We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Principe di Fitalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Fitalia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 66 hotels in Syracuse
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastico!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel 27 July - 10 August 2014. We found the hotel looked splendid, typically Sicilian in style. We stayed in room 23 which was exceptional in every way with a balcony and a roof top terrace, and very spacious with beautiful period furnishings. The hotel has a very calm, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the pool is an ideal way to either spend a relaxing day or to chill out after the beach. The hotel staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My wife had to visit a doctor during our stay and the hotel arranged everything.
There are daily shuttle services, to the beach and into Syracusa, an excellent service, and a quick journey from countryside to sea or city.
We hired a car and the staff were more than helpful in giving advice and recommendations on where to visit and how to get there. The breakfast provided was exceptional with plenty of choice.

Many thanks to the hotel and its staff for making our stay so memorable.

Would we recommend this hotel? - a BIG YES!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    57
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
212
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lochristi, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful surrounding. Very friendly personnel. Superb breakfast & delicious dinner.
During our 10-day tour around Sicily this was by far the best B&B.
Nice swimming pool & Jacuzzi made it all complete.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first experience of Sicily and we could not have chosen a better hotel or location. The hotel facilities are very good but what makes it outstanding is its excellent staff: Throughout our stay they were welcoming, attentive, helpful and full of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. The complimentary lift service to the beach and town enabled us to enjoy the peace of the countryside and yet join the hub of the town within ten minutes. (Traffic permitting!)
The hotel pool is perfect and there are plenty of loungers for all. The hotel also has an area reserved on the local beach. It is a long raised platform above the rocks with steps down to the sandy sea bed. There are toilet facilities, towels provided, a bar and an area to eat.
The hotel restaurant is very good and reasonably priced and the breakfasts are simply the best! Rooms and bathroom were fine for us but a little on the small side. We took advantage of the complimentary bike service to explore the local area. Lots of potholes but nevertheless enjoyable!
Lavinia and Claudia organised a trip to Etna for us which we would recommend. We also took the train to Noto, visited the Archaeology Park in Siracusa and took regular trips to Ortigia. The morning market is a must. We would certainly recommend this hotel and this part of Sicily.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the Sicilian countryside to the south of Syracuse. On the first evening finding our way to the hotel by car was difficult, however a member of the hotel staff came to meet us at a nearby location to escort us to the hotel. When we arrived we were promptly escorted to our room and went to the restaurant for dinner. We now know the best route to this hotel is to take the motorway and exit for Cassible and then take the SS115 to Syracuse. On the outskirts of Syracuse you will pass the Albatros Hotel (on your left) and as you approach a Q8 garage (on the right) you will take a right turning just before, to Aranella. You then need to drive straight through 4 roundabouts and at the 5th roundabout, turn right and take the first left and drive straight for about 600 yards and the hotel is on your left.

The SS115 also takes you to Ortigia where there are numerous shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel can arrange a shuttle to Catania Airport and the shuttle to their beach area and to Ortigia are complementary.

The reception staff were brilliant, Lavinia, Claudia and Marco were always very helpful. Lavinia arranged for CNN news in our room and set us up with the room and hotel facilities and recommended restaurants. Marco helped us plan excursions and again recommended attractions and restaurants (La Tavernetta Da Piero in Ortigia - excellent fish and very reasonable - you need to book as very popular). Claudia arranged for a complementary bottle of prosecco and a delightful chocolate cake for a family celebration.

The rooms were well appointed, well serviced and clean, though the bathroom would have been better for us if it had a walk in shower. Water and coffee were complementary throughout the day and each afternoon complementary snacks were provided by the pool. The restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner to a high standard. We had dinner on the night we arrived, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was continental style with a delightful array of sweet and savoury pastries and breads. The meats, fruit, olives and tomatoes were all contained in a sealed refrigerated cabinet, an excellent idea. Lunch and dinner were on a pre-order system and you were given menus at breakfast to make your choice. The restaurant, pool and bar service was excellent with diligent waiting staff on hand always. The complementary shuttle service was reliable and professional.

The rooms and hotel grounds were well maintained, there were also a gym, jacuzzi and sauna facilities. The sauna was located next to reception and in my opinion that was not ideal. The gym was located on the roof and was well equipped. There was a great roof terrace and rooms had balconies or patios.

The beach area was 4km from the hotel, an elevated pontoon with lifeguard, well maintained toilet and shower facilities and a well run beach bar. The sea was sandy and very warm and clear.

We visited a number of towns in southern Sicily: Modica famous for chocolate, Ragussa of Inspector Montalbano fame and Marzamemi, a delightful fishing village which has lots of shops, restaurants and ice cream parlours and bars. We also visited Mount Etna and Taoramina and an excellent American style factory outlet on the motorway towards Palermo with great discounts and prices.

All in all, this hotel was lovely and relaxing I will return to the Principe di Fitalia again and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 23 has 2 terraces, is well appointed and tastefully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish our stay at the hotel was a joy. The hotel staff, who made an excellent impression on our arrival, were attentive, kind and polite throughout our time there. Although the hotel is a few KMs from the town and beach, frequent and free lifts were available as required. The hotel runs seamlessly. All facilities were impressively equipped and well maintained. The pool was elegant and there was always plenty of room. Breakfast was plentiful and of an excellent standard. The grilled fish we ate at the hotel was exceptional and we would recommend eating there. Drinks at the hotel are reasonably priced. We were really impressed and would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has to be one of the most relaxing and charming hotels I have ever stayed in. it has a very family run feel to it with staff able to decide themselves how to make you feel even more welcome ( we were trying different local wines and waiter offered our favourite for free, Lavinia calling ahead to the beach club to arrange towels as we couldn't carry ours on the cycles, the minibus driver doing impersonations of classic Italan rock stars as he ferried us into town!)'
Everything mentioned before is true - the food is good and freshly prepared each day, plentiful breakfast buffet, amazing pool with no need to stake a lounger as there are plenty to go around, charming gardens etc. The rooms are not all big and bathrooms decidedly basic but who cares? They are functional and very clean with plenty of soft white towels.
You can ride bikes to the beach (15 mins) where they have an arrangement with a bar to use their sun beds - although if you expect soft sand between your toes you will be disappointed it is very much rocks here.
Every day there is a shuttle service into town and back so that the fact the hotel is located away from charming Ortigia is not a problem.
We shall return with the kids next year - perfect for families but also couples. I can't believe it is ranked 51 of the hotels in Syracuse - it should be in the top three! Still I'm hoping it will prosper but that selfishly we will be able to get availability when we want it!Thanks Lavinia and team for making our three days so wonderful

Room Tip: Room 12 is big and 2 is facing front with cute terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family stayed at Hotel Principe di Fitalia in July 2014 after previously visiting in 2013. We 'hoped' that our stay would be as great as in 2013 and we weren't disappointed at all. Lavinia and Miriam are fabulous hosts, and welcomed us back as if we were family and made sure that nothing was too much trouble. They are always so helpful and cheerful and this really makes a difference. The rooms are lovely and the food is absolutely excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is such a wonderful place to stay to enjoy the local area, which is beautiful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms for our family were really well furnished. The family room was easily big enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe di Fitalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Address: Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#11 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#25 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Fitalia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Principe di Fitalia is a charming place in Siracusa where you can stay to relax yourself. The hotel is managed by the owners. It has a lot of amenities - fitness room, aestethic room, restaurant, swimming pool, parking, green, table tennis, hot tub, sauna, restaurant. It's perfect to reach Noto, Ragusa, Etna, Taormina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Principe di Fitalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Fitalia Syracuse
Principe Di Fitalia Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Fitalia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe di Fitalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.