We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cavalieri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cavalieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cavalieri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Malta 42, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“incredible ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had read the other great reviews and reserved a room for a few nights. My husband and I loved it. The ambiance is really incredible. I would call it a smart and stylish boutique hotel. It was comfortable, a great breakfast, soothing atmosphere, and was welcoming in every way. Would reserve here every time; and also for some more days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    63
    17
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
251
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
walthampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This location was excellent. The staff was friendly and gave unique local tipps. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was large, king size, and comfortable. There was free wifi offered in our room. I loved the design. In my opinion Italian design is the best in the world and Hotel Cavalieri maintained this opinion. We were concerned at first, that there would be noise transmitted to the rooms; but the hotel and our room were very quiet. We both loved the candles everywhere. It's such a cosy feature. Last but not least: marvellous breakfast. All you need to start a day. We not only will recommend Hotel Cavalieri to all our friends but will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We arrived in Siracusa late in the afternoon and were delighted to unpack our lagguagge and sit down to a wonderful, refreshing sgriccio. This Sicilian drink was delicious. The same was true the next morning for the breakfast buffet! The folks at Reception were exceptionally helpful and answered all of our questions. We also appreciated the overall comfort and amenities of the room ... a idden gem!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had an unfortunate stay at Hotel Cavalieri in late September. We were a group of ten adults traveling together. The Hotel is beautiful, nicely designed and the breakfast is very well done.

BUT, they have rules. And they enforce them. And they are unique and petty. When a guest mentions an objection, the reply is that the rules are on the web site and the guest should have reviewed the before arranging for the room.

While there were rules, there was no porter. Curious.

Some of the rules are announced at arrival, before registration. The three we heard were no smoking (not unusual) no beverages in the room (except water) no food in the room (although they will bring their food and beverages to your room, of course).

These rules and many others are in fact on their web site under "Terms". These particular terms are in section II number 5. There are many rules under section II as well as other sections as well.

One never knows which rules will be enforced. But "if you break it, you bought it" is certainly one of them. One of our friends accidentally broke an unstable lamp in the lobby. His was charged 1/2 of the cost of the 6 year old lamp, $100. Surely it had been fully depreciated in six years.

Note the rules on cancellation, note the rules on ironing in the room. We were not in violation of those particular rules but I would suggest you need to be very aware of them as well.

The paid staff was very polite and helpful. The blonde haired woman who worked the front desk was really quite nice. The owner, I assume that is who is was, is a martinet in my opinion.

So, bottom line after 50 some reviews on Tripadvisor, this is the first hotel I would suggest you skip. We certainly won't return.

It operates more as an upscale and attractive dormitory than a member of the Hospitality Industry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a room overlooking the central area of the hotel and it was very quiet. The room and bathroom where both a reasonable size and very clean. Hotel interior is typical modern boutique style, clean and sharp. The staff where very helpfully, giving good advise on where to eat and parking places. Parking could be usually found in the side streets, especially by the large car park. Breakfast was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in on our trip to Sicily. It is an easy walk to Ortigia 10 min, a bit further to the Archeological Park 20 min plus. If you have a car a visit to the Pantalica is well worth it. Re -the comments on food in rooms, this is quite a common rule in the UK and does not cause a problem. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for selecting to stay with us. We were glad we could meet your expectations and enjoyed Hotel Cavalieri. We hope we will get to see you back again and soon. We wish you all the Best for Christmas and 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location, just a few blocks away from the island of Ortigia, where you will find all the touristic sights.
Simple, non-pretentious small hotel, comfortable, clean and quiet. Good size room. Nice bathroom with excellent amenities and very fluffy towels.
The staff was very helpful and pleasant and breakfast was ok.
Wi-fi was free, and parking is on the streets just in front of the hotel.
We surely would recommend this hotel to a friend or stay here again if we happen to come back to Siracusa someday.
.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the_cavalieri, Proprietario at Hotel Cavalieri, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at Hotel Cavalieri. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.
Should you decide to re-visit us, please let me know so I can welcome you in person.
Kindest regards
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel has been well refurbished with nice rooms. The location is convienient to Ortigia, the station and a pleasant walk to the archeological park. However, this is a hotel not a private residence and like the two previous reviewers, I was taken aback by the "NO FOOD" instruction immediately after check in! I am aware that it is good manners not to take food into hotel rooms, but in many years of international travel, I have never been issued with a verbal message like this one. The bar prices are expensive so it is worth going out if you want something to eat or drink!
Some of the hotel staff, particularly the Austrian lady and the porter were wonderful - helpful and friendly, but others seemed quite obsessed with keeping the place in order.
A great place if you are OCD but the ambience didn't make me feel very comfortable!
Finally, the response that was given to a previous reviewer made me anxious about writing this review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalieri

Address: Via Malta 42, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cavalieri 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cavalieri, a family-run and owned boutique hotel (19 rooms), in the historical centre of Siracusa, features: complimentary wifi and bicycles, complimentary public on street parking, king-size bedding, air conditioning, continental breakfast buffet (local seasonal products), concierge and laundry service, international newspaper, city map, minibar, safe, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.