We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a terrific place to stay in Syracuse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Approdo delle Sirene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Approdo delle Sirene to your Saves list
L'Approdo delle Sirene
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 166 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a terrific place to stay in Syracuse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We've been in Italy for a week and a half, have stayed at a number of wonderful places, and this is no exception. The location in Syracuse is perfect. Get a room overlooking the harbor - it's really nice. But regardless, there are many different sections of syracuse, and this is the best in our opinion. The folks who run it are wonderful, parking is possible - don't go into a pay lot, ask for advice, and they'll give good recommendations re food and things to see. The terrace is very nice, breakfast is fine. The room was very nice, and the shower great (not all that common in Italy). Definitely a great place to stay in Syracuse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    64
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
212
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good B&B ideal location - handy for parking, taxis, shops, market, restaurants etc.
Beautiful old building with elegant high ceilings, small courtyard as you come in. My room was very pleasant, small balcony overlooking some trees and street below, if you are lucky you can park your car right outside. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace with great views of the sea and area.
Helpful staff, perhaps I'd mark it down one notch for cleanliness in a few areas although quality bedding and pillows was appreciated. Good free wifi. All in all very happy!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this B&B in September 2013 and in short the place is excellent.
The location is just on the corner of the island and this means that all of the island amenities are within walking distance....
Although officially classified as a B&B I would place it more in the 'Boutique hotel' bracket.
All of the staff were helpful and extremely friendly so I'd recommend it to anyone going to Syracuse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

That cosy B&B felt like home with its quiet and intimate atmosphere. It was always a relief to be back there after a day of non-stop walking in the streets of Syracuse.
My room had high walls and a great view of the Ortygia harbour. I loved it. But the best view was from the terrace above the hotel where we took the very good homemade breakfast.
Perfect if you look for a calm place in Ortygia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcon and a view on the harbour.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although a B&B it feels more like a boutique hotel. Beautiful rooms with wood floors and large bathrooms. Mine was at the back so I didn’t get a view but it was very quiet and I slept well. Parking wasn’t an issue. Breakfasts on the roof terrace was very good and overlooks the harbour. A family member runs the PianoB restaurant ¼ mile away and I had a couple of very pleasant meals there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour. It had a small balcony so we could sit out and watch the world go by. The room was spotless and had a very welcome fridge and also a safe. Extras such as a bathrobe and slippers were also a very welcoming touch along with the enormous basket of lovely fruit left for us on our arrival.
Fiora and her son Gianmarco did their best to make us feel welcome - although I would have felt better if I could have spoken more Italian to them!!
The other staff - especially the man who served the breakfast (on the lovely terrace) and cleaned the rooms were extremely pleasant and eager to please.

Overall a good location from which to explore charming Ortygia and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location is perfect. We had à room in the attic which was very nice and clean. The breakfast was outstanding served iin the wonderful terrace with fantastic view of the port and bay. There is à parking just outside the house. We can really recommend this small hotel in Ortygia. The owner was very nice and spooke very good english. Very good free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Approdo delle Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo delle Sirene

Address: Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo delle Sirene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo delle Sirene is in an ancient, elegant building, lapped by the waters of the natural harbour. It is a charming residence based on a refined atmosphere and typically Sicilian hospitality. The breakfast, enriched by the strong flavours from the Sicilian earth, is served on the panoramic terrace among jasmine, bougainvillea and a magnificent view onto the blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Approdo delle Sirene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Delle Sirene Hotel Syracuse
L'Approdo Delle Sirene Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Approdo delle Sirene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.