We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with outstanding service and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe di Fitalia to your Saves list
Hotel Principe di Fitalia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small hotel with outstanding service and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice small hotel with free wifi (limited data, but increased on request). Really friendly staff. Not all spoke English but we found ways to communicate effectively with those that couldn't or there was usually someone about that could help!
Good breakfast and lovely evening meals.

Pool was a bit chilly at the start of the week, especially when there was a bit of a breeze but felt warmer as the week wore on. I would say that whilst the weather was a pretty steady 17-20 degrees C, the breeze did make it feel a bit cooler at times. The pool has tall laurel hedges around it which protects from some of the wind, but with farmers fields on 3 sides the hotel does seem to catch a fair bit of wind.
Building work on the site over the road was only slightly intrusive, the glazing on the windows blocked out a lot of the banging etc so it didn't disturb any lie-ins we may have planned! The workers were eating lunches and meals in the restaurant at various times but that did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel.

Having a young child with us, all the staff were so friendly towards him which he really enjoyed... in fairness this was the case throughout Sicily, even people in the street would pat him on the head!

If we could sit still enough this would have been a very relaxing holiday, well located to explore the Plemmirio protected area and a short trip into Siracusa and Ortigia. However we spent pretty much every day exploring the east and south-east of the island, down as far west as Modica and Ragusa, as far north as Etna (<2 hrs drive) and Taormina.

Eating breakfast on the tables by the pool was lovely, though watch out for the cheeky sparrows that would be waiting for any scraps or even drinks left alone on a table! The food on offer is typical continental breakfast though with lots of sweet cakes included as well. The eggs didn't seem to get replenished much - think a load were done at 7 and that was it (scrambled and fried) so if you got down at 9 they were a bit on the old side.
Lots of bread, croissants, yogurts, cold meats and fresh fruit. Not to mention a super coffee machine doing cappuccino and machiato etc.

We ate evening meals there a couple of nights and whilst pricey was probably one of the best meals we had that week (apart from the seafood lunch at Il Ostrico!). You do need to book your table before 6pm and give menu choices. The menu did change each day and we would check at breakfast to see if there was anything we fancied that evening.

Sadly I did not get the young lady's name who welcomed us on the Saturday - she was so friendly and made us feel so at home (as did everyone else, though she really made an extra effort). Thank you very much for making our 1st stay in Sicily so wonderful!

Room Tip: Room 23 is on 1st floor and has 2 balconies and a lovely corner whirlpool bath which was a lovely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    68
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
100
237
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent welcome, lovely lunch. Not easy to find, Worth giving GPS coordinates. Great location and lovely property. Bikes availabe ot visit beach and coast. Nice room.
Good restaurant with good service.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The hotel is nice although a little outside the city. They do have a shuttle so it's not a big deal but what really made a difference was the service! Everyone was super nice and accomodating of our requests so I would definitely recommend this place!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I travelled by myself to Syracuse in late November, 2014, on a last minute holiday.

The hotel is in a very quiet, rural location.

The hotel buildings are very clean and well maintained. They were pristine the entire time I was there. There was none of the, "letting-things-go because-it's-the-deep-off-season", attitude evident as you sometimes find in other hotels. There is a restaurant attached to the ground-floor and I more than adequate buffet breakfast was served every morning. Despite there not being many other guests visiting at the same time as I was there I never had the feeling that they were skimping on the selection they made available. There is a small pool with a lounge area around it. The pool one of the curvy shapes and varying depth types and so is suitable for dips but is not really big enough for proper a swim.

My room was spacious, well ventilated, and provided of a television and an en-suite bathroom. There was not, however a facility for making drinks in the room (no kettle), though there was a hidden fridge which was provided with a couple of complementary bottles of water each day.

The hotel is approximately five-and-a-half miles south of Syracuse and can be tricky to find. Junctions on the way are signposted, but these are on white board using the hotel's cursive font and in light blue; so, tricky to spot.

The hotel staff were fantastic and very helpful. The front-of-house staff all had excellent English; something for which I was grateful (this was a last minute booking for me) as I have no Italian.

Within easy walking distance is the coast, and a shop. Further out there is more coast and a nature reserve. If you are happy walk further then five and half-miles gets you to Syracuse and Ortigia. This is not a pleasant walk as the roads lake pavements for walking, and so you are on the roads themselves. One pleasant place to stop along he way (almost in Syracuse) is the river Ciane and the nature reserve as you head down towards the sea. The hotel provides complementary transfers to and from the hotel to a couple of locations in Syracuse if you give them warning the day before.

