We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, peaceful hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe di Fitalia to your Saves list
Hotel Principe di Fitalia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Syracuse
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful, peaceful hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a small 4 star hotel located in the midst of farming countryside west of Siracusa. It is a fine hotel with lovely grounds and gardens, and an outdoor swimming pool. There are thousands of lemon trees in the surrounding fields, and all kinds of vegetables growing in great numbers.
Morning and evening meals were taken outdoors close by the swimming pool, under a canopy. While we were there, the other guests were mostly German (with small numbers of other nationalities). The overall ambiance of the hotel was very quiet. All guests spoke in low voices and it created a calm relaxing atmosphere, even though there were 2 small children present. At times we felt that it was almost a little “monastic”. The food available for morning and evening meals was good, although not especially memorable.
The hotel provides a “shuttle” service to Sicacusa, to the nearby beach (Ananella) and to the archeological site near Siracusa (Neopolis). This was very convenient for us as we did not have a hired car. The hotel staff, especially at reception, were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. This was possibly the outstanding feature of the hotel.
Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel for those we like a quiet, relaxing holiday. It would not be so convenient for holiday makers who like to spend their evenings socialising in restaurants or bars. The only small drawback for us was that our room was rather dark with just one small window. This may help to keep the room cool in high Summer but we would have like more natural light in our room in October. The next time we go there we will ask for a room with a terrace. Overall it suited us very well as we wanted a quiet, relaxing holiday. My rating would be 9/10.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    63
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
99
232
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was one of the first times I did no research before reserving a hotel, but relied entirely on a strong recommendation from an international traveling friend. I must admit that when my husband and I first checked into the hotel we were a little taken aback. We arrived at night after flying into Naples and driving to Siracusa, we were tired, we hit some traffic and it felt like we were in the middle of nowhere. Also, our room was a bit smaller than we would have preferred. We were told that there would be a larger room available the next morning, which we looked at and decided we preferred our room (on the second floor right next to the large deck where we spent every evening before going out to dinner having a drink and just chatting). The next morning we drove into Ortigia and realized that it was an easy drive of only about 10 minutes. After walking around Ortigia for quite a while (beautiful town, incredible Piazza Duomo) we drove back to the Hotel and were delighted to spend some relaxing time sitting around the lovely pool. Spending a week at the property gave us time to really decompress, meet the other wonderful guests from all over the world (I hate traveling to Europe and finding only other Americans in my hotels) and truly appreciate this great property.

Positives:
Incredibly friendly, helpful staff (Letizia and Lavinia especially)
Beautiful, peaceful, perfect temperature pool
Lovely, almost private outside deck
Eating breakfast sitting outside under the canopy overlooking the pool
Location - yes, although I initially was perturbed that it was outside of town, it turned out to be perfect. We could easily drive into town and return to our "country home" to relax in the afternoons.

Negatives:
I really wish there had been more room to unpack my suitcase! (Only a problem since we stayed a week.)
The bed was a little too soft for me (but that's a personal preference!)
No one told me how delicious the dinners were and I waited until the last evening to eat there! I am a vegetarian and sometimes that's a little difficult in Italy, but dinner here was wonderful and the dessert was one of the most delicious I have ever had!

It may seem odd that I rated this Hotel a 5, even though I had a few negatives, but I'm a firm believer in rating my experience and not nitpicking. I would recommend the Hotel Principe di Fitalia to friends (explaining that if they want to be in town, this isn't the place) and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Thanks Letizia and Lavinia for being such delightful hosts!

Room Tip: I've heard that room 23 is larger (the honeymoon room) but didn't see it. I did like being o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel while traveling through Sicily.
First we had to adjust to the hotel after staying at Agriturismo's and B&B's and because this hotel is somewhat in the middle of nowhere (although only 10 minutes from Ortigia) it is a bit different.
The staff (and especially Lavinia) will do everything to make your stay very special.
The breakfast and dinner are really good.
We used the gym twice and everything you need is there.
Room is a bit basic and not very cosy and the beds are too firm for our liking, but room is complete with satellite tv and balcony. Good air-conditioning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Principe di Fitalia for a week in late September and enjoyed a lovely stay.

The hotel itself is out of town in nice grounds, and the breakfast every day was top notch, but we preferred going out for dinner than staying at the hotel which was made amazingly easy as the hotel provided a transfer service to and from the lovely island of Ortigia in Syracuse.

We did try dinner at the hotel, but it was a bit pricey for what you got compared to if you went out for dinner, and we didn't really like being asked what we wanted for dinner whilst having breakfast, but it seemed to suit many of the guests and I guess it helps them avoid lots of wasted food.

The transfer service to and from their private beach was also a massive plus point.

The best thing about the hotel is it's staff who could not do enough for their guests. We were particularly impressed with the lovely Lavinia on reception, who always had a smile and was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

All they tell you is true.
The hotel is wonderful.
Lovely staff,so polite and service oriented.
Clean rooms,lovely swimming pool,excellent food.
It is very private and relaxing.
This hotel is a must if you are in Syracuse.
In short- great.

