We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Labirinto B&B

Il Labirinto B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Labirinto B&B to your Saves list
Il Labirinto B&B
Via Laberinto 19 | Ortigia Island, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 166 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We found this B&B to be very comfortable. The room was clean and large. The breakfast room on the terrace was very nice and the breakfast was more than ample. Carmela,the lady in charge of this room, was especially nice;between my bits of Italian and her bits of English,she helped us find places we needed,such as laundry services. It's people like her that amke B&B work so well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Staying here with 3 friends on my first visit to Sicily, it proved a very good start. we arrived at 10:pm.Two twin rooms had become two doubles, but one room quickly remade as a twin, and my friend and I had a double room each for two nights and then a twin for final two. A bit irritating but no more than that. Rooms were good size, clean, comfortable beds and good air-con. Bathrooms were smart and clean, plenty of hot water. Breakfast was typical for this type of B&B, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice, pastries, ham, cheese, tea and coffee, lovely girl on duty. We could also use it to make tea/coffee when we wanted. Good use had been made of the space, out and in, but it was rather cramped.
Altho' the little alley (via) leading to the hotel was rather narrow and dark, it was also quiet and in 20 paces you have the buzz and hum of Via Roma and Piazza Archimedes , which was a splendid place to sit and people watch. Italy is having hard times and I suspect Sicily more so, inevitably there are empty properties, shops for sale, etc.
All staff were charming and had a little English and tried very hard,someone there every evening to help with any queries.
GREAT PRAISE to the manager, who despite limited English assisted my friend who had left her purse (with euros and cards) on the plane at Catania. On our arrival, despite late hour, he tried contacting the airport and failing that took her to the local police station the next morning, explaining to them, helping to register her loss and speaking to airport police for her. Brilliant! The purse and contents were recovered and we have him to thank for that. Mille grazie!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berric
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Unlike previous negative reviewers I found this b&b welcoming, clean and courteous. The rooms are large with clean and recently renovated bathrooms. Located just off the Archimedes Square in a narrow alley it is well-placed with very little nightime street noise. Being out of season the owner made arrangements for breakfast in a delightful cafe in the new Armani centre nearby. We obtained a very good rate for 5 days, making it very good value. I had no difficulty booking on line and then confirming in English with the charming owner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

On arrival the facilities looked like good value for money, clean beds, good bathroom. Being out of season we were the only people present and given two rooms and usage of the breakfastroom for tea etc. So taking in account the good location it looked great. However, during the night i found myself in the middle of bugs. My friends thought they were ok, but found the next day they were bitten. We called the phone number next morning that was provided in case of any problem but nobody answered. Even on our complaint by email later on we never received a reaction. (But during the booking process we always received swift replies). Because there was no staff we paid on checkin, lesson learned! This place should be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zebbug, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We booked via the internet, and also contacted the personel of this hotel via e-mail, so as to make sure that the booking was recieved. However, when we got there, we were shocked to see that the hotel was fully booked. However, the owner had arranged for us to stay at another hotel close by. Doing this without consulting us was not a good idea, however the hotel she chose for us was just great (hotel sofa' , ortigia). ALso, the facade of this hotel leaves much to be desired, and its location,though it being extremely central, is also way too derelict, as it is made up of closed down B&b's, abandoned palazzo's and the street was riddled with puke stains all over.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Labirinto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Labirinto B&B

Address: Via Laberinto 19 | Ortigia Island, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Labirinto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Labirinto B&B Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Labirinto B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.