We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely palazzo in Ortigia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Approdo delle Sirene

Save Saved
You added L'Approdo delle Sirene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Approdo delle Sirene
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 157 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely palazzo in Ortigia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The L'Approdo delle Sirene is a beautiful B&B on a quiet and scenic location by the waterside. A rooftop terrace is available for breakfast with a view over the water. The rooms are clean and spacious with air condition. We stayed four nights (in room 4) and liked it so much that we stayed another night but had to switch to room 3. Parking is available just outside the hotel along the quay, and apparently the parking not allowed signs does not apply, so we used it for the whole stay. In all, a very lovely B&B - we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 4, which is on the corner. This means it has windows in two directions (both to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    60
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
199
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, DE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

From its plain facade on a narrow street at the harbor, we were delighted at the gracious interior. This refitted palazzo offers spcious and comfortable rooms with bath, a spotless interior and a delightful balcony overlooking the harbor where breakfast is served. In spite of the traffic and the activity of the fishing boats, our room on the street was quiet. Breakfast was outstanding, the best we had of all other hotels we visited. The innkeeper, Fiora, made the various tarts and pastries every day and served them along with fresh fruits, eggs, etc. She and her staff were friendly and most helpful. We stayed four days and wish we could visit often. It is truly a lovely spot within walking distance to most of the sights in Siracusa.

Room Tip: Our room was near the reception desk with a street and harbor view. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely B&B in a beautiful building in Ortigia - overlooking the water and the main access to the island. Guests staying there can park their car right in front (or on the side of the building, in the shade of the trees!).
Rooms are bright and spacious, clean (though we found a hair in our bed!!!), staff is extremely helpful (ask them to book you a visit to the Jewish baths) and breakfast on the terrace is an amazing experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 5, just above the main door - it was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This B&B is right at the water on Ortygia, steps away from all of the cool things to see there, including the Duomo, the delightful narrow streets, the restaurants and bars. There is street parking available right outside the hotel. There is a roof deck where breakfast is served which has a glorious view of everything. Our only problem with our room was that while there was a skylight, there was no window, and the mechanism to open-close the skylight was non-functional. Nonetheless, we loved staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a great B & B in enchanting Ortygia. Located in an typical palazzo, the B & B inside is clean, comfortable, airy and light. The rooms are very comfortable. The owner and staff are extremely helpful. The breakfast, served on a very charming rooftop terrace, was one of the best we had in Sicily. The location is very good and you can easily explore on foot this beautiful city. The owner recommended a wonderful restaurant to us and also the newly opened and fascinating Archimedes museum. I definitely recommend this B & B and would love to return there myself.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony and it was very pleasant, nice view on the port, nice shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a wonderful start to a holiday and — if we didn't have a flight out of Catania at 7.30 in the morning — would have made an even better end. Perfect location. Close to amenities. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were out of this world. We stayed at two other hotels and although the breakfasts looked similar, that was about the extent of the comparison. Frankly, we could have stayed on the roof all morning! The hospitality, help and advice make it so easy to recommend L'Approdo delle Sirene to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

PROS: perfect location (in historical Ortigia, just a ten minutes stroll from Duomo square), free parking just outside the door, sea view, nice, bright and well equipped ensuite rooms, unforgettable breakfast (served on the rooftop terrace, with ample choice of fresh and genuine products, including delicious homemade cakes), kind service, good security, nice hosts.

CONS: you cannot stay forever...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Approdo delle Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Approdo delle Sirene

Address: Riva Garibaldi, 15, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Approdo delle Sirene 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Approdo delle Sirene is in an ancient, elegant building, lapped by the waters of the natural harbour. It is a charming residence based on a refined atmosphere and typically Sicilian hospitality. The breakfast, enriched by the strong flavours from the Sicilian earth, is served on the panoramic terrace among jasmine, bougainvillea and a magnificent view onto the blue sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your L'Approdo delle Sirene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Approdo Delle Sirene Hotel Syracuse
L'Approdo Delle Sirene Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Approdo delle Sirene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.