We'll come again-for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three nights and felt so cared for from the minute i arrived. The setting is gorgeous with a lovely pool and fitness room. The rooms are great and all have nice balconies or terraces. Every person who works on this staff attends to every little detail you could EVER ask for. The food was fabulous and made the restaurants I have been to since then seem very mediocre! You have shuttle service to anywhere you need to go and then this tranquil, beautiful setting to return to each day!! An absolute gem!! You won't want to leave!

Room Tip: Upper floor with balconies are an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the hotel.

We quickly settled when we arrived and offered dinner. But we were very tired from the flight, and would prefer a small snack.
For anyone in the big city is very important to have a complete rest for at least 2 weeks a year. And I assure you that it is that you can get at the hotel. The best advantage of the room - no plastic!

In an age of synthetic materials you can afford to go to the 19th century - only wood, cotton, ceramics, and clean water. Of the modern creature comforts - air conditioning and a mini-fridge in the room.

Absolutely stunning breakfast - for every taste. Everyone - athletes, and those who can indulge themselves - all people can enjoy meals offered breakfast.

Absolutely stunning pool - clean, well maintained, like an oasis among the Sicilian heat.

Very pleased with the inhabitants of the outer walls of the hotel, as soon as the sun goes down, there are small guards.

Geckos will save your night sleep from cod cicadas, because it is their food. One of the cicadas dared to pop half of the night in the garden. :) The one eaten at this hotel your sleep and rest will watch it!

How can you have fun, stay at this hotel?
1. The hotel organizes a permanent transfer to the beach. At your request, within 15 minutes you will be taken to the beach or take away from there.
2. Several times a day, you can take and pick up from Ortigia.
3. Hotel we organized a wonderful trip to the quad to the Grand Canyon. We found ourselves in the heart of Sicily, among farms and pear trees, as well as among the white cliffs and mountain rivers. A total of 5 hours, we enjoyed the views of nature and the sweet air of Sicily.
4. Through the hotel we had booked a tour to Malta. The hotel organized our shuttle bus in the
morning and brought back very late at night. A very good tour, catamaran Virtue Ferris takes you to Malta for 1 hour and 45 minutes. Miracle of technology, has a maximum speed 39 knots (70 km / h). We loved it!
5. The hotel offers free bikes, which we are happy to use. We were able to explore the whole area, and it is safe to say - this is the best hotel! It is an oasis! Sicily in general - not a very clean place, but the hotel you'll forget that the poor have seen from the car window.
In addition, we rented a car alone for 4 days. And we suggested at where we can go. On the day of the birth of our son, we went to Etnalend, water park near Catania. After that, the hotel we got a surprise: a wonderful ice-cream cake with candles and dinner. Our son was very happy!

We also visited Savoca, where they were shooting the movie "The Godfather." Very beautiful place!

The hotel has only 20 rooms, and almost all of them were occupied. However, your neighbors will see you in the morning and evening. At all other times the feeling that the hotel you're all alone.

Staff friendly and very hospitable. The feedback of other people most of gratitude sent Lavinia. This is so, because it's a wonderful girl does everything to it you're thinking, what you are in the hotel waiting for a visit!

Of course, we want to say a big thank you to all those who took our family at: Director, Lavinia,
Leticia, Giuseppe, Natasha, and a girl who used to take us to the beach, but we do not know her name. She followed us in the morning at 5 o'clock on the plane and we are very much goodbye.

Organized by the hotel shuttle took us to the airport as quickly as brought to the hotel at the
beginning of our vacation.

Undoubtedly, this is the best that can be in the area of Syracuse. Those who are tired of the hustle and bustle, who want to plunge into the real relax - you are here!

Our children were very happy staying at the hotel. And do not miss it - the pool for them was a real gift. They also poured myself a daily hot chocolate with cookies and basking under umbrellas around the pool! :))

Twice for the stay we had the pleasure to enjoy the songs of the Italian singer during dinner. Best emotions!

Unfortunately, I forgot in the safe in his room, a gold ring with an emerald. But I would never be able think, that within two weeks, the ring will overcome the distance of thousands of kilometers. And come back from Sicily to my home! And again, I'll wear it! Thanks for that our fairy Lavinia!

With best wishes, happiness and prosperity to your hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe di Fitalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Fitalia

Address: Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#11 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#24 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe di Fitalia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Principe di Fitalia is a charming place in Siracusa where you can stay to relax yourself. The hotel is managed by the owners. It has a lot of amenities - fitness room, aestethic room, restaurant, swimming pool, parking, green, table tennis, hot tub, sauna, restaurant. It's perfect to reach Noto, Ragusa, Etna, Taormina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Principe di Fitalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Fitalia Syracuse
Principe Di Fitalia Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Fitalia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe di Fitalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.