We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterraneo primo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mediterraneo to your Saves list
Hotel Mediterraneo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tripoli, 40, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Syracuse
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Mediterraneo primo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very clean room; friendly, helpful staff; great location near Ortigia and town of Siracusa. Within walking distance of fabulous Paolo Orsi museum and archaeological park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    69
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
69
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel is well located just between the new and the old town. The staff is very friendly and you can park your car for free right in front of the door. Rooms are quiet and confortable.

Room Tip: There is a lift so the level does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very friendly staff and Sicilian decor.
Well situated for us as we wanted to be within walking distance of Ortigia, the train and bus stations.
On the edge of the business area and only a stone's throw from Ortigia.The setting is not scenic so not really a hotel to idle away the hours in, but a good base.
Our room was nice but the beds need upgrading and were not very comfortable.
Great to have tea and coffee in the room and breakfast from 7.30 - 10.00 am is very civilised when on holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor. May be better to have room on 1st as stairs and lift a bit awkward to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel was the fourth of six hotels that we stayed in during our 2 week tour of the island.
The other hotels we stayed in were Mercure Centro in Palermo, Villa Sant Andrea, Best Western Kaos in Agrigento, Belvadere Taormina and Relais Santa Anastasia near Cefalu. Please check out my reviews to these hotels. We drove around the island for the two weeks so if you would like any tips on driving in Sicily please make contact with me.
Wi-Fi – Free Connectivity is very good the connection can be made in the rooms and it is unlimited with regard to the time allowed.
We arrived here for a two night stay after a long 4 hour drive and we were very tired and very disappointed with the hotel. From the outside it looks really tired and rundown. The check in was done by Veronica who was very helpful and pointed out different areas to visit and a couple of restaurants.
She then showed us to our room which was literally 5 steps away from reception and clearly for a disabled person, I do not have anything against this and it is good that they have these facilities, but the shower was very tatty and there was not much room in it as there was a seat in it. There was a lift door in the room which had a table in front of it and all night at regular intervals there was a large ‘clunk’. There seemed to be no reason for this and it kept us awake during the night, this coupled with the fact that we heard every phone call that came into reception and every guest coming and going. There was no plug for the sink.
The breakfast was good with fresh cake etc and they made fresh coffee as you ordered it.
The other rooms may well be different we did not get to see them, the hotel was full so we could not move rooms.
This hotel is quaint and it is very expensive, it was £140 per night where the previous hotel (Best Western Kaos was only £84 per night, it is basically a B&B rather than a hotel.
On a more positive note if you are in Siracusa make sure you visit the island of Ortiga, there are some beautiful buildings to see and quaint little streets, typical Italy, we visited the Castle at the bottom of the island 4 Euro each not bad value for money, we also took a boat trip and paid 15 euro each to go around the island and then go to some sea caves, on the way back we stopped for a swim so make sure you wear your swimming costume.
On our first night we ate at a restaurant called Zsa, this is located on ‘Via Roma’ on the island, we had seafood pizza and spaghetti seafood and it was fabulous so fresh and tasty, worth a visit.
On our second night we ate at the Osteria Seba, very good pasta do not have the roasted meats, they do not know how to do this in Italy, stick to the pasta.
The following morning before we set off for Taormina we went to the Greek Amphitheatre 10 Euro each. Make sure that you go to the ticket office on the right as you drive up to it as you will be sent back to get a ticket. Well worth the visit, the biggest in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Fine hotel, centrally located and with a charming atmosphere. Friendly staff, parking in front of the hotel and pretty good breakfast. Clean room, decent bed and free wifi everywhere. Excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Good location, good breakfast. Not beautiful, just nice. Good for budget conscious. Great breakfast with large selection

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very nice room.
Polite helpful staff.
great location near to the bus station and train stations (5 mins walk)
10 minute walk to old city. 10 mins in the other direction to historic sites.
Great breakfast with cakes, breads, cheeses, meats etc and fresh coffee.
Very clean hotel with good powerful shower and comfy beds

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Tripoli, 40, 96100 Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mediterraneo in Syracuse, is an 11 rooms Boutique Hotel located close to the island of Ortigia, the harbor, the train station, the city center.Remodeled in the year 2006, it offers a reception service with staff always available, breakfast in the morning, free internet wi-fi, and an Internet Corner.All rooms, some with harbour sea view, have a private bathroom, hairdryer, shower or bath-tub, TV, minibar, safe, telephone, free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mediterraneo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mediterraneo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.