this hostel. I have to tell you that this is the first time that I write a review which in itself it's an appraisal to the LOL hostel. I and two of my friends (all girls) visited Siracusa for a week at the end of September - beginning of October 2009. And now let's get to facts:

1. The Service: the staff speaks fairly good English. Not only that the rates are the lowest in the area (and trust me, we've looked for a couple of weeks for accommodation that could satisfy our demands in both Siracusa and Taormina), but we were absolutely amazed by the management (Massimo) and the people working there (Salvatore, Nella, Domenico etc.). They were very friendly and eager to help with anything and everything (directions - they also have lots of maps and tourist guides, recipes - Nella is the best, advice on the best hot spots, restaurants etc.). They even rescued us when in great need, when they didn't have to do it, which made me feel not like a hotel customer but like visiting some old friends. And by the way, the renovations are almost complete (they aren't inconvinient to the customers anymore): I'm sure that by winter it will all be finished.

2. The Rooms: very pleasing to the eye (cheerful colors), spacious, secure lockers with their own keys for every occupant of the room, reading light, comfy and clean beds/linens/towels, air conditioning, sun blocking drapes, hot water in the shower. Also, there is a free daily cleaning service.

3. The Location: is perfect: 10 min walking distance from the old centre Ortigia, 50 meters from the train / bus station (no disturbing noises though) and supermarket. There are also a night bar and a coffee shop next door.
There is a lounge where you can access the internet (either by bringing your own laptop, case in which the wireless connection is free or use the hostel's computers - 2 euros/hour) and watch TV. You can also buy cheap drinks (water, wine and beer) from the reception.
The kitchen is supplied with anything that you might need (cutlery, microwave, freezer etc.). There is a space for having one's meals. Breakfast is included and for sure you must try the croissants which are very tasty.

4. I think that the only thing that I disliked was that we had to leave the hostel (we've met great people there) and Siracusa: a lovely city with great views and beaches, lots of things to visit and tasty food (the spaggeti, swordfish, zuppa di cozze, cannoli and tiramisu... yammy). And I almost forgot about the jewllery: just beautiful.
One thing though: try not to rely too much on public transportation: you'd better hire a car.

All in all, the feeling I left the LOL hostel with was that human relations and pleasing the customers mattered more than the banal everyday coin, be that euro, sterling pound or dollar. So be warned: I'll be sure to return! :)

Congratulations to the hostel stuff! You diserve it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTIAGO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

This is a great hostel specially for people that travel alone....its very new, clean, secure and the people that works there are very nice and friendly..... it is right beside the train and bus station, and also close to Ortigia when are the most interesting things in Siracusa....i really enjoyed my stay at this hostel I HAD SO MUCH FUN THERE!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LoLHostel Siracusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LoLHostel Siracusa

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 92,94,96, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud winner of 2014 Hoscar as 9th Best Large Hostel worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your LoLHostel Siracusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LoLHostel Siracusa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LoLHostel Siracusa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.