I would recommend the hotel to couples and families that either do not want to move out of the hotel during their holiday, or who are prepared to hire a vehicle with which to explore Sicily. There is a large spa being built across from the hotel - though the building work is quiet and considerate, with no impact on the experience on staying at the hotel. It is build constructed by the same people who own the hotel and if it is up to the same standard - and it looks to possibly even exceed that, then it too would be well worth a visit. I would gladly travel back to the hotel again for a stay, though I think I will wait until I have someone to go back with.

Room Tip: All the rooms look good. Decide whether you want a ground-level room, where there may be passing fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Just returned from a week at Hotel Principe di Fitalia and have to say that despite it being in a quiet location the hotel is in my view a hidden gem. The hotel staff go out of their way to make sure that your stay is a memorable one.
The pool area is great to relax and unwind.
The food is also excellent with a really superb breakfast buffet.
We hired a car and found driving from the airport and around the island easy enough. L&P

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We returned last week from a 7 night stay at the Hotel Principe di Fitalia. If you are after nightlife, English pubs, English food and continuous entertainment, then this area of Sicily and type of hotel are not for you. However, should you wish to escape the hustle and bustle and the stresses of daily life then look no further. Here you experience true Sicily rather than a hotel catering for the masses. It is literally an oasis of peace and tranquility coupled with wonderful food and the most amazing staff. Everyone is eager to please and cannot do enough to ensure your stay is comfortable. The waiters show true professionalism and provide an outstanding service. The hotel is a five minute drive from a private beach. A complimentary taxi service to and from the beach is provided by the hotel at any time of the day. Additionally they have regular taxi trips to and from the nearest town of Ortigia (well worth visiting). Consequently, unless you wish to venture further, or tour the island, a car is not essential.
It was my birthday on the day we arrived and the staff kindly presented me with a delicious birthday cake at the end of our evening meal and sang Happy Birthday! Such a lovely gesture. This was our second visit to the hotel and we plan to return! Special thanks go to the following:
Lavinia, Marco, Claudia, Paolo, Graziano, Laurentiu, Florin, Madalina, Liviu, Sebastian, Laura and to Chris and Gabirel who were training as part of their university studies. We wish them all the very best. Our grateful thanks go to them all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel or those that face the garden are preferable. No 23 is a suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Stayed in sept for only one night and this was enough.
Hotel is difficult to locate and very poorly sign posted in a location that does not impress.
Room fist gived was very small and dark . We were told that this was what we paid for -ie standard room. Breakfast room indoors was not a nice place so we had breakfast outside where we were overrun with wasps on us and on our food. Wasps were also indoors on all food displayed. Pool was small enough and surrounded by over grown hedges which did not help regarding ammount of insects/ants etc. in the area. As we stayed only one night we were given only one beach ticket and we were refused a ticket for morning beach.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hprincipedifitalia09, Manager at Hotel Principe di Fitalia, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Misses
We are very sorry that you have not written that you had booked the standard room and we have given you a superior room with not added cost, because it was available. Unfortunately, it is clear that if some customers pay more for a superior room they have the room superior.
With regard to the wasps you are right in this week there have been some wasp and unfortunately we are trying to solve the problem without causing damage to the health of the guests with products harmful to human health
This little problem is caused by the fact that we are in a zone around the natural reserve Of Plemmirio .
The pool is 20 meters per 8 and you have seen how there was not confusion because it is perfectly commensurate with the number of guests of the hotel.
I'm sorry you do not love the green but our hotel is nice because of the presence of so much green.
Regarding free access to the Lido with sunbed and umbrella is an upgrade to guests, in fact nowhere is written that the Lido is free, we are sorry that you did not appreciate that either.
To give a more comfortable stay to our guests we give this upgrade “ free sunbeds and umbrellas” on the beach.
It’s unpleasant to find people who do not appreciate the efforts made to make their stay pleasant.
But we also understand that not everyone can have the same tastes.
Just an observation is not nice to denigrate the positive opinions of other guests.
Have a nice year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe di Fitalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Address: Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#25 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Fitalia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Principe di Fitalia is a charming place in Siracusa where you can stay to relax yourself. The hotel is managed by the owners. It has a lot of amenities - fitness room, aestethic room, restaurant, swimming pool, parking, green, table tennis, hot tub, sauna, restaurant. It's perfect to reach Noto, Ragusa, Etna, Taormina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Principe di Fitalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Fitalia Syracuse
Principe Di Fitalia Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Fitalia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe di Fitalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.