We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Treasure in Siracusa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acropoli B&B

Acropoli B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acropoli B&B to your Saves list
Acropoli B&B
Via Roma, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 166 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Treasure in Siracusa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Acroploi B&B was recommended to us by a friend who had stayed there the previous year. We were delighted with the B&B. Our room was spacious and spotless with attention to detail which you do not expect from Italian hotels of this rating.A bonus was a working bar fridge in our room - just great for keeping drinks cool! Our room had the use of a private courtyard - fantastic for a drink or a quiet, casual dinner.
The bathroom was modern and very clean with spotless towels changed daily.
The location of the Acropoli is perfect for exploring Ortigia with our host Maria very helpful in recommending sights, places to eat and where to get the perfect coffee.
The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure dealing with Maria as nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended. Would definitely stay there on any future visit to Siracusa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, VT USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was the nicest B&B we stayed in during our 3 week trip to Sicliy. Maria, who manned the front desk was always friendly and so helpful with whatever we needed. The location was central to everything in Ortegia which made it a great base to operate from. The room was very comfy and always clean. The shower was just the best after a day of biking. This place really was a fabulous find.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Acropoli B & B in Siracusa is beautifully located on the old island of Ortiga. We foud in on the net whilst looking for somewhere to stay for a week to explore this part of Sicily and can highly recommend it.
Our room is very pleasant with air conditioning, TV and a good bathroom with an excellent power shower. However the most important thing was the friendly greeting when we first made the booking with Maria on the telephone. We were similarly greeted on our arrival by the freindlt receptoinist who showed us to our room. The following morning we met Maria who looked after us at breakfast and gave us valuable advice on our sightseeing. I recommend this stay to anyone thinking of visiting Siracusa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Very centrally located B&B with pristine rooms and high tech shower. Rooms have windows onto the street or into a small courtyard. Those onto the courtyard are absolutely quiet. Breakfast is the usual in Italy. Staff were very helpfull especially Maria. If you want a see view and more stars we recommend Hotel Livingstone which belongs to the same owner who was kind enough to show me around the Hotel which, though more expensive than a B&B, is still excellent value with very nice rooms if you are in that market. Would absolutely recommend either of these establishments.
www.siracusa-hotels.it or [--]

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

The Acropoli has a perfect location in the heart of this charming city. The staff was polite, efficient, and provided us with free parking close by...a real plus! The room was spotlessly clean, modern, and actually luxurious! And the price was right, too! I highly recommend this great B&B.

  • Liked — Location, quality of the room
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed here for one nights in October 2008.

The B&B has a parking deal with a nearby garage for 5 EUR p.n. (which is nice in Syracuse, you don't want to park in one of the highly unpleasant large carparks outside the old centre).

The room was very clean and modern for a B&B (LCD TV and things like that). The bathroom was also clean and brand new with one of those showers that has jets coming from all sides. There was a permanent damp smell in the bathroom though which would hint at a design flaw as it really was kept perfectly clean. Breakfast was OK but not great by a long shot.

In short nice modern rooms in the centre of the old city (pity about the smell in the bathroom), for breakfast I would recomend going out to one of the many small bakers or coffeeshops.

  • Liked — Nice room, bed
  • Disliked — Damp smell in bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Ok, so we left it very late to find accommodation. We didnt know that the Greek festival of drama was being held in Syracuse when we planned to be there. Yes, stupid. However we felt very lucky when after numerous phone calls from Palermo we managed to get a room for 3 nights at Hotel Acropoli.

Now we know why.

Construction work was taking place in the hotel , and also in the building next door. Need I say more?

We were disappointed that this vital piece of information wasnt supplied to us when we made the booking. When we approached the owners about the problem, they were very dismissive and didnt even offer a discount on the room rate. We werent impressed.

The rooms itself was fine and the hotel is in a very good location... but beware. The construction is not even nearly finished.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropoli B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropoli B&B

Address: Via Roma, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acropoli B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli B&B Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropoli B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.