We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Approdo delle Sirene

Save Saved
You added L'Approdo delle Sirene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo delle Sirene
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 157 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. The location is just brilliant, and we had a room with a view over the harbour. Fiora our hostess couldnt have been more helpful and the breakfasts were amazing. Ortigia is a nice esay place to find your way around and even the bus station and the railway is within walking distance. We also did the cooking class here and now we can really cook pasta. I thoroughly recommend this B & B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    60
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
199
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last year I spent a week at L'Approdo delle Sirene, and it was so wonderful that I returned "home" this year to spend 11 nights there.
Glad to report it was as wonderful as ever. Of course, the amazing breakfasts start the day, with owner Fiora baking everything, and offering fresh oranges for juice, yogurts, cheeses, crostata, etc. And as much cappuccino or espresso as you want; the cappuccino in particular is very good.
The location is excellent; I'm a rather elderly lady and I could walk everywhere from this B&B. And did.
As last time, everything in the room worked very well, lots of light and hot water and of course very clean. This time I was lucky enough to have a seaview room with a little balcony for most of my stay, so I could see the busy little port. Very nice, but of course everyone can have a sea view from the breakfast terrace. I had Fiora and her son Gianmarco arrange a trip or two for me and it worked out very well.
If I return to Sicily, and one can always hope, I look forward to staying at this place again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but of course a seaview is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

wonderful location on the water; quiet yet within easy walking of anywhere you might venture in Ortygia. The owner is a fine chef and oversees the excellent breakfasts. A bonus is their restaurant (Piano B) a few blocks away. It is mostly pizza and salads but of excellent quality; only sorry I didn't go there my first night instead of the last! Highly recommended overall.

Room Tip: Avoid the "mansard' (attic) room with the skylight as it lacks opening windows and is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a delightful place - comfortable room, with kettle and tea-making facilities, splendid location, marvellous views from roof terrace, great breakfasts, helpful and friendly staff - a place to relax as well as an ideal base for sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice little hotel with an excellent home made breakfast and very friendly staff. The location is good but unfortunately that week end there was a kayak polo championship in the waterfront and was a bit noisy. Otherwise the location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siracusa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Approdo several times, and each time has been outstanding. Public areas and rooms -- though fairly small -- were spotless, the aircon worked perfectly, and the breakfasts, as everyone seems to agree, are among the best I've had anywhere, five star hotels included! I was quite shocked to read the negative reviews from Nov 2012. I can only assume that there was a problem with the air con.

Room Tip: The most spacious room is 4,with two balconies, but 2, 3 and 5, each of which has a little balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked 3 nights at the B&B in a double room with balcony and sea view. Family run and unlike the other B&Bs we encountered in Italy, the owners are on site and available to assist. The family members are all friendly and will assist with reservations and any questions. Parking is easy, free of charge and right out the door of the B&B which is quite remarkable given that the B&B is on Ortygia Island. Our room was pleasant, but squished mosquitoe on the headboard of the bed were not and should have been cleaned. You have to ask for the A/C to be turned on and it is done so when requested. We had a very noisy unit and we couldn't sleep with it on but the next morning it was fixed however the unit isn't very good as it was always a guess if it was going to work. We had a balcony that was too shallow for chairs but you could stand on it and have a view of the fishing boats in the harbor that we enjoyed. The bathroom shower had lots of water pressure and hot water however the shower could use an updating (mould in the grouting). Housekeeping could be better as this was the first place on our trip where the glass enclosure of the shower was dirty. It needs a good scrubbing. Housekeeping also tended to forget things. Our first day we had no soap, thankfully we had brought a couple bars with us from other stays. The next day soap was placed on the counter so at least we knew that soap was provided by the B&B, just forgotten. Little things like a second roll of toilet paper would also be forgotten. We would also receive 2 bath towels but no other towels except for 4 fine cotton tea towels (these do not work well for a hand towel) this was also a first on the trip. Breakfast was good with yogurt, sliced meat and cheese, croissants, tarts or cakes, boiled eggs, cereal, fresh fruit such as pineapple, kiwi and oranges, juice and cappuccinos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiorangela P, Proprietario at L'Approdo delle Sirene, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
we are very sorry that you had a bad time in my hotel.....during the period you stayed here we had air conditioned problem...that's the reason you asked us to switch on every time you needed...but now it is working well...and in any case we try to make our guests feel at home.
best regards Fiora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Approdo delle Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo delle Sirene

Address: Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo delle Sirene 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo delle Sirene is in an ancient, elegant building, lapped by the waters of the natural harbour. It is a charming residence based on a refined atmosphere and typically Sicilian hospitality. The breakfast, enriched by the strong flavours from the Sicilian earth, is served on the panoramic terrace among jasmine, bougainvillea and a magnificent view onto the blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your L'Approdo delle Sirene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Delle Sirene Hotel Syracuse
L'Approdo Delle Sirene Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Approdo delle Sirene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.